We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, central and comfortable”

Review of Moffatt Cottage

St Patrick's, home to Johnathan Swift author of Gulliver's Travels, two minutes away.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Patrick's, home to Johnathan Swift author of Gulliver's Travels, two minutes away.
South-facing patio, looking into window of small bedroom. Double bedroom with ladder to loft space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
St Patrick's, home to Johnathan Swift author of Gulliver's Travels, two minutes away.
South-facing patio, looking into window of small bedroom.
Double bedroom with ladder to loft space
Livingroom and dining table through to kitchen at rear
Livingroom with stove/dining table looking to the front of the cottage.
Stephen's Green, a gift from The Arthur Guiness family to Dublin. Ten minutes walk
Single bedroom.
The galley style bathroom.
The Galley style kitchen opening onto the south-facing patio.
The front of Moffatt Cottage looking out onto a completely enclosed tiny square
One of many playful sculptors dotted about the Botanic Gardens, a short bus ride from a nearby stop.
A couple take in the sunset over a drink on the Grand Canal, ten minutes away.
One of many popular traditional music establishments in bustling Temple  Bar, five minutes away.
Five minutes away, the casket containing St Valintine's remains, site of pilgimage for lovers
The awe inspiring Guiness Hop Store Glass Bar  towering over the city, just minutes away.
Killiney Hill overlooking panaromic coastal & mountain views.
The stunning grounds of the Irish Museum of Modern Art just a  short walk away
A wedding at Trinity College Front  Square five minutes away
The Happeny Bridge spanning the Liffey, just a few minutes stroll away.
Tide out on Sandymount Strand just a short bus ride from town, birdwatchers' delight .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Swamprose
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, central and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My son and I came to Dublin to see a family member graduate at Trinity. I've stayed in the best hotels in Dublin and when it came time to return I knew I wanted something less formal. Moffatt Cottage is a place where my sons could meet up and have a Guiness, where I could get up and make coffee still in my nightie. It is light and so nicely thought out. It felt like a little ship, with everything at hand, warm and toasty against some very cold November rain. The Caffee Noto on the corner has internet, great coffee and sandwiches. There is a liquour store and a shopping market nearby. Across the road and down the hill is the Brazen Head, Ireland's oldest pub. In the opposite direction is St Patrick's Cathedral. Sean's interests in good movies, writing and art make Moffatt Cottage a pleasure to come home to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming cottage, central
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the decor.
Liked least: The blow up bed.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yvgfJayne
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Location EVER”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in July 2010

My husband, 17 year old son and I stayed here in 2009 but at that time Trip Advisor did not allow review of self catering units. This was the best location we have ever stayed and Sean the best host we've encountered in many years of vacation rentals. He gave us a walking tour of the area and we saw the city from his eyes.

The cottage is clean and cozy. It is a small place but smart and comfortable. We rested well in the beds, loved the sheets and comforter. We made breakfast each morning and packed our own lunches - a grocery store nearby provided everything we needed. We appreciated the history of the home and neighborhood.

From this location we could walk everywhere. We could visit for evensong at St Patrick's every evening. Marsh's library became a favorite after meeting Muriel, the Keeper (she has since retired). We took in a play at Trinity College. Even the rose tending neighbor became a friend.

Because this is an intimate space, take advantage of the opportunity to slow down. Greet the city as decades of residents have; on foot, through alleys and over bridges. I will treasure the memories of Dublin as seen from Moffat Cottage for the rest of my days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a historic location and convenient for walking to sites.
Liked least: Too short a visit!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Special Place.”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

This cottage was the perfect place for my friend and I to stay. Had always wanted to see Dublin but the cottage made it a very special experience. Small and cosy, full of character and ideally placed. Everything within walking distance but in a quiet secluded spot. Nothing was too much trouble for Sean who met us at the bus stop. Really appreciated the lovely bread, milk and juice in the fridge. You thought of everything Sean. All in all a special cottage and a special owner. And a wonderful holiday. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rollotoma...
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“perfect cottage and perfect location”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4
people found this review helpful

travelled with my 14 year old daughter and friend. I have been planning a visit to Ireland for over a year and found this cottage thanks to trip advisor. Sean was wonderful and even met us at the airport bus at Christchurch stop and brought us to cottage to drop off suitcases since we arrived at 7:30 am local time. We went for breakfast and returned to a clean home that was what I had envisioned for my first trip to Dublin. My daughter loved the loft and made herself at home. It is located on a quiet street but close to EVERYTHING. we walked everywhere ......... St. Patrick Cathedral, Christchurch,Temple Bar, Grafton Street, Guinness Storehouse, St Stephens Green, Trinity College, Dublin Castle, Ha'penny bridge etc etc etc. No more that 10 -20 minutes of walking. The farthest was probably Kilmainham Goal at about a 1/2 hour walk. There is a grocery and liquor store close by for food and drink. Tiny garden off the kitchen to sit and have tea and hear the church bells. The cottage included maps and books of Ireland and Sean even suggested taking the DART to Bray and Howth and a family pass was only 10 Euros for the day. Lovely seaside and fishing villages within 40 minutes train ride. I want to come back to Dublin in the future and will definately try to book this cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the bedrooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 165
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing