We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
63
34
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
34
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrain showersister hotelgreat hotelking size bedmerrion squarethe breakfast areaup to datetemple bar areaspacious roomfantastic staytrain stationdublin hotelair conditioningperfect locationstayed here for nightsenjoyed our staywalking distance
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Alex and I have to say that we all really enjoyed the stay.

Rooms are very comfortable, the staff are very attentive and the bar and restaurant is very good. It’s all very cool and a great location for a weekend in central Dublin

I would highly recommend The Alex

Bunny

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, General Manager at The Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Bunny H,

Thank you for your nice review on our hotel. I am thrilled that you were impressed with our staff and that you liked our restaurant and bar.
Thank you also for recommending us and I hope you will find your way back to Dublin very soon again.

Warm regards

Gregor Schmidt-Kiefer
Cluster General Manager, The Alex, Davenport and Mont Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Dublin hotels tend to come in just three flavors: basic business, quirky small and mediocre midsized meh.

The Alex stands out. It brings clever, savvy design to the drab Dublin hotel scene.

The Alex is stylish...more akin to the quirky and fun hotels you find in London or New York, and nowhere near as pricey. There is attention to detail here. Even the hotel's hallways are sharp, with black paint functioning as wainscoting and cleverly lit room numbers.

Beds are cozy and the seating in the room is comfy. The location is great. Fenian Street is quiet but quite close to fashionable Merion Square Park (be sure to pop in to see the amusing statue of Oscar Wilde.)

Staff are friendly and eager to help. We had issues getting on to the wifi with our cranky travel laptop, but staff quickly came up to the room to help us get online.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luv_big_cities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, General Manager at The Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear luv_big_cities,

I am delighted that you liked our deco of the newly refurbished hotel and that you find our location convenient. Forever, I am very happy to read that our staff were helpful and could assist with your laptop issue.

Hopefully, you will be back soon.

Warm regards

Gregor Schmidt-Kiefer
Cluster General Manager, The Alex, Davenport and Mont Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The room was very nice with a huge comfortable bed and lovely rain forest shower. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the road so not a great view. The booking included breakfast which was limited, the cooked options were pretty poor but the cold options were ok. The hotel is located in a good place for a quieter stay with an easy walk to Graften street and Temple bar.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, General Manager at The Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Alex K,

I am very happy to read that you were happy with our facilities, in particular that you enjoyed our big beds and great shower. With regards to your comments on our breakfast, I would like to inform you that we constantly improving our offerings and I am sure next time you will be visiting us you will see value in our breakfast will enjoy it.

Hope to see you soon again.

War regards
Gregor Schmidt-Kiefer
Cluster General Manager, The Alex, Davenport and Mont Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Good points -
The hotel is really nicely designed and modern and feels very new and clean. The beds are huge, very comfortable and the rainfall showers are lovely. The location is quiet, away from all of the bars etc (one pub next door but we were on the first floor and it wasn't loud) but you are only ten minutes walk from Grafton Street and the Temple Bar area.

Bad points -
Noise inside the hotel was a bit of an issue and meant our stay wasn't very relaxing. One of the lifts was being repaired when we checked in and we could hear loud drilling and hammering in our room. We wanted to relax in the room for a while having been up since 4am but couldn't do so. We called reception and to be fair to the manager he did offer us a complimentary cocktail each to apologise. However the noise carried on from 8.45am the next (Saturday) morning. These things happen but it did ruin the stay somewhat. The cleaners (though friendly and did a great job of cleaning the rooms) were also having loud conversation in the corridor on and off all Sunday morning which was annoying.

The complimentary cocktails were lovely and the bar staff were great. We didn't eat at the hotel as we found the breakfast cost (17 euros per day) quite steep and the reviews of it on Trip Advisor weren't great, so we are out - there are so many coffee shops and restaurants nearby. The bar/restaurant area was also mostly empty during the whole of our 2 night stay.

Overall, a well designed and clean hotel but expensive food and drink prices and they could be more aware of noise.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller1728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, General Manager at The Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Traveller1728,

Thank you for your nice comments on our deco and the facilities.
Please accept my sincere apologies about the disturbance by the lift works, I fully understand that this must have been upsetting for you. With regards to the loud speaking by our accommodation staff, I will definitely pass on your concerns to our manager in charge to advise the staff members to keep their voices down when walking in the corridors.
Nevertheless, I am glad that you did enjoy our drinks and that you felt well taken care off by our staff members in general.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback, which helps us to improve our services.

Warm regards

Gregor Schmidt-Kiefer
Cluster General Manager, The Alex, Davenport and Mont Clare


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

A brilliant location, fully refurbished hotel. Lovely room and breakfast was great value with lots of choice. I was really impressed, this hotel exceeded all of my expectations. Stayed in the executive room - FAB

Room Tip: Book with breakfast its well worth it and very tastey
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaloulou2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gregor S, General Manager at The Alex, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear lisaloulou2017,

I am thrilled to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. See you soon again.

Warm regards

Gregor Schmidt-Kiefer
Cluster General Manager, The Alex, Davenport and Mont Clare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews