We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, very friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #39 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

After our first B&B in Dublin, which more closely resembled a budge hotel, we were very pleasantly surprised with Kilronan House. All the staff were very hospitable and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The location is also great - the historic, nicest part of Dublin is just minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiGSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    277
    79
    47
    38
See reviews for
175
325
47
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have been staying at Kilronan House since the mid-1980s; walking in the door always feels like coming home. Friendly people; impeccable service; comfortable rooms; central location; a spectacular breakfast every morning; excellent value - old-fashioned Irish hospitality with 21st century conveniences.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eruadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I enjoyed my time here. As all the other reviews state. Service is fantastic. I didnbt need much support - but I saw them go the extra mile for those that wanted it.

I was on the very top floor, which i didnt mind and thought that the room was OK. Certainly on the small side. Not great but OK. I couldnt turn the radiators off. so had the windows open fully. The bed was a little short but thats Ireland for you. (i'm only 5ft 10)

It was really quiet there

The wifi was strong, which really helped.

Good shower.

Breakfast was ok. Not the best I've ever had - but was still good

Didnt have a desk in the room so it was a bit hard to work there.

I think you pay for what you get and it was a good B&B - I'd recommend it. But if you want 4* or more - pay more.
i think it does everything it sets out to do

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HantsJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Found this cute gem with all it's hanging baskets and white pillars within walking distance of the National Concert Hall. The exterior was like something out of a Gone With The Wind movie set. The interior is faded charm but the welcome is nothing short of superior hospitality upon arriving and also again at the superb breakfast and check out was just as nice. We asked if we could leave out luggage so we could walk around St Stephen's Green and they were very graious about it.

We were more than impressed with Darren who offered us tea in the parlour...an old fashioned tea with elegant china teapot and cups and miniture biscuits. Coffee was also available.

After the concert, he again made tea for us in the parlour. We had trouble
with the internet access and Darren tried his best to get it up and running for us even though he didn't seem to know too much about it.

We had a fairly large double room with wide bow windows just above the front entrance.
The room was bright and comfortable and the noise from the tree lined street wasn't
a problem. The only time we noticed the noise was 9AM morning traffic but by then we
were already up and heading down to a splendid breakfast.

We thought we heard another regular guest say that Room 16 is the best in the house
but we found our stay at Kilronan House quite agreeable and great value for money.
I don't think we ever saw the owners unless it was the refined gentleman who was there at breakfast greeting each and every person with a friendly smile and asking how they were and if there was anything he could get for them.

Room Tip: We stay again and find out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bloomingwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Arriving in Dublin early in the morning, we walked to Kilronan House to ask if we could leave our bags until check-in time.

The welcome that we received goes beyond description. Not only was Darren happy for us to leave our bags, he asked if we would like a cup of tea and THEN asked if we had eaten breakfast and directed us to a table, insisting that we have a “Full Irish.” Having travelled for 5 hours and feeling somewhat worse-for-wear, this was most welcome and very tasty.

We were then told that, if we didn’t mind being on the top floor, there was a room available straight away so that we could get our heads down for a while. We accepted the offer and our bags were carried up the 3 flights of stairs to a compact but comfortable room with an en-suite toilet/shower.

The hotel is an old Georgian House with lots of character situated about 15 minutes walk from Grafton Street via St. Stephen’s Green and just around the corner from the National Concert Hall - or you can simply hop onto the nearby tram.

The choice of breakfast items is wide, well presented and staff are very friendly and helpful.
As far as we could see, the only downside to this hotel (and it wasn’t an issue for us) is the number of stairs, especially if you are on the third floor (no lift available) and so we wouldn’t recommend it to anyone that might find this a problem – other than that, this is a great place to stay and we would be happy to consider staying here again.

Room Tip: First floor if you don't like many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PMLaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.5 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany House
Albany House
#65 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 km away
Harrington Hall
Harrington Hall
#86 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.9 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.9 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Property: Kilronan House
Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $118 - $265
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing