We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Value, Very Crowded, Semi-Clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abrahams Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abrahams Hostel
Ranked #22 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Value, Very Crowded, Semi-Clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Myself and a girlfriend stayed here in September. We slept in an all-female room with over 12 beds (if I remember correctly). I think Abraham House is a typical hostel - it was crowded, loud, and people were in and out of the room all night. We shared a bathroom with all the other women in the room - so it was pretty dirt, but not disgusting.
It was a good value though - cheap, I felt very safe, no one stole anything from us, there were places for us to lock up our bags, it wasn't clean but it also wasn't gross. There were a lot of resources available at the hostel - tourist info, staff to help, etc.
Abraham House was also within walking distance of a lot of Dublin's sites, and a lot of Dublin night-life.
It was worth the money, and depending on the traveler, I would suggest it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annilizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    194
    155
    56
    39
See reviews for
28
54
98
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

The first thing I met when I arrived in Dublin was the Irish hospitality. I was sitting next to a lady in the airplane from Milan, before landing she turned to me and asked me my buisness in Dublin. I told her I was traveling alone, and was going to stay in a hostel. She kindly asked If I wanted a lift with her taxi as she was heading into town. I was dropped off right outside the hostel. So nice!

In the reception was a nice italian looking guy, helping me out with payment and a tip to where to grab some food. It was like 23:30 and I just wanted to eat before bed time. He was helpfull and friendly. The room was okay, It was a six bed girls only. I put on the linnen for the bed and settled in for the night, the other girls was out for the night so I put on my night mask and plugged my ears while spooning my purse. (Im a bit paranoid) just to be sure to sleep. It was no problem I slept well. The bathroom was a bit disappointing, I had room 41 in the orange section. The door had no lock, the floor looked like a old tennis court floor and the seiling above the shower had flaky paint and mold spots. I visited another room and it had nicer standards, so this room would do with a little fixer upper.
The breakfast was ok, but not very healty. fruits was canned withs syrup, cereal was chocolate and cornflakes. Juice was from sugary syrup and not from oranges, bread was white. But there was boiled eggs. All in all a ok place to stay, but I prefered to eat Irish breakfast out.

To get to town, there was just a little walk to the Spire, from there following the shopping streets to the Temple area. Easy peasy ;)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Majasteta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Well I guess its a normal hostel... Clean with a lot of rooms, u get breakfast (cereals and bread) Is very near the center and like 3m walk to the bus station... THe staff is good... i got in one room of 8 people with a private WC the only thing that i didn't like was that was no wall sockets in the bathroom... They have towels for one or two euros per day

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saharalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

Very friendly staff and ina great location as is most of the hostels in Dublin. One of the cheaper ones available even though the price is still quite astronomical, once again as is everything in Ireland. Kitchen area is more of a dungeon and gets very hectic during the free breakfasts int he morning. Rooms are large and farily clean, not much ventilation though so can get quite smelly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bumbadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Abrahams House Hostel. The atmosphere at the hotel was amazing with cultures from Sweden, Holland, Spain and Scarborough all mixing in great fashion. Apart from a few snooty Swedish girls all the people i encountered at the hotel were the kindest and most welcoming you could imagine. The hotel manager was a true gentleman who urged people to smoke on the premises.

The only downside was that there were too many moonlighters working the reception.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanGulpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 100 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
South City Centre
Ashfield Hostel
Ashfield Hostel
#12 of 100 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
The Spire Hostel
#20 of 100 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isaacs Hostel
#6 of 100 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#17 of 100 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Temple Bar
Abigails Hostel
Abigails Hostel
#8 of 100 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abrahams Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abrahams Hostel

Property: Abrahams Hostel
Address: 82 - 83 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin D1, Ireland (Formerly Abraham House)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Dublin
Price range (per night): $21 - $175
Hotel Class:2 star — Abrahams Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored Georgian townhouse in Dublin city centre, Abraham House enjoys a reputation as one of Ireland's premier hostels. We are just a five minute walk from Dublin's main bus terminal and Connolly train station. All of our guest rooms are ensuite (with bathroom) and the reception is staffed 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Wotif.com so you can book your Abrahams Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham House Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing