We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,845)
Filter reviews
4,845 results
Traveller rating
3,368
977
306
115
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,368
977
306
115
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews knights bar fahrenheit grill indigo lounge real castle four poster bed modern amenities city centre amazing hotel bus stop dublin airport ireland vijay wedding armour concierge howth euro
Filter
Updating list...
4,230 - 4,235 of 4,845 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Chose this hotel due to its convenience to Airport in the morning (without noise of airport) and for the fun for my teenage daughter to stay in a "Castle"--Not Ashford but also not the price of Ashford. Lovely staff, great pub and rooms were recently renovated and my daughter loved the colored lights in the headboards of the beds- Loved all the lion statues on the grounds

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaLMonroeNYUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Linda,

I want to thank you for your lovely comments it was a pleasure to read your review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the castle. The pictures you posted are great and thanks for that also.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you decide to come stay with us again.

Yours Sincerely
Mark Long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Driving up to the hotel is an experience. It definitely has the wow factor when you first approach it and the inside is fun as well. The location is good because it is just outside of the city and you can avoid the traffic going into Dublin but not so great if you don't have a car.
The staff were very nice and the rooms very new and clean. The housekeeping staff were particularly nice and went out of their way to get me extra towels and toiletries.
We only had one problem in that there was a noisy group on our floor that woke us up at 3am and didn't quieten down for ages. The staff apologised to us when we checked out the next day and I don't really blame them for the group but felt they should have been better at handling them.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kittlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Kittlan,


Thankyou for taking the time to leave your review it is great to hear that you enjoyed the castle experience and that you where treated so well by all our team members. I have passed on all your comments to all concerned especially the housekeeping staff and I can assure you that they are very much appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you decide to come stay with us again.

Yours Sincerely
Mark Long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The hotel itself is gorgeous and I am really glad that we stayed here during our last night in Dublin. The rooms were also great, although the TV was at an awkward angle from the bed. The only negative is the location - the moment you leave the front gates, you realize that you are smack in the middle of endless suburbia. Yes, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel that will take you into the city but I would much rather live in the city - particularly if the purpose of the trip was to visit Dublin. I might be persuaded to stay outside the city if this was more of a resort type of place andd the hotel provided a shuttle bus to the city or to other places of interest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicalRhyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your recent review and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is very close to the city centre with a lot of public transport leaving from the hotel gates on a regular basis.

Should you decide to come stay with us again please do enquire with concierge about the Bus 130 route, which is an exceptional service that runs every 10 minutes. Alternatively, you can take the train or a taxi ride for as little as €15.00.


Yours Sincerely
Mark Long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed here for our last two nights in Dublin. Yes it is away from city center but we walked to the bus stop and took a cab back one night. $15 euro for 4 from O'Connell St back. Worth the cost. The cab drivers are a wealth of knowledge we could have rode around all night listening to his stories. The hotel is modern, food was good for a light dinner and breakfast and the room was reasonable priced. A wedding was going on when we got there and it looked like it was everything someone would want for a reception. We would stay here again and deal with the transportation since it was so nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonsadrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Guest,



Thankyou for your review and lovely comments I can assure you that they are greatly appreciated.

Should you decide to stay with us again please do enquire with concierge about the local transportation available. The130 Bus route is an exceptional service that runs every 10 minutes from the hotel gates. Alternatively, you can take the dart or a taxi ride to find out some more Dublin secrets! Do ask our concierge for our local recommended taxi company.



Yours Sincerely
Mark Long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We LOVED staying at the Clontarf Castle Hotel!!!! It was absolutely beautiful, the staff was friendly and helpful, great restaurants, great pricing, and oh so comfy beds!! We were quite impressed, as the castle hotel was better than we had imagined! The only things missing would be a shop, pool, and jacuzzi, but no complaints here. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments I have passed on your thanks to all our team members.
Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team who would be more than happy to help you should you decide to come and stay in the castle in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Mark Long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews