We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaw Court Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shaw Court Apartments
Ranked #131 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

Stayed at Shaw court in early November 2008 for 4 nights with my husband, 18year old daughter and her boyfriend (21)

All we wanted was a base, bed, and somewhere to crash, for the long weekend stay, we also had rented a car.
Short court was very clean, tidy, cheap, and cosy.
Basically everything we wanted, being a 15 minute walk from temple bar, 10 minutes from st. Stevens green and 25 minutes from the River Liffey. With plenty of pubs on the way! A tesco express, and spar just around the corner.

I would never recommend renting a car, as it became very expensive, as the area Shaw court is. Monitored and clamping is in use, having to pay by parking meters in streets and walking to the apartment and using 24hour car parks in the city which was a nightmare, as outside the apartments where about 6 car park spaces, all at a first come first serve basis and seemed to be that students or local people parked here for the entire week and left on the weekend, as this seemed to be the only place in Dublin where you didn’t have to pay or no clamping was involved! After our second day, the start of the weekend one of these cars moved, ours was in, and never moved again till we left! Would recommend not having a car as regular buses, trams and local taxis are around.

The apartment- a small convenient kitchen handy for cooking breakfast, dinner and supper. One double bedroom, one twin, a sofa bed, bathroom and a little balcony. Fresh towels everyday, housekeeping if wanted, cutlery, plated, microwave, washing machine and bedding included. The view is not brilliant, seems to be a unused apartment block with rubbish inside, broken windows and graffiti over, but its not a holiday where a fantastic view was wanted, and having an alleyway leading to get to Shaw court which can be spooky if walking home in the night!

A little noisy on weekends, most probably from stag and hen partys, and students, but expected from this city.

The apartments have a main gate that is coded and only guests and staff know, so there is no unwanted visitors around the court, following by the main apartment blocks having a second different code to get in.

Very expensive city, be prepared! But a great weekend! Would definitely stay again!

  • Liked — Location, Clean
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annmhopwelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    4
    8
    0
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

We spent 2 weeks in the Shaw court appartements in a twin bedroom appartement.

First impression was that the appartement was great, nice kitchen, enough place, big bedroom, and very quiet.

During the second week, my friend saw she got insects bites all over her body (over 40 bites). I personnally had nothing.

We inspect her bed and saw holes in her mattress. Mine was in perfect condition.

So we asked the hotel staff to do something. They told us they would change everything (beds, linen,...) but when we came back in the room, we checked the mattress and it was exactly the same bed... They just changed the linen as usual and vaccumed the room and sprayed something like an insecticid.

My friend slept in the living room for the last 4 nights because she was too afraid to be bitten again.

Our advice is AVOID ROOM 16 if you don't want to be bitten by bed bugs.

And the worst is that those ugly insects seems to be at our home now because i got bitten... Thanks shaw court.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beg bugs
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clorofil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

You check into the hotel who then issue you with a key to the appartments which are actually a 15 minute walk away. The porter who directed us advised us that there was parking at the appartments.......however when we got there with the hire car we discovered that they all had reserved signs on them with the possibility of clamping. When checking with the hotel they told us that they did not reccomend that guests use these spaces because of clamping so we ended up parking in a public 24 hour car par 20 min walk away. I think the porter at this hotel may be also running the clamping firm!
Appartments are clean though, and basic, which is what we needed. They are built right next to a derilict old building with broken windows and graffiti, so I had to get used to walking pas this in the evenings but we saw nothing bad just a bit spooky. The appartments are all key coded with railings and gates so that no undesirables can get in. I am sure that in another 5 years this will become more appartments. It was a fairly quiet part of Dublin and a 7 euro taxi ride approx to Temple Bar.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank emicben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

If you want a clean, comfy place to stay at a good price these apartments are spot on. There were 6 of us in a 2 bed apartment but there was still plenty of room. They are about 10-15 minutes walk to temple bar but there are tons of pubs and shops as you walk. We got a taxi in the evenings as they were always passing outside - that cost about 5 euros.

There is a Tesco express and a spar under a minutes walk away and the kitchen is equiped enough for you to make a basic meal - cutlery, crockery a couple of pots and pans, oven, microwave, tea and coffee, even salt and pepper!

The only down side is that they are located in a side street that doesn't look the nicest place in Dublin but the 3 gate security system meant we felt perfectly safe.

Recommended.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank HD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2008

My family (total of 4) stayed for two nights at Shaw Court in Dec. 2007. The walk from the Harcourt Hotel to the apartments is a bit silly--we were in Ireland for a two-week stay and had a lot of luggage and it was rather funny following a bellman rolling a trolley stuffed with bags through the streets of Dublin. But it is only a couple blocks--it's the luggage that makes it seem further.

The neighborhood is fine--the locals said it caters to students but it is certainly more than safe. We found the walk to St. Stephens Green, Grafton, Temple Bar to be reasonable...it was a nice walk without being too far.

The most striking feature is that the apartments are very clean, as are all the public areas. The furniture and bedding were fine, not opulent, but clean and in good repair.

The kitchen was clean and handy for snacks & breakfast. We reserved a one-bed and probably should have gotten a two-bed as the futon was a bit small even for the kids.

All in all, a good option and an excellent value for the area.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank JerryFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Portobello Hotel
#106 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#89 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Camden Court Hotel
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Dublin
#53 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Camden Deluxe Hotel
#124 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Kilronan House
#38 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaw Court Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaw Court Apartments

Property: Shaw Court Apartments
Address: Harrington Court 11 Synge Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price range (per night): $215
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Shaw Court Apartments Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing