We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That Crunchie dessert...!”

Quay West Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 71 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 35
Description: Situated opposite Donegal Pier and just over 100 metres from the town centre, this award winning, vibrant and contemporary restaurant offers stunning views of Donegal Bay. The emphasis is on championing local produce, the menu features Chargrilled Aubrac Beef, Donegal Mountain Lamb, Fresh Killybegs Seafood with a licensed bar serving innovative cocktails, local craft beers, artisan distilled spirits and an extensive wine list. A warm Donegal welcome awaits you at Quay West. Some of our awards and accolades include "Ireland the Best" 2018, John and Sally McKenna Guides "Best in Ireland 2018", John and Sally McKenna Guides "Best Casual Dining in Ulster 2018", YesChef Awards "Great Places to Eat", Lucinda O'Sullivan
Restaurant details
Description: Situated opposite Donegal Pier and just over 100 metres from the town centre, this award winning, vibrant and contemporary restaurant offers stunning views of Donegal Bay. The emphasis is on championing local produce, the menu features Chargrilled Aubrac Beef, Donegal Mountain Lamb, Fresh Killybegs Seafood with a licensed bar serving innovative cocktails, local craft beers, artisan distilled spirits and an extensive wine list. A warm Donegal welcome awaits you at Quay West. Some of our awards and accolades include "Ireland the Best" 2018, John and Sally McKenna Guides "Best in Ireland 2018", John and Sally McKenna Guides "Best Casual Dining in Ulster 2018", YesChef Awards "Great Places to Eat", Lucinda O'Sullivan
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We went to Quay West during our only night in Donegal Town, and we are so glad we picked it! We both ordered the burger, which was cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious. However, it was the Crunchie dessert that left us completely speechless...so simple, yet so heavenly! It must have been obvious how much we enjoyed it because the lovely waitress (whose name I didn't catch unfortunately) topped it up for us for free! Top-notch service and food alike - we hope to be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jennycefai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie O, Owner at Quay West Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear jennycefai,

Thank you most sincerely for your super review. We are honoured to receive such positive feedback and high praise. It is always our goal to exceed expectations and it's great to know that we are delivering on that promise to our discerning guests.

Rest assured that we will remain focused on maintaining and even improving our standards in our restaurant.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. The warmest of welcomes awaits.

Kindest Regards

Jo, Debbie and The Quay West Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We went on our last evening in the town, it was a save the best till last moment. I started with a seafood platter of crab claws with prawns and it was a delight, the sauce was to die for. My girlfriend had chicken wings and they were more is has can be. Two steaks followed both perfectly mid-rare and the whiskey sauce I could have drank a pint of.

A definite spot for food lovers in the town. Stylishly decorated which is a nice change from the much themed pubs of the town (not a complaint)

Well done team

2  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie O, Owner at Quay West Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Jay M,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you were impressed with your recent visit to Quay West. It is most rewarding and encouraging to receive such positive feedback. Thank for your very kind comments regarding your meal, we are so fortunate to have such wonderful produce on our doorstep!

Please be assured that we will maintain our focus on delivering the highest possible standards of delicious food and customer care to our discerning guests. We will continue to aspire to be the best that we can blended with genuine Irish hospitality.


It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again sometime in the not too distant future. In the meantime, we extend our thanks once again and our warmest wishes.

Kindest Regards

Jo, Debbie and The Quay West Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Family meal at Quay West with a young child. Staff were really friendly and accommodating! Had a beautiful steak. Everyone enjoyed their food! Would highly recommend!

1  Thank SB_6102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie O, Owner at Quay West Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear SB_6102,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at Quay West and your wonderful 5 star review! Your very kind compliments are genuinely appreciated by the entire team, I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quay West sometime very soon.

Kindest Regards

Jo, Debbie and The Quay West Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

What a beautiful restaurant and atmosphere made feel so welcome food was just beautiful and more than enough Joe is such a lovely lady thank you Joe for spending time with us we really enjoyed your company as for the waiter sorry I forget your name but you are a lovely queline quy we can't wait to return soon . Thank you angela hannon xx

1  Thank patjoe1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie O, Owner at Quay West Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear patjoe1111,

We are genuinely delighted that you have captured the essence of Quay West in terms of hospitality, service and food. Thank you for your lovely compliments and for taking the time to write your wonderful review.

Tomas, your waiter joins us in thanking you for your delightful comments. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again sometime. The warmest of Donegal welcomes awaits. In the meantime, we send you our very best wishes.

Kindest Regards

Jo, Debbie and The Quay West Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Might be one of the nicest steaks we have ever eaten but as good as the food was the service took the experience to a whole new level! The owner, Jo made a point of coming to the table to introduce herself and have a bit of craic with us all which is a really lovely touch so if you’re in Donegal town don’t miss it!

1  Thank Maca45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie O, Owner at Quay West Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Maca45,

Sincere thanks for posting your wonderful 5 star review of our restaurant. We are all very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your meal and service with us at Quay West.
We are delighted that you really enjoyed the craic and banter with Jo!
Thank you so much for your good wishes and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Jo, Debbie and The Quay West Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quay West Restaurant also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Quay West Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing