We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly fare”
Review of the Clarendon Bar - CLOSED

the Clarendon Bar
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Located on a small street, just a block or two off of one of Dublin's favorite walking and shopping districts. Good food, atmosphere & service.
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Stopped here for a mid-afternoon lunch. Had one of their blackboard specials: shared a half chicken, fries, roasted cherry tomatoes and stuffing followed by a warm brownie. The host had a great sense of humor and was extremely accommodating!

Date of visit: June 2014
Thank islandewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2015

Imagine a cold, miserable Sunday evening after traipsing around Dublin in the sales. All my partner and I wanted was some good Irish pub grub. After walking around for a while being uninspired by the fancy restaurants around Grafton Street we came to the Clarendon Bar. The bar itself is a little quirky as it is very slim and built across a few levels.

For food we both went for the Turkey and Ham roast dinner. By George it was only divine. Maybe it was because I was cold and grumpy, but it did the trick. Kudos to the chef!!

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank noelnoblett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Stopped in for a light bite. Ordered a soup, salad and wings. All were well presented and tasty, and not expensive. Nice pint too. Would return.

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank Betman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Had a lovely meal here, the other half had spotted the steak the previous day so he had to have one. The steak came with hand cut chips (not frozen) mushrooms, onions I decided on the burger which was hand made and blue cheese topping. We weren't disappointed at all. The service was spot on too.

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank conney007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I've eaten here maybe 4 times now. I like it because they always have a good soup with nice thick bread. Good when the kids are with us as well. It is a pub, so sometimes it's a bit louder, especially after work, but we've been there when it's quieter as well. Attentive service, good food, worth stopping by.

Date of visit: June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the Clarendon Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing