We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, peaceful and stunning views!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Booking-Com Award Winner 2015 Rosswood House Driveway and Wonderful Sea Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Booking-Com Award Winner 2015
Rosswood House Driveway and Wonderful Sea Views
Rosswood House as Seen on a Winters Snowy Morning
View over Donegal Bay as Seen from Front Upsatirs Kind Bedroom
Ground Floor Hallway
Ground Floor Hallway Coming Down Stairs
Spacious Ground Floor Hallway with Magnificent Sea views
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen & Centre Island
Kitchen & Dining Area
Alfrank Dining Room Table & Chairs Luxury Dining
Dining Area Rosswood House
Living Room / Lounge
Open Fire living Room / Lounge
Upstairs Hallway & DvD Library & Books
Upstairs Bathroom
King Bedroom Rear of House
King Bedroom Front of House Sea Views & Forst Views .. Bay Windows En Suite
Twin Bedroom Rear of House
Historic Donegal Town Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Donegal Town, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cdevine20...
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unfortunatley I would not recommed this property”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful view and large spacious house which is well decorated and equipped. However house was very cold and you do not have access to heating control but have to contact owner to get him to come and put heating on, which he eventually did. Our first night was pretty miserable when we came home from family wedding to a very cold house (despite having asked him earlier to heat house) with no means of putting on heating. After another call to the owner next day he eventually came and set heating for longer and advised us where to get fuel to light a fire. One ensuite bathroom was locked and other ensuite has shower cubicle but no shower fitting on wall. This left one shower between nine of us staying in this house. And he owes us 10 Euro which he said he would give us before we left and when we asked for it he said he was away and would post it to us?? I have never left a bad review before but have to say that my weekend was spoiled due to the latter.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
House is exactly as advertised. One Ensuite bathroom with Toilet & Sink
Main Bathroom with Bath , Shower , and Double Sinks..
Second Ensuite is not finished nor is it advertised on Website the Family booked thru. regarding Heating An open Fire was provided and Complimentary Turf Provided.. It's Strange to see such a negative Post. Had Guest read the property Description properely they would have seen what was provided
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, UK
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nickybooy
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location,Location”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Majestic views over Donegal Bay make this property a truely special gem. The house is well equiped with all the comforts of a home. Peaceful and private location with easy access and great water walk. We enjoyed the slow paced feel and farmlands. If you are looking to recharge your batteries, Rosswood is perfect. Thanks Gareth.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your Kind Words.. It was lovely welcoming Visitors from South Africa. I appreciate how Wonderful the Scenery is in South Africa having visited many times, I am so delighted you loved the location and the Scenery around Rosswood House.. It is truly beautiful as you have highlighted, Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve c
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nearly perfect”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

big manor style house with beautiful views and fantastic location. Clearly house had plumbing problem 18 months ago leaving only one poor electric shower for the whole house. Leak. NEEDS this small issue fixing as asap.
Seating for 4 adults in living room most un-comfortable for us in our 50s... great for two people to lounge on, but not 4 to sit on.
Needs Leather 3 seater recliner and 2 seater recliner to be PERFECT.
NEEDs a small amount of money spending to bring it back to the standard in was built to...
THAT SAID. Gareth at the end of the phone MOST helpful and his sister and partner helped bring a chair from other property for one us to sit on. VERY appreciated. Very helpful. THANKS to them. Left us alone private which is what we like.... didn't pester us. Thanks.
Would we stay again?? ABSOLUTLY!!!!!
EVERY year for 15 yrs, we holiday in Fermanagh or Donegal and this place is NOW our FIRST choice. and we been in some GREAT places. ID highly recommend this holiday let BUT NOT in January because that's when we want to hire it. haha.

IVE RATED THE HOUSE BUT LEFT OUT THE BATHROOM. I ve explained that so don't want to leave poor rate.....
What ive written Is ONLY my Opinion!!!
If you want somewhere Quiet But close to amenities then look NO further than this house.
it is both beautiful and imposing and relaxing. HIRE with CONFINDENCE...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Nearly Everything
Liked least: Seating in living room
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thank you for the Feedback. Looking forward to seeing you January 2016 Steve
All Feedback appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely family get together in amazing house”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

What a lovely house, and fantastic facilities throughout the house very spacious rooms which would facilitate up to 10 people. Waking up to such beautiful scenery was a highlight i was their with my family of 8 and the house did not feel crowded at all we spent most of our time at the house with the turf fire burning are out on long walks , the town is only 7 minutes away by car , but such amazing warm house we rarely left it , already planning our next visit .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and facilities
Liked least: nothing everything was fabulous
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.. Would love to welcome you all back again. 42" tv now installed for next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;