We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions, wide selection of whiskey”
Review of The Oak

The Oak
Ranked #312 of 2,935 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: USD 0 - USD 17
Description: The Oak - A spot oozing with elegance and old world charm. The Oak is a stunning continental café bar with contemporary Irish food and full drinks menu that effortlessly brings you from day to night.
Restaurant details
Description: The Oak - A spot oozing with elegance and old world charm. The Oak is a stunning continental café bar with contemporary Irish food and full drinks menu that effortlessly brings you from day to night.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Hopped of the hopon/hoppoff bus in the Temple Bar area. We were hungry so stopped in at the first place we saw. Ordered a meat board, cheese board, followed by a salad. Portions were huge - really did not need the salad after the meat and cheese. Very sleepy when we got there in mid afternoon - the only person at the bar was a fellow American tourist. We don't drink whiskey but our American friend was attempting his own person tasting of the vast selection.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

The Oak was our very first pub for food and Guinness in all of Ireland and I am glad for it! Our server, Dylan, was a sweetheart and even checked over our (crazy) itinerary and gave suggestions about what not to miss. Our appetizers were quite lovely and the Guinness divine. Prices weren't too bad, either.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank NutHouseMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

I had my first Guinness ever at The Oak...it wasn’t my last. Had a great sandwich and chips for lunch too. It was quite a few stairs to the bathrooms. Staff was very friendly.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 757SueH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

A great place to stop in for a pint. The interior is exquisite and the bar has a spectacular array of various spirits. I did not have any food but the food that passed by me looked and smelled outstanding.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Got to the bar and was refused service. Yes part of a stag do but sensible enough to understand in mid forties how to behave. This was during day at 5pm

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oak also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing