We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, but could do better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Ystad, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad, but could do better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Me and some friends stayed at the Westin Dublin Hotel february 2012. When checking in we were asked if we wanted a bigger room for 30 euros a night. We accepted the offer and got to our room. Spacious room, very comfortable beds and a big bathroom. The view was not what I was expecting, straight into a brick wall and another rooms window. Not more than 4 meters to the other rooms windows.
We decided to take a quick shower and then go out and eat something before dinner. There was a stop in the drain so all the water leaked out on the bathroom floor. Suddenly it started to drip water from a spotlight in the ceiling down into the sink. We called the reception and they told us that they would send someone to fix it right away. We got back to the hotel two hours later and the drain was still not fixed but the dripping had stopped from the ceiling. We called the reception once again and they promised us once more to fix it. We went out for dinner and when we got back at night the stop in the drain was fixed and they couldn't find a leak in the ceiling.
After some trouble getting to sleep at approximately 2 am some drunk person in the bar in the basement pressed the fire alarm button. Through speakers we were told to evacuate the hotel. We ran down the stairs. In the reception we were told it was a false alarm. It's not the easiest thing, to calm down at 2 am after running the stairs. At 3.30 am i finally got back so sleep.

Then the safety box started to fail on us. We were on our way out and the rest of our company waited for us down in the lobby. The safety box then decided not to open. It just said call securi1. So we called the reception and they told us that they would send someone to our room immediately. After 20 minutes a security guy came to our room and opened our box. We locked it and ran downstairs were the rest of our company had been waiting for us in 25 minutes.
Same thing happened three times more. The last two times I was not very polite and it only took 5-10 minutes for the security guy to come to our room. But still, it's not something that you want. Have to call the reception every time you want to get into your safety box.
The last time the security girl who tried to open the box failed so she had to ring for some extra help. I was so angry!
When do need to get in to the safety box? Yes, just before you leave the room. So every time our box failed on us we had to wait for the security guy to come to our room and open it. While he was opening the box the rest of our company were waiting for us down in the lobby.

When checking out I told them that I was not paying 30 euros extra per night which they accepted. I still think they got away quite easy comparing all the problems we had at our stay.

If our room worked properly, it would have been a great stay at a great hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms with a view inside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear Jesper R,

Thank you sincerely for posting your review and for taking the time to do so.

However, I am very unhappy that your stay was not satisfactory.

I would be very happy to discuss this further with you.

Please do contact me directly if you wish to discuss this further I would be happy to assist.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    650
    171
    53
    47
See reviews for
441
955
138
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
2,148 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The concierge staff was spot on with every recommendation and extremely helpful. Daragh was our primary source for info and reservations. He did spectacularly well steering us to the best events and best use of time and money! The rest of the experience was 4-stars. As a platinum member, I usually get a much nicer room and they were still being advertised as available during check-in. The food is pricey and not worth the extra fee considering better restaurants are literally across the street for much less. Everyone was terrificly friendly so I really have no other complaints other than it was just not 5-stars in my experience.

Room Tip: if you are a VIP, dont expect an upgrade... I should have asked and it might have been given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kauai-Biz-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear jai-Biz-Traveler,

Thank you for your taking the time to post your review.

I am happy our concierge staff were able to assist you effectively while you stayed with us.

However, I am dissapointed to hear you recieved a room which you were unhappy with. Please be assured that Platinmum members should be given the best available room. I do hope we can assist you with this the next time you visit us.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was a surprise weekend break for my birthday. So going to Dublin was brilliant and topped off by staying in this fabulous city centre hotel. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, swift checkin and we were shown to our room. We were on the 4th floor with a stunning view across Dublin's old roof tops and chimney pots, looking down Pearse Street with Trinity College to the right of our window. A beautifully laid out room with an extremely comfortable bed. The Bathroom was fitted with a generous sized shower and separate bath tub. White fluffy towels and very nice amenities.
The location is perfect too. Just minutes form both the major shopping districts North and South of the Liffey. It was also within walking distance of the great Dublin night life.I couldn't recommend this hotel more. The Westin Dublin lives up to the Brand's high standards in luxury hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms looking inwards if you're looking for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear juliana74,

Thank you kindly for posting your review.

I am happy your stay was conveniant and suited your travel purposes while you visited Dublin City Centre.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Being from Dublin my wife and I decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay in a 5* Hotel as we were booked into Chapter One Restaurant for an evening meal and decided to make a day/night of it. Peter, the doorman, looked after our car and luggage and we were in our room within minutes which was great to have extra time to get out into the city and explore. Our room was adequate if a bit small. It was an 'internal' room so we had no road noise by ambulance/police vehicles. Our room looked into a beautiful Atrium housing a cafe/restaurant. We returned from our meal and headed into the Mint bar to try out a cocktail or two which didn't disappoint. It was extremely busy and lively with a band playing and the staff although few were serving people with no delay but had no time to chat to guests. There was a great buzz about the place and we headed up at 2am very merry. Next morning after a wonderful nights sleep we checked out and within minutes of doing so my car was brought around and parked outside for our short trip home. Overall we were delighted to of chosen the Westin over other hotels in the area like The Shelbourne or The Wesbury and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 126 (internal room) looks into the Atrium and is very quiet as no road noise but is on the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eoinhyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear milltree,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Westin Dublin.

I am delighted to hear Peter from concierge was helpful in assisting you with your luggage and check in, I will pas this message on to him.

Overall, I am happy you had a renewing stay at The Westin Dublin,

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Westin is the second hotel from the Starwood group that I have stayed in (the other being the Sheraton in Sydney). It doesn't disappoint!

Welcomed at the door, we had a completely hassle free check-in, and a choice of room - either a view of Trinity College, or a more spacious room. we opted for the spacious room - and still had a nice view.

we ate lunch in the bar in the basement - delicious food, friendly service, and nice atmosphere.

The beds were a tiny bit firm for my liking, but I still had a great nights sleep - very quiet, and a great powerful shower in the morning.

The location is perfect - right beside Trinity College, and across from the Temple Bar area. I can't imagine a better location for a weekend exploration of Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheoJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear TheoJones,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review following your stay at The Westin Dublin.

I am delighted to hear that your stay was efficient, hassle-free and one of which you could take advantage of the great views of Dublin City Centre.

I hope I can welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,750 reviews
0.9 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.5 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
0.6 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $446 - $1,029
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing