We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here!”
Review of Dergvale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dergvale Hotel
Ranked #74 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
københavn
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dont stay here!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Me and my wife stayed here for 7 nights late July 2011.

To start out with the negative:
First of all this place is extremly noisy and you should not expect to get any sleep. The walls are so thin that you can here everything said in the next room and you will for sure be woken up by guests returning home late in the evening.
Second. The keys to the rooms are attached to a big wooden sign that bangs into the door as people comes and go..
Another thing is that the hotel maindoor is locked at all times, so you have to ring the doorbell to enter. In the nighttime this was terrible since it woke us up so many times every night.
The staff use the nighttime to wacumclean the common areas and again,.. the noise from a vacumcleaner at 2 a clock at night outside your thin door was so anoying.

When we got down to the breakfast the first morning we noticed that water was dripping from the ceiling in the restaurant. (quite alot actualy) When we told the old lady who runs the restaurant she just said: Thats when people are showering upstairs, and then she left again. She did not bring a bucket to place uner, nor did she wipe up the water. How delicious that shower water runs down through the ceiling and drips on the tables. I just imagine someone peeing in the shower..wonder where that ends up?!

The morning we checked out the old lady in the restaurant asked us if we were leaving, we said yes, then she took our orders and just ignored us for 30 min. She didnt bring our breakfast or coffee.. but the 3 families who came after us into the restaurant got served and ate and left.. and we were still waiting. She just ignored Us becuase we wouldnt stay there for the night. So we had to complain and finaly she brought us some food..not what we had ordered but just something. We were now in such a hurry to get to the airport that we didnt relly care anymore.

So all in all.. a noisy place where you will get no sleep unless your dead drunk.
The hygiene is questionable in the restaurant with the shower water that drips from the ceiling. And the lady who works in the restaurant is so rude to ignore the order from people who are checking out.

How ever when all this is said.
The rest of the staff was so friendly and helpful and very polite and profesional.

So if you dont mind not sleeping, dont mind that you wont have any privacy in the rooms due to the very very thin walls, and if you dont mind the bad service and dripping water in the restaurant. Then you could choose this place. But you will for sure find better places for less money in Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mlc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    174
    63
    15
    7
See reviews for
63
134
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
*
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Dergvale is a quaint place in the heart of Dublin where the front doors remain locked at all times. The staff is on hand 24/7 to let you in. It's fairly easy to walk to restaurants and pubs and explore the area from here. It's an older building, but is very clean and updated. I don't think there's an elevator, so handicapped access is probably limited. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azalea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Pros: Highly accessible to most Dublin's attractions, staff are very nice and helpful, rooms are clean. Food is ok.
Cons: No lifts for people who have bigger luggage.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emjoyran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Having had difficulty finding an hotel in Dublin that offered value for money, ie include breakfast not just a room only rate, I fortunately came across the Dergvale hotel! A family run buisness, the proprietor was only too happy to offer good value on 2 rooms with breakfast plus free on street parking.Easy enough to find thankfully to Tom Tom. On Arrival we were warmly greeted and shown to our rooms, as requested on the ground floor at the back, although small they were clean and quiet!
Within a short distance to the city centre and very close to the garden of rememberance and a bus stop for the tour of the city! Literally 5 mins away!we were impressed with the cosy little bar on the premises decorated in red leather seats and couches, lovely character to it, the night porter was only to happy to serve a few late drinks! Pots of tea or coffee were available on request and free of charge! The one thing that's let or stay down a but was the cooked breakfast which was prepared fresh but sparse in the plate bacon sausage egg! The breakie room was small so I could see it filling up quickly on a morning! Followed by a que outside!
That said our stay was an pleasant one, if your on a budget and need a comfortable, convieantly located hotel look no further, and don't forget to check out the bar!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Stayed in the Dergvale 24/05/2011 for one night with a mate of mine.We got the afternoon train from belfast to attend the Roger Watters concert in the O2 that evening.Found the hotel very easy to find from Connelly stn no more tan 10 min walk.On arrival the young lady was very pleasant and helpful.We were given a top floor room with 3 single beds which was quiet and very clean.The breakfast was fresh and simple.The cost was 61euro for both of us which was very reasonable.Wouldnt hesitate in recomending Dergvale to anyone for a city break in the capital,especially on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyq76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#91 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Castle Hotel
#58 of 151 in Dublin
1,934 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. George
#83 of 151 in Dublin
672 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#99 of 151 in Dublin
249 reviews
South City Centre
Trinity College Campus
Trinity College Campus
#72 of 151 in Dublin
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dergvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dergvale Hotel

Property: Dergvale Hotel
Address: 4 Gardiner Place, Dublin 1, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $119 - $242
Hotel Class:2 star — Dergvale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dergvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dergvale Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing