We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good clean hotel within a stones throw of Temple Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel within a stones throw of Temple Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Good location a short stroll to Trinity, O' Connell St, Temple bar. Airport bus stops just down the road and staff are very helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thundercat600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandergm, General Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Thundercat600,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I am pleased to hear that the team were helpful and the location was to your satisfaction.
Our guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel and affords me the opportunity of reviewing and improving the hotel facilities and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin and the O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel.

Kind Regards
Declan Fitzgerald,
General Manager,
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    462
    169
    74
    29
See reviews for
139
440
45
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The O'Callaghan Alexander is a comfortable hotel, with clean spacious rooms. The hotel is a short stroll from Trinity and Grafton street and there are numerous pubs and restaurants within metres of the hotel.

The bathroom in the room we had was clean but could do with a slight spruce up as it was starting to look tired. Apart from that this hotel is a great price in a great location. I would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creelman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, UK
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

I had an enjoyable night in this hotel. I wasn't paying so I can only judge value on the listed price on booking.com The room was comfortable, a rare good powerful shower, breakfast had an excellent choice. Part of a group of four hotels. Considering the location (close to the centre of Dublin), I would consider this a fair to good value hotel. WiFi not free, €10 per night. Only dowbnside was the radiator took a long time to responnd and give me heat. If it had been really cold, I think I could have been really cold too ! There was a safe in the room which I think is a must.

Taxi rank across the road, which was very convenient.

I travelled at the end of Feb, but you can't choose last month from drop down box !

Room Tip: I have been there twice. Great nights sleep both times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Alexander Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments are much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on your next visit to Dublin

Kind regards

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is not one of the fancy hotels on St. Stephens Green but it is comfortable, clean and good service. My room in The Alexander was much nicer than my room last year in the Davenport (same owners). The bathroom was a bit dated and worn but the rest of the room was ok.

The front desk staff was helpful. They recommended a nice restaurant and booked a taxi to the airport.

I ate dinner one night in the small restaurant and the food was decent. I was on the 'bed and breakfast plan" and the breakfast was a nice hot breakfast with many options.

There is a small workout room with a couple of dated but working treadmills and a few other machines.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunDogandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken L, Manager at O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us in O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and our food and beverage offerings. Most importantly, it is wonderful that you had a great experience in the hotel. Thank you for your comments; I will share them with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to O’Callaghan Alexander Hotel Dublin in the near future

Kind Reagrds

Ken Leahy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I stayed inthe Alexander Hotel when I was participating in a charity event (Today FM Shave or Dye).
I found the hotel to be exceptionally clean, the staff were very friendly and helpfull. I had eaten lunch in the bar and it was served promptly and it was very tasty.
As it was a quick visit and I was up very early I did not avail of it but if the lunch was anything to go by I'm sure the quality was superb.

Well don to all the staff there, very welcoming!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
1.1 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
1.1 km away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
1.0 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel

Property: O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
Address: 41/47 Fenian Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
#56 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $185 - $374
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dublin City centre O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel was the third hotel in the O'Callaghan Hotels group on the corner of Merrion Square. This luxury 4 star hotel in Dublin welcomes you into its spacious lobby where you will be greeted with a warm welcome. Located off one of the corners of Merrion Square, O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel is close to the Georgian Squares where business and culture are intertwined and is only a few minutes walk from Trinity College and shopping street, Grafton Street. Our 4 star hotel offers luxury facilities, contemporary design and personalised service in these quiet surroundings in one of the most beautiful areas of city centre Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Wotif.com so you can book your O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Alexander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing