We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expensive, rude, noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity College Campus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trinity College Campus
Ranked #75 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Alabama
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Expensive, rude, noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

In a month of travelling in Europe, Trinity was a low point. Info says to go to main gate; it was locked with no alternate information. Walked a third of the way around, found a entrance, and finally found the Accomodations Office. Walked up a lot of floors (they say third floor, really fourth). Room was basic dorm, but for 100 euros, it had nothing but a couple of tiny towels and two little bars of soap. Internet was 15 euros!! Room was very noisy. Closed the window to escape the noise, and it was too hot. The next morning we were yelled at by the "Butter" cafeteria manager and treated like absolute idiots when we asked where the WC was. There was a decent looking full breakfast, but somehow we didn't qualify for it. Continental breakfast was ok--good coffee, good croissants.

If you want to sleep next door to the Book of Kells, it's a great site; also well located for nightlife. I kept trying to compare it to sleeping in a dorm at Harvard or Yale, which most of us Americans would find pretty cool, but, overall, I felt ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank monjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    173
    99
    34
    15
See reviews for
58
114
83
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KCMO
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed on campus at Trinity College recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The room was in an historic dormatory a short walk from the Book of Kells / Historic Library. The twin beds were comfortable, the bathroom spartan, and the walk up the stairs with luggage a bit strenuous. A breakfast each morning was provided in the campus cafeteria. The location was wonderful... near the shopping and activities of Central Dublin. Temple Bar / Graffton Street / the Ha'Penny Bridge / and easy transportation helped make our stay memorable. The Accomodations office was very helpful by allowing us access to a computer and printer to get our e-tickets for our flight home. Thank you, Trinity College for opening up your dormatories for tourists in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverrunnermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We were told it was visiting faculty housing: it was an "old" dorm room that had mold on the ceilings, and looked like it hadn't had deep cleaning for some time. Location wise, it is superb, but for the cost, go elsewhere. We planned on staying two nights, but only stayed one (in part because of difficulty with parking - had to park off campus).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrEvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights and shared an apartment with a collegue. Pro's: beautiful campus, fun to be a college kid again, center of all the action, close to transportation, very safe, fun experience, good continental breakfast, laundry facilities, very clean, kitchen and living room. Good deal for a solo traveller and extended stays if you get the apartment. Cons: small/spartan rooms, small twin bed, small bathroom, one small towel per person, clueless (but well intentioned) staff, not good for couples, no Internet in rooms, no TV. Major warning for all you party animals: you can't bring guests in after midnight who are not residents.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank off_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

I have stayed at Trinity during three summers: 2004, 2005 and now again in 2010. On my first visit I thought there was nothing like the magic of staying at this historic heart of Dublin: a privilege to be on the campus (next door to the Samuel Beckett Theatre), the location perfectly situated for walking to everything Dublin has to offer (including the DART stations to escape from the heaving centre). On each visit I have opted for the single en-suite room and have been in the same block. The use of the small kitchenette, shared by four rooms, is a bonus: fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster. The Accommodation Office is friendly and helpful (they now drive you to your room, even though it would have been a simple walk, and offer help with luggage up the stairs) and the person servicing the room couldn’t have been better. True you get one towel, one pillow – but the sheets and towels are changed daily. Late at night and early in the morning Trinity College feels like an oasis.

On the downside, everything is a bit shabby and spartan: the tiny, moulding bathroom (designed for the leprechaun?); the coffin-like bed; the noisy plumbing. The en-suite rooms are located next to the crèche: impossible to retire to the room for a quiet hour during the day without the accompaniment of (happily, but constantly) screaming infants. The doors bang constantly, until late into the night and starting early in the morning. The location is superb but the experience is not a restful one.

It is budget accommodation without always offering a budget price. The fact that this is my third visit must say something: it is hard not to be drawn to Trinity’s cultural importance and its convenient location. For a first visit to Dublin this is a special way to experience it, as long as you are prepared for the fact that you are staying in a basic room, normally occupied by a student aged 18. Will I stay there again? The noise and the scruffiness mean I’ll be looking for an alternative for my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bartimaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#72 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#77 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Albany House
#63 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity College Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity College Campus

Property: Trinity College Campus
Address: Dame Street | College Green, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price range (per night): $90 - $332
Hotel Class:2 star — Trinity College Campus 2*
Number of rooms: 800
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Trinity College Campus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity College Campus Dublin
Trinity College Campus Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing