We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very congenial and helpfull hosts, good location, quiet neighbourhood”
Review of Hollybank B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hollybank B&B
Ranked #61 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2015

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Hollybank B&B at the beginning of december 2014.

We bought a 72-hour Dublin Visitor Leap card at the public transport counter in terminal 1 of the airport. This allows you to take all the busses, (wave the card in front of the validator in the front of the bus when getting on and getting of the bus), and also the tram-like Luas (touch your card on/off at the validators on the platforms) and the Dart Commuter Railway system (touch on/off at the gates). The 72 hour period starts after your first validation of the card. Details on the website under FAQ - Tourist information.

We took bus n° 16 from the airport to Lower Drumcondra Road, which takes about 15 minutes. The stop is across from Fagan's pub (most Irish are more familiar with names of pubs instead of streetnames). Hollybank B&B is just around the corner.
There are plenty of busses going to/from the centre, which takes about 15 to 20 minutes depending on traffic and where your want to go.

Siobhan and George proved to be very cheerful, congenial and helpfull hosts. Siobhan gave us useful tips about which busses to take, possible places to eat, and she gave us 2 of her own glasses for the champagne we brought along to celebrate my birthday.

Siobhan also cooked a delicious and plentifiul Irish breakfast on our first morning. The other mornings we chose to have a lighter continental breakfast. Breakfast is downstairs in a separate room, with several tables. There is a minifridge with juices, milk and yoghurt, and there are several kinds of cereal, but Siobhan provided us also with toast, marmelade, cheese, scones or even porridge, coffee and tea, and plenty of laughs to go with that.

We stayed in the pink room on the first floor which has a comfortable double bed, a cable tv, and a private bathroom with a shower, small washbasin and toilet. The bathroom isn't very big, but sufficient for a short stay.
The room was very clean and quiet.

The Botanic Gardens are very close (entrance is free, and they are worth the visit if you have some spare time), and there are some places around to eat dinner, but we dined in town.

We had a fantastic stay and will stay here again should we visit Dublin once more.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelcrazyAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a great spot in Drumcondra (a neighborhood of Dublin just about 10 min by city bus to downtown). It is nice an much quieter than staying downtown. The bus could not be more simple. Buy a Leap-card (bus pass) two blocks away from the corner store. The busses stop right down the block and whisks you downtown and back.

Just around the corner is Fagan's pub ( great) and grocery and laundry. Very convenient. Up another block is Cat and Cage pub.

The bed and breakfast is very comfortable, very clean. Breakfast is a continental with scones, toast, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. It is not a hot cooked breakfast, but honestly, the continental breakfast allows you to get up any time and it is definitely sufficient. If you want to get a traditional Irish large breakfast you can buy one anywhere in town for 9euro to 10euro. But really, once is enough.

So, in summary, great place to stay. Get a bus card when you arrive from the corner store and enjoy all of Dublin.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sanfranciscotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really enjoyed my two night stay at Hollybank. Siobhan makes wonderful coffee and was kind enough to provide blueberries at breakfast when I mentioned I was allergic to strawberries. My room was very comfortable; I had my own bathroom a few steps down the hall. The location was perfect for the National Botanic Gardens and other parks. Fagan’s Pub and the bus stop into town are right around the corner. I have recommend Hollybank to my friends who will be traveling to Ireland in May 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

we spend last weekend in Dublin, and we choose that B&B Hollyband House like place to stay. Excellent house, lovely owner very friendy and helpful :) everything was wonderfull and also the place is nearest to center of city, by car just 5 min so excellent
we would like to recommend this b&b for couples :) thanks for all!!
Grace & Marcin

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Have stayed in the Hollybank House several times now, would never stay anywhere else. Siobhan and George are extremely helpful with any questions or concerns about Dublin or Ireland. The rooms are comfortable and in suite. The bus stops at corner for a short ride into Dublin city center. The Irish breakfast is unreal since Siobhan pulls out everything to eat, great way to start your day. Minutes from the airport and a nice area to take a walk. If you go to Ireland and visit Dublin this is the B&B to stay at. Gets better every time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,727 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 150 in Dublin
2,063 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollybank B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollybank B&B

Address: 28 Hollybank Road | Drumcondra, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing