We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as reviews made me believe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camden Deluxe Hotel
Ranked #132 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as bad as reviews made me believe”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed 5-8 August with a friend on a girly weekend in Dublin. Bought as part of a package deal with flights with RyanAir for £132.

Like any hotel the Camden Deluxe has good and bad points.

Good:
Comfortable Bed
Reasonable Sized Bathroom (though the shower curtain was a bit dingy)
Not too far from Temple Bar area/Grafton Street
Bus from Airport runs past hotel
Also near to Bus stop for Airlink buses
Plenty of towels

Bad:
Room smelled of smoke on arrival
Nightclub attached to hotel over 20s only - a problem for us as we are only 19!
Bathroom looked old/worm
Only three working channels on television
Only five coat hangers in wardrobe in a room with space for three people
Limited space for clothes storage
Vent in bathroom thick with dust (some dropped off whilst I was brushing my teeth :S)

On the whole, satisfied with the stay - nothing amazing but not half as bad as some reviews make it out to be.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KitchenGremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    124
    125
    76
    85
See reviews for
44
170
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is more like a dingy hostel then a hotel. Seedy club beside hotel- The show was flaming flamenco girls. took one look in to reception and ran away to another hotel. read the reviews its your choice

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fagantbbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Hi

Stayed here for 1 night recently, had requested to have a room away from the nightclub, but was giving a room on the first floor near the Nightclub. Checked in and paid cash, was not giving a receipt which now has me slightly worried as i paid a deposit by laser. Got to the room, the room was very basic, The TV didn't work, one of the lights was broke, there was wires sticking out from the wall. No towels, and the bathroom, well the shower curtain was dirty and so was the bath, there was no soap etc, and the Toilet didn't work at all.
I was glad i was only staying one night, i left early the nxt morning. I paid €59 for a single room, it was certainly not worth it!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dubtraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

It is grand for a night. The shower didn't work and we got the wrong room type but for 35 euro its comfortable and central.
No bad feelings but best of luck! :P

Room Tip: Be specific at the desk and they might help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CailineRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is really a budget hotel where you get what you pay for. Bathroom and linen is all ok.
Location is great and on walking distance from the famous Temple Bar area.

I would not recommend this hotel if you want to have a quite night of sleep. It's on a busy road and there are some pubs/clubs in the surrounding buildings and across the street. For us it wasn't a problem because we didn't have to have a long walk for a decent pint. So great Hotel if you want to stay for a night out or a weekend of drinking with your friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuinhek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#77 of 151 in Dublin
793 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 151 in Dublin
796 reviews
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden Court Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
2,053 reviews
Portobello Hotel
#109 of 151 in Dublin
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Deluxe Hotel

Property: Camden Deluxe Hotel
Address: 84 - 87 Lower Camden Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price range (per night): $129 - $399
Hotel Class:2 star — Camden Deluxe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are en-suite, have TV, tea/coffee making facilities, iron and board on request. Fresh Fruit Basket at reception . Elevators to all floors.The palace nightclub is onsite, it operates on a Wednesday ,Thursday, Friday and Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Camden Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Deluxe Dublin
Hotel Camden Deluxe
Camden Deluxe Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing