We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would never go back”
Review of Blooms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blooms Hotel
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would never go back”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Checked in and was told we would have to pay a 50euro deposit, I said this had never been mentioned when we booked the room and the receptionist just shrugged his shoulders. It also states on the hotels website that they have a residents bar, we went back to the hotel at 11.30 and we're told the residents bar was not open. Found a pair of ladies underwear hanging on the door in the bathroom and rubbish and receipts on the floor from what must have been previous guests, which makes you wonder if the room was even cleaned before we arrived.

Next morning someone just walked into the room while we were still in bed without even knocking, not sure if this was a cleaner, but checkout time was 12pm and this was at 10am. Said it to person at reception when checking out and he tried to say this happened because we had already checked out!!! Would never return and will advise all my friends not to.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bert123lawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    511
    855
    513
    196
    153
See reviews for
304
787
84
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

booked blooms for st patricks day weekend, on arrival and after our check in and after unpacking, went down too hotel bar for a bite too eat and a welcome drink, had while i had a gin &tonic my husband went too find a cash point, after a long walk too find one he returned to join me and we order our food which was not great burger meat over cooked and dried up. so after i ate my food got up too go too the ladies and then thats when i notice my bag was missing, i told the bar staff right away and they called the manager who called the garda, who came very qiuckly and were great, and the guy was on cctv, but the garda think they were flown in from other countrys. but the hotel never informed guests too be carefull with there bags and even after my was taken they still did not tell guests at check in, they charged us for our food , and even charged us for the nights stay, we checked out next morning as our weekend was stolen along with my bag, yes the manager give us a few drinks at the bar, but we could no longer injoy our stay, so retried early. the garda were very surprised the hotel made us pay, and even said on sunday when i spoke too them on the phone they were going too do something for us so as we would return too dublin, even the train station manager aloud me too travel back home free of charge as my ticket was in my purse. so please be careful when in dublin.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomsHotelTempleBar, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are very sorry and sympathise for the theft of your bag. We did everything we could following the circumstances. The Garda were called straight away and we identified the culprit. We viewed the CCTV together. As with any city we all need to be very vigilant with our belongings and cannot leave them unattended especially on the busiest weekend of the year. We are not responsible for people’s belongings in public areas and we do urge people to be vigilant. You may not have noticed but we did have signs up warning people to mind their belongings. We sent two members of staff out on the streets to try and find the culprit or recover your bag; unfortunately we did not find him. I don’t think we could have done any more for you in the circumstances and we responded with great haste in the matter. We gave you and your Husband complimentary drinks as a gesture of good will, to the value of € 70.00. I spoke with you after the incident and informed you that if you did not wish to stay for your second night that we would waive the seven day mandatory cancellation fee again as a gesture of good will and this was fulfilled. As you can appreciate this weekend had great demand for rooms and the sale of this room was also lost. We wish you all the best and hope your next visit to Dublin is not tarnished with such regrettable circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Location great. Noise from street and nightclub probably not a problem if you are a late night reveller, I had to sleep with TV blaring to block out the noise, however i did expect this because of where it was. Area bustling, plenty of choice of nightlife.
Room itself was bright, modern and clean, well maintained and bed comfortable. Would benefit from tea / coffee making facilities. 1st hotel I have stayed in for a long time not to have these. Good value for what I paid. Would stay again, mainly due to location.

Room Tip: Higher floors further from nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomsHotelTempleBar, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, As we are in the Heart of the bustling Temple bar there will be some noise from the great night life in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

stayed here for two nights
The rooms are pretty spartan yet clean
The bar is a great asset with complimentary vouchers
The location is as good as you can get .
High rise car park very close by - great asset

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Receptionist was snappy and cranky. We wantes to check in early. 4 people and two rooms. They had one ready. Not fair on 4 people needing to shower and change. I expected location to be noisy so that didnt bother me. No kettle in the room no extra blanket or duvet or pillows. One bonus was free drink at bar on arrival. Wont be returning unless i was gonna spend less than an hr in the room!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BloomsHotelTempleBar, Manager at Blooms Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
We apologise for the snappy and cranky receptionist, She was just freshly trained and found it tough under pressure. Our check in time is from 3pm so as a busy hotel it is not possible to have all rooms available before that time. We tried to accommodate you with one room that was ready. We do not advertise that we have tea or coffee making facilities on our website or on any other sites, but if this was requested we would have kindly supplied one. The same also applies to the pillows or blankets, They would have been supplied on request. We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review and we will use it to enhance our offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,195 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#65 of 151 in Dublin
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
847 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,734 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooms Hotel

Property: Blooms Hotel
Address: 6 Anglesea Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price range (per night): $140 - $375
Hotel Class:3 star — Blooms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Blooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blooms Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing