We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City break with kids”

The National Wax Museum Plus
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 17.75*
and up
The National Wax Museum - Admission Ticket
Ranked #149 of 586 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Wax Museum Plus is an interactive tourist attraction based on 22-25 Westmoreland Street. It's fun for all the family!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We only popped in here because we had a Dublin Pass and it was included in the ticket. It turned out to be one of the high lights for my children aged 10/12. It would be expensive to go if you paid on the door and only takes about 45 mins to go round. However, it’s a bit of fun with a hall of mirrors and a horror section which scared my children! Some of the wax works are better than others, but that is part of its charm. It’s very central and easy to find. My children kept asking to go again.

Thank hel10cov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianWax1, Manager at The National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Hel10cov,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to see you had a fun time here with us! We always strive to give our guests the best price possible even offering a 10% discount to those that book their tickets online through the National Wax Museum Plus website. We hope to welcome yourself and your children back again in the future! If you took any pictures of your time here please do not hesitate to share them with us on social media we love seeing them!

Kindest Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chamber of horrors"
in 86 reviews
"horror section"
in 52 reviews
"horror room"
in 15 reviews
"wax hands"
in 15 reviews
"electric chair"
in 13 reviews
"father ted"
in 13 reviews
"harry potter"
in 22 reviews
"great fun"
in 35 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 21 reviews
"batman"
in 15 reviews
"maze"
in 18 reviews
"ireland"
in 75 reviews
"students"
in 14 reviews
Filter

64 - 68 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Went here last week with my two young daughters and we all enjoyed it. It's quite cleverly put together with a few surprises along the way. You need to take your time and have a good look to make sure not to miss anything. We were through in 30 or 40 minutes including the gift shop, but I would have been a bit longer if I'd been on my own as I could have gone into the Horrors section which is over 16s. If we had paid about 20 Euro I would have been happy, but it was 31.50 with the online discount which was definitely too much for such a short time. The place was nearly empty despite it being the middle of the holidays, so I really think they need to look at more realistic pricing to attract more visitors.

Thank Fionnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianWax1, Manager at The National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Fionnb,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your time at the Wax Museum! We work hard to ensure we give our guests the best possible value for money possible. We are still establishing ourselves in our new and improved location in Westmoreland street but have been seeing greatly improving numbers over the course of the mid term break. If you took any pictures of your time here with us please do not hesitate to share them with us on social media, we love seeing them!

Kindest Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

My friend and I queued to get into the museum for over 20 minutes because the woman on reception didn’t seem to have any concept of urgency at all. People were stood out in the rain while she was messing about. Another member of staff was sat at the till next to her but not serving. Once we were in, the figures were really poor quality and we didn’t even recognise half of them, the layout didn’t make sense at all and the exhibitions were just completely random. We walked through the entire museum in 15 minutes and this was even when we stopped to take photos.

We didn’t realise we’d reached the end of the museum when we did as we expected a lot more so asked staff if we could go back through to the toilet which we’d missed. Staff made it clear this was apparently a huge request. We were taken back through by some surly girl with a bad attitude. Not great. We then had a quick browse through the gift shop and we were watched by the staff like we were about to steal something so we left.

I wouldn’t have minded so much about any of the above if it wasn’t for the price. We paid €15 each for 15 minutes which given the quality of the museum was pretty terrible. I’m not even sure it’d be worth it if you have children as they can’t go through the chamber of horrors (16+ - for good reason) and there’s not much else there for them apart from a moving dinosaur.

Don’t like to be negative but sorry - worst museum I’ve been to for a long time.

1  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianWax1, Manager at The National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Jess H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We were very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your time with us at the National Wax Museum Plus. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your poor experience. We take pride in our excellent customer service and this will be looked into further. If you wish to discuss this with us further please send an email to marketing@waxmuseumplus.ie. We hope you will give us another shot in the future!

Kindest Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We were on a weekend in Dublin, walking down to the Liffey and saw this Museum and thought "why not?" - we were glad we did!

Great Irish Writers - really interesting and very reverentially done
Time Vaults - great depictions of Irish history!
Chambers of Horror - genuinely frightening! if you want to put a dummy through the Electric Chair experience, then here you go! (we didn't!)

But the highlight was...

Music & Entertainment - Jedward! Donal Trump! (sic!) Arnold Schwarzenegger! Lots more! But the best wax work was Father Ted (a tear was in my eye...)

Great entertainment!

1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

It's not that the museum is *bad*, it just really needs some TLC. Some figures are very neglected and/or obscure, the layout doesn't make sense, there are places where the exhibit shows clear wear and tear.

The chamber of horrors was a combination of too much at once, and not much at all. It's pretty awful.

The museum has so much potential, but as it is now I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. They need to do some renovations and get up to the standard of other attractions in Dublin that charge what they do.

Thank TheBearMeyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianWax1, Manager at The National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Hi TheBearMeyers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to see that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us at the National Wax Museum Plus. Since we opened in our new and improved location in Westmoreland Street last April our team has worked around the clock to build brand new sets and introduce new figures. We are constantly adding to our exhibits and will continue to take our customers constructive criticism on board to provide all our guests with the best visitor experience possible.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Dublin.

Kindest Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The National Wax Museum Plus also viewed

 

Been to The National Wax Museum Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing