We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite terrible”
Review of Aghadoe House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aghadoe House B&B
Ranked #64 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quite terrible”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Our stay at this b and b was anything but grand. The pictures on the web are often not what the house looks like and embellish it's true nature. The proprietor watched us like a hawk and we felt not at all at ease. The breakfast tasted like from the local gas station. The rooms were incredibly small and I would never return. I also noticed strange noises during the night and share the feelings that this place is haunted.

The area is far from the city and one must take a bus. The best part of the location was the pub across the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was a small room, but expected in a city B&B. The only complaint I have is that no one was home when we got there, the owner had left a note for us to contact the neighbor to let us in, but it took a bit of bell ringing and it was beginning to rain. Anyhow, everything in this place is tall and narrow, but the only complaint I have is that it sounded like my bathroom was haunted because strange sounds were coming through the vent. Also, apparently they have a car park, but I didn't see it so I had to street park. Someone else complained of no hot water in the morning, but I stayed in room 2 with great water pressure and heat! Overall, it was worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweets786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The room was the smallest of all the B&Bs we stayed in on this trip, but comfortable nonetheless. The owners were very cordial, and the location was sensational. The bus to city center stops right outside the house, and it's a ten minute ride. Plus, there's a hotel across the street with a great pub and friendly people.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest one they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerryftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My mom and I just got back from our trip to Ireland and stayed our last night here. Eugene had tickets waiting for us for the hop on/hop off tour in Dublin and we caught a bus just two doors down that took us into the city in about 10 min. After a long day of touring we were greeted w/a nice hot cup of tea and cookies. The room was small but was very comfortable, clean and was all we needed as we hit the pillows and fell asleep. The drive to Dublin airport couldn't have been easier from this location-I think it took all of 10 minutes! Great location-would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravelers32128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Eugene the host/landlord/inn keeper is "authentic" Ireland We stayed for 4 nights and every breakfast was one of humour, laughter and first class food. It's worth a holiday just to spend time with him. He also makes a mean poached egg!

Ann & Erich Heinze
Tonbridge
Kent

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erich_heinze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Acara House B&B
Acara House B&B
#47 of 149 in Dublin
54 reviews
0.6 km away
Abberley House B&B
Abberley House B&B
#44 of 149 in Dublin
83 reviews
0.3 km away
Botanic Villa
Botanic Villa
#16 of 149 in Dublin
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Botanic View B & B
Botanic View B & B
#2 of 149 in Dublin
757 reviews
0.3 km away
Egans House
Egans House
#24 of 149 in Dublin
449 reviews
0.4 km away
Avoca House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe House B&B

Property: Aghadoe House B&B
Address: 77 Botanic Road | Glasnevin, Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests are welcome to our family run B&B in Dublin. Come and live with us in our Edwardian townhouse where we hope you will have a comfortable stay. We have double, twin and triple rooms, all of which have own shower room, TV. After a good night's rest we hope you will enjoy breakfast. You can select from Full Irish Breakfast, Small Irish Breakfast, Vegegarian Breakfast or Continental Breakfast.Then it's time to explore The National Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin Museum and enjoy various Exhibitions, Tours and investigate the Genealogy section. After all that its time to visit Dublin City Centre, so why not take the Hop-on Hop-off City Tour. We can organise tickets for this tour if required. Dont miss "The Book of Kells", Trinity, College, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Guinness Storehouse and Kilmainham Gaol, just to mention a few. In the evenings you can then visit Temple Bar and soak in traditional Irish music over a drink or have a nice meal from one of the many restaurants. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing