We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,921)
Filter reviews
4,921 results
Traveller rating
4,489
327
73
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,489
327
73
22
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse lakeshore suite noel cunningham cookery demonstration wine tasting reading room lough eske executive room classical music jacuzzi bath sunday carvery first class attention to detail out of this world second to none turf fires lake view
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 4,921 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This feels like a classy place though the architecture may be a little naff. You feel comfortable here in spacious surroundings no matter what the weather is outside. And this being a place of scudding clouds there is always some time in the day that you can take walks in the stunning countryside and coastline. The restaurant is a big treat but be sure to book. It would be good if an a la carte could be included because the menu does not change but the fixed price is reasonable for such quality cooking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharefeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We appreciate your views on all aspects of your experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again sometime, and that the sun will shine on the magical beauty of Donegal and Lough Eske on that occasion.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

It was wonderful to return once again to Harvey's Point. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, greeting us by name on arrival to welcome us back and quickly fulfilling any requests. The new Terrace extension is beautiful as is the extension to the reading room. Rooms, food, and sheer comfort in a beautiful setting were everything we expected from this wonderful place. It was good to chat with Deidre at breakfast and be assured that there will be no TV in any bars! Harvey's is a very special place and we hold it dear in our hearts. It has a marvellous ambience and attentiveness to guest so we hope it will not expand much more in case this gets lost! Once again that you to Deidre and the magnificent staff at Harvey's Point for looking after my parents and ourselves so well during our stay. See you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but a lakeside view is special
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _mrslatchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Dave & Fiona,

As always, it was truly our pleasure to welcome you back to Harvey's Point - your 'home from home'. Thank you for your kind compliments which are very much appreciated.

On a personal note, I always enjoy our wee chats. And I can assure you that the screen in 'Memories' will be used rather to showcase the stunning scenery of Donegal and the Wild Atlantic Way on certain, select occasions or events. We have run Harvey's Point for almost thirty years without a TV in the bar! It's too late to start now :-)

The focus on the future is fine tuning what we have and making sure that each and every guest enjoys an exceptional experience and magical memories of Harvey's Point. Please give our warmest wishes and kind regards to yourselves and to the charming Mr & Mrs O' Hare.


Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I have wanted to visit Harvey's Point for about 3 years now, sometimes when you build something up in your head the reality falls below the expectation. Not here, everything was really just fantastic. Easily the best thing about the hotel are it's lovely staff, most seemed to be locals of Donegal. They couldn't do enough for you and had a great sense of pride in what they do. The sesting area over looking Lough Eske was so serene. The meals were faultless, I had lambs cheek for the first time and it was delicious! The Octagon bar could fit in anywhere amongst the best bars in the world. The walks around the hotel are so scenic and relaxing. A must visit and somewhere I will certainly return too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eimear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Eimear,

Thank you very much for your super review. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Harvey's Point and that you plan to return. The warmest of welcomes awaits once again.

In the meantime, may I extend our warmest wishes and kind regards on behalf of the Gysling family and the entire team, each of whom play their part in making Harvey's Point such a special place.


Kind regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

HP has such a phenomenal reputation that we were keen to try it out. we stayed 2 nights. I think we got an upgrade because our room was more of a suite. It was colossal, the biggest hotel room I have ever stayed in, and the furnishings were fantastic. I'm sounding churlish now, but the view of the car park wasn't as amazing :-). The thing is, because the place has such an amazing reputation, we found ourselves looking for faults which I know is totally the wrong way to go about things. There were weddings on while we stayed there, and I think weddings might be a lot of their business. On our first night there was an inebriated wedding guest hollering at the top of their voice in the car park for at least 20 minutes, which wasn't great. The hotel seems to cater to an affluent American tourist, and it does that very well. The food was good, but not the 'stellar' we were expecting from friends who had been. In the hallways towards the restaurant there are loads of floral paintings from the mother of the hotel founder (I think), pictures of flowers and stuff. They're very nice but there are loads of them and they're crammed together on the walls with very ornate frames, which gives a slightly overwhelming feeling. See what I mean about looking for faults? Our room was amazing though...

Room Tip: Get a view over the lake if you can. The suites are vast.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulidilge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed account of your recent visit to Harvey's Point. Please be assured that we really appreciate guest feedback that provides us with a balanced overview of the customer experience.

It's great to know that you were impressed by the standard and size of accommodation and the overall hotel experience. Your other comments are indeed noted and will be discussed at our weekly management meeting.

We are very aware of the need to meet and exceed expectations, and to live up to our reputation for excellence in hotel-keeping and hospitality. Therefore, please be assured that we treat your review with utmost seriousness. Thank you for sharing your views with us.

Kind regards,

Deirdre & Marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Went there at last minute decision after very stressful few weeks, couldn't have been more better as the just what the doctor ordered type of thing that I was looking for. Staff there absolutely brilliant friendly professional and so very welcoming. We stayed in one of their lakeshore lodge and although the weather was not great the room and the ambience was wonderful. We had dinner included and I must say it was fantastic as was the breakfast next day. I was only dissatisfied that o had ate the breakfast because their famous Sunday carvery was served up later that day. No ordinary carvery more of a complete fantastic show with foods from all over the world all cooked to perfection. They also have super entertainment and a super bar. Such a refreshing stay in a beautiful location, I cannot wait to return. If I could find one fault it would be no leisure centre but there again rumour has it there is a state of the are one in the pipe line so sincere thanks to all the family and staff that run this wonderful establishment. Well done one in a million

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JackyMDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jacky,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a super review, following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. We are thrilled to receive such positive feedback, which we will proudly share with our dedicated team.

It is richly rewarding to know that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing stay and that you have returned home with batteries recharged.

We look forward to taking care of you again, should you have occasion to return. The warmest of welcomes awaits.

Kind regards,

Deirdre, Marc & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews