We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed on business. Good location, approx 20Euro taxi ride into centre of Dublin.
Room was very good - room 333. Bed comfortable, bathroom clean. Staff were excellent.
Mini bar and flat screen tv a bonus! Would definitely stay again.
Breakfast the next morning was good quality with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Room 333 was spacious and apparently much larger than my colleagues who had a room a few doors away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MollyWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I am delighted you had such a nice stay with us and I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with everything from our location & staff to your room & its amenities. I hope you had a great visit to Dublin and I hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,280 - 3,284 of 4,193 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

The outside is BEAUTIFUL! The inside is BEAUTIFUL, wish there were more area's for sitting and enjoying the big fire. Room not ready so they happily held our luggage and gave excellent directions for the city bus. Not too far from downtown and very close to the water if one wants to walk that way. Once we checked in the room was AMAZING and had the prettiest window seat with a skylight overtop. the roof was slightly sloped making it look very unique and def not like your regular hotel room. The bathroom was big and clean and had a great shower. The groovy headboard shone light thru when it was dark out. I LOVED this room. The bar food was not too bad and same with breakfast, not too bad, not the best but not the worst either. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sky - light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling-Tarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful review. I am so glad you had such a great stay with us recently. I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with the décor of our hotel and your room. I hope you had a truly memorable visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back upon your return.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

so you think you are going to stay in a castle - forget it, there are a few bits of ancient wall around, but really this is just cheap mock renovation with some toy suits of armour and coats of arms around to give some cheap tourist idea of a castle.
Having said this, it is clean, rooms are comfortable, fairly close to Dublin city centre (20 mins on the bus), if you get a room on the top floor facing south a nice view over to Wicklow hills.
the facilities are nothing out the ordinary - standard mid range hotel, with staff to match. Food nothing special either. So overpriced.

Room Tip: if you get a room on the top floor facing south a nice view over to Wicklow hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Don't let the name fool you - this was no castle! The suits of armour in the lobby were cheap fake knock-offs. There were no grounds or gardens of any kind. Apart from the hint of a single old stone wall, the interior was decorated like any other cheap plain hotel.

Our room was on the second floor, directly over the banquet hall which was hosting a wedding. It was incredibly noisy and didn't stop until 2AM, at which point the drunken party guests proceeded to run through the hallways loudly singing and carrying on until morning. We complained to the front desk, but nothing was done, they didn't even offer to move us to a different room. The bed has a plastic sheet on it (no doubt to protect the mattress) but it was noisy and hot. The worst night sleep I've ever had.

The hotel restaurant was terrible in every way. The service was chaotic and inconsistent, the wait staff had no clue what they were doing. The food was equally as terrible. I had lamb for dinner, I asked for medium and it came out as tough as shoe leather I couldn't even cut it. Then it took 40 minutes for dessert to arrive after being ordered. At breakfast the fruits were straight out of a can, the hashbrowns were pre-formed pucks out of the freezer, the eggs were powdered and watery.

The hotel was difficult to find with no signage we observed, The entrance was off a roundabout far away from the actual hotel, which was tucked in behind a bunch of houses. We only found it after stopping to ask for directions. But I wish we had never found it. The worst hotel in Ireland - save yourself a headache and go anywhere else!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are directly over the banquet hall and very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheepherders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location to explore any location in Ireland. My partner and I travelled there with my parents and stayed at Clontarf for 7 days. The hotel is simply wonderful. They accomodated early check-in for us as well. The rooms were elegant, larger than the typical European hotel, offered very comfortable beds, great linens, and the breakfast was/is something to look forward to every day. Eric Duffy, concierge, is by far one of the most professional and considerate people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. He went out of his way to assist us in planning our week long adventure in Ireland and truly loves helping others. All additional hotel staff were equally as kind, friendly, and helpful. This hotel made us feel like royalty and the restaurants offered a wide selection of entrees --- all of which were wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScottHSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,684 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,487 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,646 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,695 reviews
4 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $182 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing