We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Expected more.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Ranked #13 of 149 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Expected more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in March.
Certainly one of the better hotels in the area but really doesn't feel like a 5 star,
Staff in the Bar/Lounge can be a little cold at times & on more than one occasion asked us would we like to settle the bill and sometimes by just placing it on table without being prompted.

The rooms are fine. Nothing special to report.

Stairs to the downstairs bathroom by the bar were lethal on more than one occasion as it had been raining & the stairs are made of marble. Lawsuit waiting to happen.

We had afternoon tea in both The Shelbourne & The Westbury around the corner,
Service was much better in the Westbury.
Afternoon Tea at the time of our stay was 'Titanic Themed' which was laughable as none of the staff could give us any explanation as what was 'Titanic Themed' about it.... Apart from the fact it was a disaster?

Room Tip: I'd just go for a Standard room. The Suites aren't anything to write home about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Shelbourne Hotel following your recent visit to us. I am disappointed and surprised to hear your comments and would be more than happy to discuss in detail with you. Please feel free to contact me directly at rhi.dubbr.guest.relations@renaissancehotels.com if you wish to dicuss or indeed if you are travelling to Dublin at any point in the near future. I would like to personally ensure that you are looked after.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    636
    289
    121
    59
See reviews for
641
1,452
101
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Great rooms, perfectly located near most attractions. Across from Stevens Park. Friendly and efficient staff that get results of your requests. Dennis, the head Concierge is very knowledgable, helpful, and get results. The stay was a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bille3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Shelbourne Hotel. It is always good to hear that we meet our customers expectations and I am delighted that you had a good time with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Denis O'Brien, our Head Concierge. If you plan to return to Dublin at any point in the future please do not hesitate in contacting me directly.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is old style luxuary and for the more trendy you can do better. The location on the green and 5 min walk to shopping is great. At night the hotel has a nice buzz to it. However if I was younger less 35 I'd think these older folk still know how to have fun. The reception is not visible from the entrance and without anyone telling you it can make you feel unwelcome. Do the dog leg walk and you find a warm and welcoming reception desk lemonade and cookies to soften the blow. Rooms are sumptuous but some of them face a concrete building and are to be avoided. Attention to detail is lacking no pepper in pepper pot at room service out of burgers. So it is a lovely hotel and would recommend to an older crowd but it lacks that extra attention to detail to make it truly a faultless experience. Still I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Shelbourne Hotel. I am delighted that you found the hotel luxurious and that you enjoyed your overall experience. The location is 2nd to none with the main shopping district and a lot of the attractions in Dublin on our door step. You mentioned the buzz of the hotel itself - our bar No 27 is popular with both regular patrons and residents. With our great cocktail list and new and updated food menu there is always a great atmosphere. You mentioned you plan to return to Dublin and I ask that you contact me directly. I will be more than happy to personally look after you.

Kind regards,

Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Following on from a business meeting, we met at the Shelbourne Hotel Bar. It was a bustling spot. Service was very efficient even though the place only had standing room. Drinks are above average in price, but at the end of the day you get quality wines and cocktails. I have heard the restaurant is very good, and have noted to visit on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiachra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Shelbourne is like an elegant old film star, classy and sophisticated, yet the staff are all polite and friendly- not snobbish. Located right across the street from St. Stephen's Green and just two blocks from Grafton Street, it has an excellent location. It's a 2-5 minute walk to all sorts of places to eat and shop. The HOHO bus stop is just down the street, so it's easy to catch the bus.
Our room was located on the side of the hotel so the only view was of the neighboring building, but the room itself was very comfortable. There was a large vanity area, the room was very quiet (except for fire alarm at 1am, which was a false alarm not initiated by the hotel), the bed was very comfy with good pillows. There was no hot water one morning, but we called the desk and they were very responsive, the problem was solved within 30 minutes.
The only negative was the wifi access. I feel wifi should be free when you're paying over $300 a night, but the Shelbourne charges €20 per day for wifi. There is free wifi in the downstairs bar, but I prefer to use it in my room and I don't feel I should have to pay extra for that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelationsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of The Shelbourne Hotel. We are delighted that you found the hotel elegant and sophisticated. We pride ourselves on the quality of the staff here at the hotel and I am delighted that you found them friendly and polite. As mentioned in previous reviews we are currently looking at and reviewing the policy of our internet service. If you plan to visit Dublin at any point in the future I will be happy to look after you personally so please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind regards,


Raphael Brandou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 149 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
The Westbury
#7 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 149 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel

Property: The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Address: 27 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#15 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price range (per night): $273 - $770
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world famous Shelbourne Hotel is a timeless landmark in the heart of Dublin. Located only 9km from Dublin Airport, The Shelbourne overlooks the magnificent St. Stephen’s Green, and is just seconds from the city’s sights and shops, commerce and culture. But the connection to Ireland’s capital runs far deeper than location. Founded in 1824, The Shelbourne, a Renaissance Hotel is a place where history has been made – the Irish Constitution was drafted, literary masterpieces were penned and society was shaped. Today, as part of the worldwide Renaissance brand, the hotel has been dramatically restored to its full original splendour. Each of the 265 bedrooms are unique, but they all share a sense of charm, style and above all quality…100% Egyptian cotton bedding by Rivolta Carmignani, elegant marble bathrooms with luxury amenities, flat-screen televisions, high speed internet access and climate control. The Shelbourne has 19 beautifully appointed suites, 12 of which are named after famous guests who have stayed at the hotel, such as Princess Grace, John F. Kennedy and Michael Collins and Eamonn De Valera. At the very heart of Dublin’s very best times for almost 200 years, The Shelbourne continues to be the city’s favourite hotel for fine food and drinks in an incomparable environment for generations of Dubliners. The Shelbourne offers a superb choice of dining venues; The Saddle Room, a modern steak and seafood restaurant, The Lord Mayor’s Lounge which serves Dublin’s only true afternoon tea, the renowned Horseshoe Bar and No. 27 Bar & Lounge, the place to see and be seen in Dublin! The hotel features a luxurious Spa offering six treatment rooms, including a suite for two people to share their spa experience together, a manicure and pedicure area as well as an opulent relaxation room. A 17.5m swimming pool, thermal facilities, dance studio and state-of-the-art gymnasium complete the facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelTravel.com, Wotif.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelbourne Hotel Dublin
Shelbourne Dublin
The Shelbourne Dublin Renaissance Hotel
Dublin Hotel Shelbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing