We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel in Cork”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kinlay House Hostel
Ranked #14 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Now you may think I can't make this claim, but having stayed in every hostel in Cork and probably 90% of the hotels here I can. Kinlay House is the best and CLEANEST! Even beats some of the cheap end hotels I have stayed in here. Probably the cleanest hostel in any big city in Ireland... and for some unknown reason many hostels and hotels are just plain nasty in this country but the great Irish people make up for it.

Kinlay is a bit out of the way up the hill from the bus and train stations and a bit tough to find your first time here, but its well worth it. Just stop by and ask the friendly locals or save yourself the hassle and jump in a cab for a few euro. The front desk staff have always been friendly and usually ask you how your stay is (which is surprising in a hostel) one employee even brought my bag up the stairs for me when I checked in! They can book some tours and happy to give suggestions on where to go.

I like the location in Shandon because its convenient to the city centere and the train and bus station its more quiet than the hotels and hostels on McCurtain or St Patricks street. There is also a great little Chinese take away (Jumbo Chinese) and a few corner shops down the street heading away from the city centere that I would recommend and save the trek back down the hill. While the area may appear a bit sketchy late at night I've never had a problem, even walking alone in the middle of the night.

The hostels has a tv room with cable, bit rundown, but is clean and cozy. Free wifi in the tv room, dining room/kitchen and a lot of the hostel. The kitchen is fairly well stocked with utencils and two fridges for guest food. Guests get private rooms with or without a bathroom and most shared dorm rooms have a sink far as I have seen. Shared bathrooms are usually almost spotlessly clean and you don't want to immediately pour alcohol over your foot and possible set it on fire if it happens to touch the floor. Beds are even usually comfortable and blankets provided are warm. While the upper floors tend to seem to be a bit colder there are radiators in the rooms and seem to stay decently warm even in the middle of winter. You can even hire a towel if you didn't bring one.

The am breakfast is simple, but does the trick. If you don't like it you can always grab some somewhere else or make your own in the kitchen.

After staying in all the hostels in Cork this is my favorite!

Room Tip: I am sure whatever your seeking just let the staff know and they will try their best to accommodate...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amber1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Kinlay House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here recently with a group of friends and i cannot recommend this place enough!!
From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by kind and efficient staff. The hostel itself is located in the most historical part of the city.... Shandon, and it is within less 5 minutes walk to the city centre.
We stayed in one of the en-suite dorms which were very comfortable, clean and very spacious.
They have WIFI access, internet stations and even the light breakfast is included in your price..great!!
For me, the friendliness, location and service makes this hostel the best i have stayed in Ireland.
You can even take tours to the cliffs of Moher, ring of Kerry and Blarney! which we did.. The Cliffs of Moher tour was breathtaking.. well recommended!
Kinlay House Cork
WE SHALL RETURN!!!!!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank taylorfancork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here for a week while in cork and really enjoyed my stay.. Staff were very helpful.... Free Wi Fi and a free tour to the Cliffs of moher , Happy days . Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Theshot11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We are a mature couple and had a pleasant stay at Kinlay House when visiting Cork. Yes, rooms need of revamp but we were given a spacious double ensuite although basic it is a hostel, for the price it was fine. Cork centre not too far away, around 15 mins and walk back at night fine. Staff were nice and cheerful. What we saved on staying here we used on a fantastic meal for the family! There is a nice lounge (stays open till 1am) and well equip internet room. If you are looking for luxury don't stay here, if you are looking for a friendly place with atmosphere this is your place!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here for one night and agree that place needs bit of an update. Room stayed in was very basic but guess ok if thats what your after and to be fair showers were nice and hot. Guy at desk seemed helpful enough and decent internet room if needed it at all. Bit outside of the town but would imagine not that dear if needed to jump in a cab. Overall basic but serves its purpose well enough.

Room Tip: The twin ensuite had a bunkbed with double at the bottom and a single at the top, also a seperate si...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antek33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,644 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,561 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
555 reviews
Ashley Hotel
#23 of 23 in Cork
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cork

Been to Kinlay House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House Hostel

Address: Bob And Joan's Walk | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: $49 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kinlay House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre Hostel with friendly relaxed vibe. Free Light Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi. Facilities include - a wonderful TV Lounge, large self-catering kitchen, garden, secure bicycle lock-up, net cafe, laundry service.Day Tours to the Cliffs of Moher, Blarney Castle / Cobh / Kinsale, the Ring of Kerry depart daily... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kinlay House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing