We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hostel”

Cork International Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cork International Hostel
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Stayed here with some friends from work while visiting the city. This hostel has a ZERO fun policy. It was a Saturday night and the staff were grumpy and uninterested. There was just a very bad atmosphere in this place. Not one person smiling.
Room was ok, nothing special. Bathroom was not clean and looked like it would take some serious work to get clean.... none of us opted to shower there.
So we decided the best thing to do was to just get out of there for the night. Went out, had a fun night.....
And at 2am we returned happy and laughing and we are quickly reminded of the no fun policy. Grumpy staff shouting at us. So we creep to our room and as none of us are tired we sit in bed chatting and we hear loud banging on the ceiling. Apparently the staff are sleeping above us. So we quite down a bit but continue to talk and after 10 minutes a staff member comes storming into our room and starts shouting at us to "keep the noise down"............ We also heard them giving out to other guests. No warning, No asking nicely....... just straight into shouting and storming around being the epitome of misery.
These guys have no idea how to handle working and living in a hostel.
This is a hostel in the center of the city............. on a Saturday night and these guy are freaked over the smallest bit of noise.
So yeah, really glad we only stayed one night. Will never stay again

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShayKitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2016

This was a value for money hostel. Distance was close to parks, to UCC college and downtown. But nothing more. We even had to "rent" our towels.
Wifi was reachable only downstairs.
Stuff was nice and good.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Thanasis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This was our least favorite hostel while traveling across Ireland. Parking was pretty much impossible. We were told by locals that it was a questionable area and to take everything out of our car. The room was very basic, with bars on the window. It ended up being quiet but we decided to not stay a second night. Only good thing was the cheap price.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clickchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and the rooms were warm and clean. The price was more than reasonable. I've seen reviews moaning about the distance from the city centre, I don't understand why, it's only 15 mins to walk or less than 5 mins on a bus. My only tiny issue is that the large breakfast purchased for €6.50 really wasn't very large at all.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank sjallen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

This hostel was nothing special but it did the trick. The rooms were clean and it was usually quite quiet. However, the kitchen seriously lacked supplies. Many times there was not one single sharp knife to be found and there were very limited pots and pans, making it incredibly difficult to prepare any sort of meal. The front desk staff/cook was willing to lend out the knife from their personal kitchen but with so many people trying to cook and share one knife it made for tricky times. It is about a fifteen minute walk from the central area of town but there is good bus service on the street out front. It's also only a five minute walk from a small grocery store. I definitely would not rush back here and would probably look for something a bit more central but it was a fine place to stay while in Cork!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Shandon
Kinlay House Hostel
Kinlay House Hostel
#12 of 21 in Cork
360 reviews
Sunday's Well
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#13 of 21 in Cork
15 reviews
Sheilas
#18 of 21 in Cork
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Country House B@b
#10 of 21 in Cork
3 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cork International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cork International Hostel

Address: 1 & 2 Redclyffe, Western Rd, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: $77 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cork International Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cork International Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing