We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for younger crowd”
Review of Four Courts Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Courts Hostel
Ranked #23 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for younger crowd”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night, and felt like I was back in a university residence. This place is big, has an elevator which was convenient, and resembles a dormitory. There were lots of younger traveller who looked like they were having a great time.
Our 'twin ensuite' consisted of a bunk bed and a toilet and push button showers were down the hall. The modest accommodations were fine and provided everything you would need, but the front desk staff were not particularily friendly or helpful, although we were given a city map.
Overal ok for us but we felt old.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    158
    88
    32
    25
See reviews for
21
42
100
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Overall, staying at the Four Courts Hostel was a great experience. It's located in Merchant's Quay, so it's within walking distance of everything but not too close to the loud pubs in the area. The facilities were pretty nice, large kitchen/eating area and they also had a storage room in the basement to keep your luggage when checking in or out. They have free wifi, and I was really happy that they had a free international phone.

The staff were very helpful, and the place usually had great music playing. Only complaints was that the heater was extremely loud at night (just had to fiddle with it a lot to make the sound stop) and the showers took a while to heat up. Stayed here for three nights, and met some really nice people, I would definitely recommend this hostel to people traveling on a budget. (Make sure to take advantage of the free hostel tour)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed in an 8 bed en-suite mixed dorm with a couple of friends and we all couldn't believe how comfortable the beds were, how quiet the room was and how nice the hostel was in general! Excellent location 5 minutes from the lively Temple Bar area, on the front of the river Liffey and very central for basically all tourist attractions. There is a communal areas with sofas and bean bags where you can relax or watch movies, a pool table and foosball table etc. When we stayed the hostel put on a beer pong tournament which was great fun! We had no problems with other people staying there regarding noise. I would definitely recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drifter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Fab hostel, staff were really great, always helped you out whatever you asked, nothing was too much trouble. Staff put on lots of activities over the bank holiday weekend and Good Friday when all the bars were closed which made the weekend really great. Everything was clean/comfortable in rooms, very comfortable beds and the cleanest hostel bathroom I have ever had.The breakfast was good and the location is Ideal for exploring Dublin/ temple bar! This hostel is such good value for what it provides and I will recommend to everyone, we will be back soon!

Room Tip: booked an 8 bed dorm and no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dibsy1984
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just returned from staying at the Four Courts Hostel as part of a group of 14 on a stag do and had a fantastic time. We were welcomed by 2 friendly Hostel workers and able to store luggage 4 hours before check in and 6 hours after check out!
The rooms were more than adaquate, clean, warm, decent showers. The bunks are very comforatble and all in all very impressed.
Security is tight as its 24hour access so make sure you remember you security pass
Didnt really sample breakfast as we were looking for more something a bit more substantual!
Would stay again tommorrow!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dibsy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#16 of 118 in Dublin
786 reviews
Abbey Court
#7 of 118 in Dublin
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 118 in Dublin
2,083 reviews
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 118 in Dublin
2,072 reviews
Temple Bar
Barnacles Hostel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Courts Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Courts Hostel

Property: Four Courts Hostel
Address: 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price range (per night): $22 - $196
Hotel Class:2 star — Four Courts Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and HostelWorld so you can book your Four Courts Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Courts Hostel
Four Courts Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing