We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a good hotel if you want to avoid the noise of city center, but still be near attractions. Dublin Bay, St Anne's Park, and the Casino at Marino is all within walking distance, and it is just a few minute bus ride to city center.

The rooms were a standard size. The chair was worn and the desktop was damaged, but the room was very clean, had a nice large clawfoot bathtub, and the beds were very comfortable.

Service was excellent at the hotel. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, especially V Jay, who went out of his way to help us.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us – it was especially nice to hear how impressed you were with the service of our dedicated staff. I hope you had a truly memorable stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again sometime in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,276 - 3,280 of 4,196 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

Excellent stay, could not have wished for a better start of our Ireland trip.
In combination with Michelin star dinner at Bon Appetit, taxi transfers and delicious breakfast an excellent choice. Would do it again any time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janne-Voorburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely review. I’m so glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food. I hope you have a fantastic time in Ireland and I hope we will see you again sometime soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Clontarf Castle Hotel and I wanted to say how helpful the staff were in particular Eric the Concierge who was wonderful , I went to visit my husband who is staying there for six weeks whilst he attends a course in Dublin. So my days were spent alone at the hotel, although I was concerned about this before my arrival my worries were unfounded as Eric made sure that I was taken care of, nothing was too much for him even if it was just a quick chat if he was busy or sorting me out a pot of tea in front of their beautiful open fire place.
The hotel is very beautiful, the food is to a high standard and the are staff friendly and helpful, it is a little way from the town centre but there is no shortage of cabs or buses to take you out and about.
This is a very popular Hotel and it gets very busy at the weekends so booking in the restaurant is a good idea, you know you are staying somewhere that is good when the locals use the bar and the restaurant.
I would without doubt be more than happy to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisa45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had such a lovely stay with us recently and I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with everything from the service to the food. However it was especially nice to hear how Eric our dedicated Concierge looked after you. I hope you had a very memorable stay in Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

On our last night in Ireland my son and I decided to try out the Clontarf Castle for a change from the ordinary hotels. The guest rooms themselves are modern, roomy and comfortable but the common areas and the setting and restaurants are unique and provide a great atmosphere. The staff were helpful and attentive. The pub had great food and a great staff. The old castle keep is a focal point for exploring. There are these really neat nooks and crannies all over the place. The history of this area relates back to the times of Brian Boru and includes tales of the Knights Templar. The whole experience was well worth it. The one thing they could improve on is the workout facility but other than that I doubt very much that you'll be disappointed with your stay here. One thing, I wouldn't think you'd want to stay here if you intended to visit attractions in central Dublin, it is remote from there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JamesII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review, I am so glad you had such a lovely time staying with us recently. I was especially delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the atmosphere and food, and how impressed you were with the service of our staff. I hope you had a truly magnificent visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Clontarf Castle was a great combination of the old and the new, a modern hotel with the history of an actual Irish castle. And not at all the commercial tourist trap I feared.

We stayed two nights in Dublin -- our first and last nights in Ireland. We chose the more bed and breakfast-type Ariel House the first night, and wanted something completely different for our last night. Clontarf delivered beautifully! And for a good value. The price was about $50 less than we were quoted on Expedia!

Nestled in a neighborhood outside downtown Dublin, the grounds were serene. Parking was ample (and free) with ready access to cabs or mass transit (a short walk, five minutes or so, we were told). The castle was beautiful -- and real! The hotel itself is quite modern. Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was quite large and had one of the better showers were saw during our seven-day trip. The modern decor was in contrast to the castle, but it worked well and we liked it, especially the unexpected lights in the headboard (pink colored light blocks that looked quite chic). Overall a very satisfying experience. I wish we'd had more time to spend at the hotel exploring (we didn't get to visit the restaurant, bar or castle lounge, but all three looked comfortable and interesting).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us recently. I was especially delighted to hear how impressive you found the décor of our hotel, the location and your room. It is a pity you didn’t get to experience our bar & restaurant as I am sure you would have enjoyed them both. I hope you had a fantastic visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,687 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,489 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,697 reviews
4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $180 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing