We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location - Bring Your Walking Shoes! - Friendly & Responsive Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Westin Dublin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dublin
Ranked #11 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location – Bring Your Walking Shoes! – Friendly & Responsive Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

As I first time visitor to Dublin I would agree with all the positive reviews of the Westin Dublin. The location is perfect – directly across the street from Trinity (make sure you see the Book of Kells!), or cross the street and walk up Fleet street for numerous bars & restaurants. We found the Palace Bar to be a wonderful place to sample an array of Irish whiskeys. Grafton street is a short walk – it is much more ‘touristy’, but still a pleasant place to walk. I was in Dublin for a conference at the Convention Centre which gave me the opportunity for a daily morning and late afternoon walk along the river to and from the Centre.
The hotel itself is great – we upgraded to a Deluxe room which gave us a view of Westmoreland street. The room was very quiet, we were able to have a street view without any disturbing street noise. Special shout out to Michael (concierge) – he was very knowledge and helpful with activity planning and advice, as well as practical information (we needed to purchase inexpensive Pay-as-You-Go GSM phone).

My overall impression of Dublin is that is much less ‘Disney-fied’ than many tourist destinations. While tourism is obviously an important part of the local economy, as I visitor I felt more that I was welcomed into an existing community, rather than dropped into an ‘experience’ created for tourists.

Tip: Please be advised that Dublin is not a 24x7 city. It can be difficult to find a restaurant that serves after 9 pm during the week and most convenience stores close by midnight (?) and do not re-open until 7 am.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCtraveler1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear MCtraveler1200,

Thank you for posting your positive review following your stay with The Westin Dublin. We are very proud of our central location here in Dublin City Centre and I am delighted you could take full advantage of this.

I am happy your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your lovely comments on our staff I will be sure to pass on this message to Michael.

Kind regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,487
    650
    171
    53
    47
See reviews for
442
955
138
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed in the Westin Dublin for 8 days this past February, and had a very grand time. I checked in at 3PM on a Saturday and per some TripAdvisor traveler tips, I made sure to request a room overlooking Trinity College so that I could avoid noise from the Atrium. Luckily the staff was able to accommodate my request. This put my room in a nice location on the third floor, with a nice view, and I didn't have any problem with noise during my stay. That said, the hotel seems less busy in February, so things may be noisier in the summer months.

I didn't spend too much time in my room, but it suited my needs. The bedroom area is small and a little worn in places, but I found the closet space to be ample. By contrast, the bathroom is huge, modern and bright--and I really appreciated being able to take a long bath after walking around in the cold Dublin rain. The room included amenities such as a coffee maker, hot water maker, phones, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, flatscreen tv, alarm clock, bathrobe, thermostat, bathtub/shower, makeup mirror and safe (which was large enough to fit my 15" laptop). Most importantly it had the standard Westin heavenly bed...I thank that thing for helping me get over jet lag!

The service was great; housekeeping was prompt and the concierge answered all of my questions. They helped me get cabs that took credit cards, and even loaned me a US > UK adapter for the outlets. The breakfast service, although sometimes understaffed, was prompt once seated and I really loved the breakfast buffet!

Overall, here's my breakdown:

PROS
- Westin Heavenly Bed
- Prompt housekeeping and concierge
- Well located property--right next to Trinity College, Temple Bar and very walkable to most tour bus pickups
- Clean, large, well-lit bathroom with bathtub (the hotel is near a Lush store if you need to stock up!)
- Flatscreen TV and coffee/tea maker
- Bathrobe
- Quiet rooms
- Safe fits laptop
- Blackout curtains
- Windows open (some rooms)
- Breakfast buffet is very nice. Get it included in your room rate if you can.
- Gym was cleaned and restocked often

CONS
- The gym was a little small, and quickly gets crowded. No windows.
- Cost for internet per night is very high at 15 EURO. Try to purchase the 4-night deal (4 for 40 EURO) to decrease this a bit.
- Although there are signs that indicate a Gift Shop is on site, it doesn't exist.

TIPS
- You can earn a 5 EURO voucher for every day that you decline housekeeping. A good way to earn a drink or two in the Atrium!
- With the exception of a 24 hour 7 Eleven-type store down the street, nothing seems to be open before 7AM in Dublin. This is important if you are looking for breakfast before an early tour.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluff_astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear fluff_astrid,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I am delighted that your basic needs were met. However, at The Westin we strive to exceed our guest’s needs.

In terms of the rooms; I regret to hear your room was small and worn in places. However, the rooms in our hotel are currently being refurbished.

Overall, I am happy you had a nice stay with us and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind regards,

Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Fantastic hotel, centrally located with lovely rooms and elegant public rooms. Service is impeccable and the staff could not be more helpful. Only ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel but the food was delicious and the Atrium Bar is a relaxing place to eat.
All the staff on reception were extremely efficient and and Michael ( Concierge ) was particularly attentive - giving us lots of tips on how best to utilise our time in Dublin. We particularly enjoyed our visit to the Guinness Storehouse - use the hop on - hop off tourist bus to see the sights. In the evening Temple Bar is very lively and the live music and Irish dancing in Gogarty's is a treat.The people of Dublin are what makes a trip here so special - they are kind and welcoming and made our visit truly memorable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top (fifth) floor and had great views over the city. There was even a patio with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Susan F,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at The Westin Dublin. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, I will be sure to pass this on to them.

I am happy your stay was comfortable and met your needs as you visited Dublin City Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin.

Kind regards,

Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here a few days for business recently and it was outstanding all around. Have stayed at the Conrad Dublin down the street (also very good) but found the Westin to be slightly more elegant and the location very good. Staff was very helpful. Rooms very comfortable. Nice bar in the cellar (although you are in Dublin and need to take in the town, right?). We walked to any number of outstanding restaurants and bars near the hotel. Room service fine. Etc. Would highly recommend for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronneedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear ronneedham,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us.
I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to take advantage of our central location.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Henning
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Finding great airfare and the Westin in the center of Dublin made for a great long weekend. The hotel was elegant and had a great central location. Across the street was the famous Temple Bar area. All the attractions (Jameson Factory, Guinness Factory, The Jail, The Dublin Castle, Trinity College and much more) were all easily accessible from a walk through the streets or using the great local transportation. The hotel was convenient and hospitable. I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiberius52367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestin, General Manager at The Westin Dublin, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear tiberius52367,

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us, I greatly appreciate it. It's great to hear that you had the opportunity to fully enjoy our central location in Dublin City Centre.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Dublin soon.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Henning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.5 km away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,751 reviews
0.9 km away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
0.5 km away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,861 reviews
0.6 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dublin

Property: The Westin Dublin
Address: At College Green | Westmoreland Street, Dublin D02 HR67, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dublin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $453 - $1,042
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Dublin 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Dublin is a 5 star luxury hotel, located in the heart of Dublin city centre. The hotel offers an ambience of warmth and Irish hospitality, together with an international level of service and amenities that are uniquely Westin, inviting guests to unwind and recharge with a replenishing atmosphere and natural service. Occupying one of the best locations in Dublin, overlooking Trinity College, The Westin is in the centre of the main shopping and entertainment areas and is within easy walking distance of the Convention Centre and the International Financial Services Centre, Dublin's major business district. Behind the historic 19th century façade of the hotel, all of our 172 spacious guest rooms and suites each feature a signature Westin Heavenly Bed(R) ensuring the best night's sleep, a Heavenly Shower(R) and characteristic Irish décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Dublin Hotel Dublin
Dublin Hotel Westin
Dublin Westin
Westin Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing