We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in Town”
Review of The Leeson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Leeson Hotel
Ranked #117 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Wicklow
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Value in Town”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I must say I was a little bit dubious at €49 for 2 with continental breakfast but I was very pleasantly surprised. Room spotlessly clean, bed very comfortable, tea and coffee in room, could not find fault. Breakfast was just right, good buffet of cereals, cold ham, cheese, as much toast, coffee & juice as you wanted. It may not have plasma screens and little things like door handles could be fixed but for this price you could not complain. The service was excellent, I left jewellery behind and got call following day to say they had it at reception. Left a jacket in 5 star establishment earlier in the year and never got it back. Location was so spot on, couple of minutes walk into Stephens Green. If you want clean, comfortable bed for a night would definitely recommend, there is a nightclub downstairs and is on Leeson Street which is a late night venue so may not suit early to bed people. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay at top
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WicklowOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    22
    23
    19
See reviews for
4
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Not too impressed with hotel. Probably ok for youngsters or stag & hen parties. Night club in basement didn't close until 2/3 am, then the noise of drunken people trying to find their rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Ok so it is not the swankiest place you ever are going to get. But the rooms were grand. Clean and decent size. Beds comfortable. The location is brilliant and the rate I paid was great value.

If like me all you think of when it comes to hotels is a roof over your head and a clean room. This is it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyPolski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stay spoilt by awful disturbance from nightclub (yes mr manager we knew there was a nightclub in the basement when we booked, but didnt expect it to sound like it was actually in our bedroom! ) Nightclub leavers about 200 of them still clubbing on the street till 4am, taxis peeping and vying for business. In the end I called the Garda to report a public disturbance. Assured a refund for the night, we're still waiting what a surprise. Terrible experience, surly staff, breakfast not worth getting up for .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

When you look at the homepage you must believe this is a great 4* hotel and it is just missing the fifth because it does not have a pool. When you stand in front
of it or enter the lobby you will feel the betrayal. They do not even clean the carpet in the lobby. Do I need to say anything else ...?
Yes, I have to because tripadvisir demands 300 letters. There us nothing else to write: stay away unless you can live with dirt, fungus and rooms that are so small you wonder how they got the beds in.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willibrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Leeson Inn Downtown
Leeson Inn Downtown
#129 of 151 in Dublin
2.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#87 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Albany House
#65 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Conrad Dublin
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Fitzwilliam Townhouse
#38 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Leesonbridge Guesthouse
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leeson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leeson Hotel

Property: The Leeson Hotel
Address: 27 Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price range (per night): $137 - $337
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leeson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leeson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing