We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashfield Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
The Morgan(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Wynn's Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
136
205
67
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
205
67
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationhard boiled eggstrinity collegebed dormfree earplugstemple baryogurtprivate bathroombreakfast included in the priceluggage roomclean roomsbreakfast is serveda stones throwbus stopwould stay againtea and coffeewi fi
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

I visited the Ashfield Hostel when on a weekend away with friends in Dublin. From the location to the staff to the facilities, for a hostel it was very good. The place is literally a stone's throw from the very popular Temple Bar district of Dublin, as well as the popular tourist/shopping attractions of O'Connell Street and College Green, so it saves a whack on transport fees for that reason alone!

I thought the staff were a little bit eccentric but very friendly and funny in good measure. They were also very helpful in terms of pointing you in the right direction for places to be etc.

For a hostel the Ashfield Hostel is pretty damn good, relatively cheap for the central location and while it is basic in terms of facilities, if your only using it as a base then it is definitely worth a try.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LanceJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

central hostel, easy to get to, affordable in terms of pricing, clean rooms with showers inside, safe for a solo female backpacker. the guys at the reception were very nice. did not really liked the fact that i had to ring the bell in order to get into the hostel, it's safer that way i understand that, but it can get really annoying to have to wait for the guys at the reception to let you in every time.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela_Sedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Reasonably priced, centrally located and great staff/service. Hard to beat, really.

I really enjoyed my stay as a solo female traveller. I stayed in a 6-bed all-female dorm and I had a pleasant stay. The beds are comfortable enough after a long day of exploring, there's an overhead light and there's also your own USB charging station so you don't have to whip out your adaptors. Under the bed is a crate where you can lock up your personal items.

Between the six guests, there was an ensuite bathroom. The shower is pretty good with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. However there is a lack of shelving in the shower for your shampoo and soap. My only gripe about the bathroom was that there was no fan.

Overall, the other guests are fairly respectful and quiet during the wee hours of the morning, even after a long night of partying. During the early evening, you will expect a lot of noise in the common areas and in certain guest rooms. There are elevators in this hostel and some rooms are on the ground floor, so everything is wheelchair accessible.

Breakfast is okay -- consisting of toast with jam or butter, scones, yogurt with granola, cereal and milk, tea, powdered coffee and hardboiled eggs. Nothing special, but it is a free breakfast in a budget hostel. Thankfully the tea is available all day so you can help yourself. The kitchen area where guests did their own cooking and washing wasn't the cleanest. There were a few fruit flies buzzing about.

It is very centrally located, a mere 5 minute walk from Trinity College, O'Connell Street and Grafton Street. You can walk to most of the touristic locations from the hostel and there are bus stops all around.

The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. They will show you where to go, what to see and what to eat. Truly great service here. I definitely recommend this place for travellers coming to Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

I had a two night stay booked recently at Ashfield and it was above and beyond what I was looking for. The hostel is super easy to get to from Dublin airport with a stop for the Airlink bus less on the opposite side of the bridge. Upon my arrival we were greeted and promptly checked in, as well as I was wished a happy birthday from the staff member (it was the following day). We stayed in room 301 and with two beds, small cabinet and private bathroom I felt I was staying in a hotel but was paying hostel prices.

Overall the hostel was clean, quiet and centrally located to everything you would want to see in Dublin. Temple district, trinity college, public transit are all a stones throw from the hostel.

I would absolutely stay there again given the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you want a private room for two people, request room 301
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Arrived early in the morning and left late at night. Staff were helpful and welcoming on both occasions! Excellent location. And would recommend the walking tour and the botanical gardens! Ashfield room beds are comfy. Unfortunately my girlfriend snores...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews