We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,966 results
Traveller rating
866
557
300
135
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
557
300
135
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoctagon bartemple barcleaver east restaurantriver viewthe penthouseupgraded to a suitemini barlovely hotelstreet noisedublin castlethe location is perfecttrinity collegegrafton streetbonoliffeyirelandpubs
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 1,966 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The positives: most of the staff were courteous and helpful, the hotel is located right on the River Liffey and Temple Bar (although that means it’s noisy), the beds and bathrooms are fine, and the restaurant/deli next door is great. The negatives: most everything else. There is virtually no decor. There is no lobby, only a small, spartan sitting room. The elevator fits 4 max, two with luggage. The hotel is not secure. The rooms have no decor. The pullout mattress was prison issue. The air/heat works poorly. We had space heaters in our room which was disconcerting. There were noises from the bars, the street, and lord knows where else. And a couple staff were not very helpful. We knew it was old, but it is advertised as boutique and it is not. It is a mediocre flop suitable for a night of partying but not for families.

Room Tip: Avoid the pullout beds and bring earplugs.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Gumdrop216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We appreciate your opening kind comments about the team here though we are of course disappointed to read the rest of the review, and while we appreciate feedback in all it's forms as it can provide us with opportunity for improvement where possible, I feel it only fair to correct most of the incorrect statements you make in your review. There is a lobby, quite a considerable amount of the ground floor is the lobby and reception area. The lift is an appropriate size for a hotel of only 51 bedrooms and we provide a concierge service so you do not need to transport luggage to and from rooms yourself. The hotel is secure and staffed 24 hours a day. Our rooms are decorated though perhaps in a style that was not to your liking and this differs from "no decor". Additional heaters were placed in your room for your own comfort as it was unusually cold in Ireland at the time of your stay. We are confident that that The Clarence is not mediocre, but simply a hotel that is not the style you may usually go for. We are fully aware that we cannot be to everyone's taste, but to call the hotel a "mediocre flop" is simply not true.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our rooms were ready much earlier than expected which was enormously helpful as we flew in from Philadelphia and arrived, exhausted, around 6:30 am. The desk staff (particularly during the day) are professional, accommodating, and friendly. When we arrived back at the hotel around 1 pm (because honestly we were absolutely delirious at that point) we found our rooms were ready and they had already delivered our bags to the room. The room was lovely, cozy (and NOT in a dusty old way), well appointed and spacious. We had a tiny balcony with two chairs that added to the charm. There was a terrific bathroom--modern and lots of room for makeup and toiletries--plus a deep tub and shower with lovely water pressure. The towels are enormous, they provide a hair dryer and typical amenities like soap, body wash, shampoo, etc. THE BED IS SO COMFORTABLE! I can't stress this enough. I miss it. The room also had a small fridge, mini bar with some snacks and drinks (fee), and plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothes plus a full length mirror. There is a lovely room off the lobby which we dubbed the room of requirement as we used it to meet up, have drinks, and even ate a slice of pizza once from the lovely shop next door (Dollard & Co. will be your new best friend). There is a restaurant attached (something Cleaver?) and we ate brunch and dinner there (pretty good). The hotel even left a large chocolate Easter egg in everyone's room on Saturday which was really nice. I loved it so much and am really glad I stayed there. We were with a group and most of us stayed at the Clarence but I almost chose another spot and finally decided to join the majority and thank God! I will return for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shannon_b21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It was our pleasure to have you stay here at The Clarence over the Easter weekend and it certainly reads as though you enjoyed many aspects of it including Cleaver East. We hope you'll choose to stay here again if you ever visit Dublin in the future and we look forward to making it just as memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The location of the hotel was phenomenal. The concierge and front desk people were extremely helpful and courteous. The room accommodations were beyond my expectations based on the price for the 5th floor. The shower was a little small because of the size of the tub. I would stay here again without thinking twice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stevedoc535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It's great to read such a positive review and that you would stay here at The Clarence again. We hope it's not too long before we welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We were quite disappointed with our stay at the Clarence. The lobby was dated and drab. Most staff were accommodating, although one of the concierge staff was rather rude and unhelpful. Our room was very dated, smelled, and not at all welcoming. We were very disappointed with this hotel, especially for the price we paid. Although the location was close to the Temple Bar area (if you want to be close to that area), there wasn’t much else positive that this hotel offered.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank kandrews74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It's of great concern to us that you found one of our concierge team to be rude and unhelpful and we offer sincere apologies if any communication was mistakenly interpreted this way, as it would never be intended as such.The feedback regarding other elements of your stay that you point out as being disappointing are appreciated though I would counter that some points are a matter of personal taste rather than a shortfall on the part of the hotel. Any matter that raised at the front desk as an issue for you was addressed immediately regardless of the aggressive tone in which the issue was raised, and we also believe we were very accommodating in amending your reservation at extremely short notice during your stay to your benefit.

Despite the above negative comments that were mentioned during your first visit which we re addressed at the time, we were happy to offer you more space to ensure enhanced comfort upon your return visit to us just a few days later, again to your benefit rather than the hotel and it's a pity that this proactive customer service didn't form a positive you say we are lacking in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We stayed at the Clarence Hotel in February for a 3 day break and enjoyed our stay.n The Clarence is only a couple of minutes walk from Temple bar and very close to shops, restaurants and bars. We did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. We did use the bar most evenings and the barman was friendly and chatty. We particularly enjoyed finishing our evenings with a nightcap in the large oak panelled lounge area which was a nice change from the noise and music in Temple Bar. Our room was nice and clean but we did have to keep the window blind down all the time because we were totally overlooked, also the bathroom although very clean was looking a little tired and was in need of updating. The room had a well stocked minibar which included champagne and snacks also a price list so you wouldn't get a massive shock when you checked out. There was also a hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. The room had a small digital safe inside the wardrobe which amused us because it was not bolted down and if we had been burgled, the burglar could simply have put the safe into a bag and scarpered. This did not spoil our visit and we would definitely visit this hotel again.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank steffieb1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PressUpEntertainment, Manager at The Clarence, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Clarence. It certainly reads like you enjoyed your time with us and we are happy to read you would definitely stay here again. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews