We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only being part of a Castle makes this a 4 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed her last week for one night, on arrival the reception area of the Hotel was most impressive, the grounds not so as your right slap bang in the middle of a residential area, but since a short driving distance from Howth/Malahine and City made up for it. The Hotel Rooms are quite small even do we had a Deluxe Room, but it was spotless and had everything you would need, only bad part of this was we had to change rooms because the first room we were given the Mattress on the bed was totally caved in at the middle and end, I thought I was imaging things when I pulled back the sheets and saw it, and still cant believe this had gone unnoticed?

We ate in the Knights bar, food was just OK nothing great, but breakfast the next morning was a real disappointment, it was dried up and unappetizing, so I passed on the hot food and just stuck to Tea and pastries.

So after staying in a lot of hotels in the last while in Ireland food wise this would only rate to me as a 3 star Hotel, otherwise the broken bed and the inconvenience of the room change, the Hotel itself is fantastic inside with its whole medieval thing going on, a haven for tourists!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keeva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Dear Guest,
I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Regarding the bed in the initial room you were given, this has now been replaced with a new one and thank you for bringing it to our immediate attention. I would like to apologise for the disappointing breakfast buffet on the morning of your stay – it was not up to our usual high standards and we have recently put into operation a new breakfast programme which will ensure our full Irish breakfast buffet is always fresh. I hope you had a great visit to Dublin and I would be delighted to welcome you back again some time in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,378 - 3,382 of 4,240 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed Friday - Monday. We had a superb time at this hotel. The staff were, without exception, brilliant. The hotel is high class but never stuffy and we felt very comfortable there. The food (breakfast and dinner in the Fahrenheit Grill and meals in the Knight's Bar) was all excellent and, by Dublin standards, very good value. Importantly, the Guinness was unfailingly excellent as well and the wine list was also good and well priced. The only minor criticism we have is that we thought our rooms were somewhat small although they were comfortable and very well equipped. The free (and always available) parking was an additional bonus.
All-in-all, we had a very, very good experience at Clontarf Castle. We will certainly return and we can give it a five-star recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyandSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had such an enjoyable time with us recently. I was delighted to reads how impressed you were with everything from the food & drink to the service of our dedicated staff members. I hope you had a fantastic break, and I would be delighted to welcome you back again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is the perfect choice if you need to be around the area of the hotel. The bar, rooms, staff are all best in class. I visit reguarly for work and tavel to the business park, the hotel has a free of charge taxi service, amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanderVonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you had great stay with us, and as a regular visitor It is so nice to hear how impressive you find our bar, rooms and service. I do hope we can continue to welcome you back on a regular basis.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Had dinner here on Saturday. Have to say it was Fabulous, Staff where very nice and accomadating. Food was out of this world very good range of choices to suit every taste buds. I had the Dublin bay prawns for start and fillet of beef for main followed by white chocolate cheese cake. It was magificent! I would definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MlongClontarf, General Manager at Clontarf Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the lovely review. I am so glad you had a wonderful time in our Restaurant Fahrenheit Grill. I was delighted to hear how impressed you were with both the food and the service of our dedicated waiting staff. I do hope we get a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Mark Long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed in Clontarf castle hotel as part of a deal which included bed and breakfast and a main course and drink in knights bar. Hotel lobby is beautiful but was let down by grumpy and unhelpful receptionist. Went to room which was nice but the carpet was gathered underneath the table and looked very unfinished and untidy. Rang the bar and asked if we needed to book a table for dinner and they assured us no. When we arrived down there was a long wait and we ended up having to share a table with another person. There was only one waitress on our side of the bar dealing with many tables on a busy Friday night which was crazy as we were waiting so long to order and get our plates taken away after. Was very frustrating waiting so long despite there being numerous bar staff behind the bar looking at each other! Breakfast the next day was lovely and redeemed Clontarf castle. Would be an absolutely lovely hotel if service was better and the rooms were finished to a higher standard as the setting is idyllic!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank user2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.1 km away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,725 reviews
4.2 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,528 reviews
3.1 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
5.9 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,739 reviews
4.4 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clontarf Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clontarf Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Avenue | Clontarf, Dublin D03 W5NO, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $177 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clontarf Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate, chill out, or relish in a little of both. Clontarf Castle Hotel in Dublin, Ireland is a perfect blend of a boutique and luxury hotel, providing unique style and exceptional service in comfortable surroundings. This unique luxury hotel in Dublin is well thought out from the guests' point of view by providing a modern aesthetic built around an ancient form. Located just 10 minutes from the heart of Dublin City Centre and 5 miles from Dublin Airport, the Clontarf Castle Hotel in Ireland is an oasis, tucked away in a tranquil setting, surrounded by fabulous golf courses and the sounds of lapping waters from the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clontarf Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing