We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing and regrettable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Courts Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Courts Hostel
Ranked #18 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Kilrush, Ireland
1 review
“Disappointing and regrettable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Recently spent a night in this hostel, in a twin en suite room, costing 70 euros a night and it was a dreadful experience. The room was small beyond description, there was not a single available surface you could leave anything on, so you were expected to leave and pile everything on the floor. The beds were 1.70 cm long, so an average size person would have their feet hanging off the end of the bed. There was also a constant, loud buzzing engine noise coming from the outside from what looked like a heating or ventilation tower that made it almost impossible to get any proper sleep all night. When I complained to the staff about the noise all they could say was they didn't know anything about this, and when I asked if they could give us another room the answer was the place was booked out. There were plenty of ads and promos in reception for pub crawls and binge drinking, so this is perhaps the way to get a more satisfying experience of this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    149
    77
    28
    21
See reviews for
17
37
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Just had a wonderful weekend in Dublin staying at the Fout Courts Hostel. As expected with a hostel, you receive the basics for your stay, a clean bed, in this case a en suite bath. The staff and services put Four Courts over the top. The staff was helpful and eager to provide me with any assistance regarding recommendations and arranging transport to the airport. Services like free International phone calls via Skype and free Internet access were especially invaluable for those who are "out of pocket" while traveling. I felt very secure there. The location is excellent for sites all over the city, you can walk to all of the major sites within 30 minutes.

The only possible minuses I would advise to those I recommend FC Hostel would be the thin mattresses and possible noise as the loud conversations the neighboring guests was quite audible and the persistant bell ringing of the nearby ChristChurch (I could have sworn they were going off at 04:00 AM or was I dreaming?!?!). This would not stop me from returning. I would love to return with my wife and our college age daughter.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumosid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Friendly and helpful staff...must have a new colour card to enter and leave everyday which was good for safety. Lots of children here so that was a turn off when trying to use the computers and eat breakfast. Free Internet and long distance phone calls. We used an entire 6 person room, it was alright - could've used a major clean but it wasn't too bad. Close to the River Liffey, Temple Bar area and many attractions. Good for a few nights for a few university students on a budget. Wouldn't rule out staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmanpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great location on the River Liffey within easy walking distance to the Temple Bar area. Good security to the building so felt very safe. Easy access to the Hop on, Hop off bus tours to get to all the attractions in the city. We had a room for 4 (bunks) with our own bathroom. Perfect for our family of four adults. Breakfast was Hostel fare .. cereal and toast (a bit of fresh fruit might have been nice) but all you need for a start to a busy day out seeing the sights. Was great to be able to have our laundry done overnight for a very reasonable fee. Wonderful celtic mosaics painted on the walls. Free Wi-Fi and computer access in the main floor areas.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpopoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

After getting lost for nearly an hour, my group and I finally found the hostel! (lol)

You have to get buzzed in - so the security factor is good. And they give you these tickets that you have to show whenever you come in. Felt safe already.

We had a 12 bed room, but only 8 of us actually stayed there. I was worried at first, but the room was HUGE so don't have to worry about squeezing past people like I have seen in other hostels. Lots of space.
We had to share the bathroom with the room connected to us and there was about 16 beds in there (but not every bed was taken). So, the person/bathroom ratio was a bit high.
Windows were thin, we were away from the action of Dublin, but whenever (loud talking) people walked by it sounded like they were in the room with us, and for a moment we thought that the window was open!
In any case, bed was clean, pillows clean, mattress a bit thin, but overall the room was clean.

Free computer/internet/wifi access! woo-hoo!

Nice hang out area, my friends and I ended up watching 'Leap Year' - funny since it was filmed in Ireland - in the movie room in the basebent. you rented films from the front desk.

I'm not the kind of person to complain about free food, but maybe a bit more variety would be nice. All there was was bread, jam, and cereal. Not trying to complain but I have been to hostels where there a tad bit more variety than that. (Fruits, crossaints, etc). So the free breakfast is really my only complaint. :)

Overall, would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abroadinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 104 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 104 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#15 of 104 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 104 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Courts Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Courts Hostel

Property: Four Courts Hostel
Address: 15-17 Merchants Quay, Dublin 8, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price range (per night): $27 - $136
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Four Courts Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Courts Hotel Dublin
4 Courts Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing