We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold and draffty”
Review of Dollard & Co.

Dollard & Co.
Ranked #29 of 115 Quick Bites in Dublin
Price range: USD 1 - USD 100
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We attended on a cold and windy evening. We sat at a table away from the open kitchen area but were directed by the waiter to seats surrounding the open kitchen as "there was a cold draft" at the table we had selected. The temperature was not much better at the kitchen side diner style stools, I had to keep my coat on for the entire meal. It was also somewhat disconcerting that the restaurant dining area is situated in the middle of a food hall where shoppers were busy buying groceries. The food itself was very good but overall a disappointing dining experience. Top tip sit in the cafe area and enjoy a glass of wine and one of the excellent range of open sandwiches and enjoy the heat

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 7vincenth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We spent waaaay too much time in this lovely shop as it was just steps from the Clarence. Go for the scones and coffee, the breakfast, the sandwiches, the fantastic pizza (til 4am!!!) They have breads, cakes, wines, beer--a little of everything. It is really an adorable shop and there are lots of tables so you can eat in if you wish. You order and pay and they bring to your table.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank shannon_b21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great chowder, my husband had the prawn sandwich which was equally good, food around us looked delicious, we ll be back to sample more. Well done.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank gracejohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We popped in for some evening food as the place looked good from the outside. The queue system was initially a bit confusing but we could get over that. The two girls taking the orders at the till were not very friendly and we had to wait for them to finish their conversation before they even acknowledged we were standing in front of them waiting to order.

The food on the menu sounded nice so we were still looking forward to it. We sat down and the food seemed to arrive very quickly after a couple of minutes, I assumed everything would be made fresh and might take some time... I ordered the Penne and my partner ordered the tagliatelle and a flatbread to share. The girl that brought the plates said she had had a Penne and Spaghetti Bolognese.

We mentioned we ordered Penne and tagliatelle so she brought the ‘bolognese’ back. The dish I was left with was a bowl of Fusilli with a piece of chicken sitting on top and not Penne so it was a bit confusing. After a few minutes the girl returned with the same food and said the Spaghetti Bolognese was actually the Tagliatelle.

At this stage we just wanted to eat something. The chicken was undercooked and pink. The fusilli was hard and not cooked; no flavour off the sauce. The Spaghetti Bolognese/ tagliatelle was dry and the pasta was all stuck together as if it had been reheated. The flatbread was actually a very doughy kind of wrap that was just soggy in the middle. We would have complained but there was no staff.

We just left. Totally overpriced terrible food.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DollardandCo, General Manager at Dollard & Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Colin,

Hope you're having a nice day. Thanks for your your feedback. I'm extremely apologetic for the experience you had with us. If you wouldn't mind, could you please email me on colmk@dollardandco.ie and we can try rectify this experience for you.

Thanks,

Colm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

It’s nice to see a food court in Dublin city again.
The chicken and avocado flatbread was deep filled in a fluffy soft flatbread.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank HighOctain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dollard & Co. also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dollard & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing