We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Irish Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Rhu-Gorse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donegal Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhu-Gorse
Ranked #28 of 42 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Barcelona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best Irish Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 August 2007

If you are looking for a quiet place with beatiful views, with no noices, and far away from the city (9km), this is your place in Donegal. We have booked the Rhu-Gorse because we have seen good references and after our visit we totally agree with them. Rhu Gorse is located just in front of the Lough Eske you can see it from the windows. Gráinne, is the owner, and she is very nice, she prepares one of the best Irish breakfast we have tasted. We will totally recomend you stay at the Rhu-Gorse.

  • Liked — The room and the views
  • Disliked — How to arrive.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alba30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moss Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Rhu Gorse is located on a wooded slope about 400 feet above Lough Eske, about 10 miles from the town of Donegal. It’s a modern house in a rural setting, with lovely views of the lake. Extraordinarily quiet. We took all three rooms. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are a bit too firm for my taste, and the bathrooms are large and modern with beautiful tile. One room has a shower/bath combo, another has a shower “ensuite,” and the last has a bathroom with shower just outside the door. When we arrived proprietor Graine (pronounced Grahn-ya) McGettigan provided tea and cookies, pound cake, and homemade scones. The B&B is great for animal lovers, as there are 3 horses, 3 cats and Mac the Red Setter. Being in the country, the midges can be a problem outdoors, and beware of ticks if you wander through the grass in the area.

Though appearing somewhat nervous, Graine was very helpful in her recommendations for sightseeing and for restaurants and pubs. However, we did have an unpleasant experience on our second day, when we mentioned at breakfast that we’d be going out for the day, but our daughter and her boyfriend would be staying home (they were tired of driving and needed a day of rest). Graine’s reaction was inappropriate and unexpected – she said, “Oh, I don’t like that. I’m going out and I don’t like anyone staying here when I’m away.” My daughter felt pressured to leave, but really didn’t want to accompany us on another 3 or 4 hour excursion on small, winding roads. I insisted she remain at Rhu Gorse. Graine stayed until my daughter and her boyfriend announced they were going for a walk, at which point Graine said she’d be going out and would be back in an hour and a half. Granted that this B&B is a family home, but if the proprietor is understaffed or distrustful of the guests, then he or she should not be in business. And if the guest is required to leave during the day, that should be made plain at the time of booking, and a discount should be provided for the hours spent away from the B&B. It was altogether unprofessional and ruined the stay for me, despite it’s high recommendations by Trip Advisor and Georgina Campbell’s Ireland guide.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank mossbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2007

If you go to Donegal stay at the Rhu Gorse. It is out in the countryside by Lough Eske. Beautiful setting and your hostess will make you feel very special. The views of the lake and mountains are wonderful. The walking trails are great. The City of Donegal was very interesting. We had a great time. You can go west from there and drive the coastline and it is awesome.

Roy and Judy Fitzsimmons

Helpful?
3 Thank Royjudy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at Rhu-Gorse for two nights end of september 2006.

It is an extraordinary B&B - well hidden, but absolutly worth finding it !

The panoramic views outside the big window-front of our room was breathtaking : Loch Eske and the encircling mountains !!

The accommodation was superb :
our room was very clean and compfortable , the atmosphere peaceful and calm.

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast overlooking the Loch Eske.

For us, it wa a wonderful stay and we appreciated an excellent hospitality !

  • Liked — panoramic views - clean and compfortable accommodation
  • Disliked — -
  • Tips/Secrets — -
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank renaissance_2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2006

What a wonderful time we had in Donegal! Rhu Gorse, high in the woods overlooking Loch Eske was one of our favorite places in Ireland. Grainne McGettigan, our host was wonderful. Arriving a bit too early, we were warmly welcomed and put in the sitting room overlooking the lake with a tray of tea, brown bread, butter and jam.
Our host suggested a visit to Slieve League, probably the least well know and most beautiful scenery in Ireland. Our return after supper was greeted with glasses of wine and breakfast was a friendly round table of guests from Europe. There was nothing more that could have been done for us in this beautiful place. Do check out their website.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank rogeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donegal Town hotels
2.1 km away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
400 reviews
5.9 km away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
819 reviews
5.6 km away
Eske Villa B&B
Eske Villa B&B
#9 of 42 in Donegal Town
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Eas Dun Lodge
Eas Dun Lodge
#6 of 42 in Donegal Town
129 reviews
17.8 km away
The Heeneys Lodge
The Heeneys Lodge
#17 of 42 in Donegal Town
59 reviews
1.8 km away
Drumcorroy House B&B
Drumcorroy House B&B
#8 of 42 in Donegal Town
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu-Gorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu-Gorse

Property: Rhu-Gorse
Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing