We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were two friends travelling a weekend in Dublin. We found this hotel which is located only a few minutes from O'Connell Street - one of the main streets of Dublin.

We arrived from the airport with bus - both bus 16A and bus 747 stops in the vicinity of the hotel. This was very convenient.

The hotel staff was friendly, the room was clean and we also got a spacious room. Some parts of the hotel was a little worn down. DUring our stay we had to request some help for some minor adjustments in our room and the staff did this very fast and to our satisfaction. The overall impression of the hotel was good.

For us it gave great value for money, it was close to main attractions, shopping areas and several bus stops. To walk to Grafton street it took approx 20 min.

It was possible to store our luggage at the hotel and our impression was that the staff took good care of the luggage - it looked safe.

We recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear reviewer,

I am delighted you had a nice stay at this hotel, and i hope you enjoyed your time in Ireland. This review unfortunately is for another hotel in Dublin, but please feel free to visit us in Cork the next time you are in Ireland.

Thank you,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

880 - 884 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

2 night city break for myself and my wife from 10th - 12th March 2012. Excellent hotel with most efficient and friendly staff. We stayed on B&B basis but on both evenings we dined in the Bar area of the hotel as the atmosphere was great,extensive menu choice and the food prices more than reasonable. We both had a most enjoyable and relaxing break and will certainly be returning at some future date (hopefully not too distant as Cork is a lovely city)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you kindly for posting such a positive review of our hotel following your last visit to Cork. I am delighted our facilities made such a positive impression on you, as did our wonderful city. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Average hotel.Most staff friendly. Good views. Very good food. 10 minute walk to city, but be prepared for hills and be prepared for a good walk to your room if you're in the new part of the hotel. No direct lift to second floor

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for posting a review following on from your stay, I was hoping you could make contact with me to discuss this review, as it leaves me wondering, why it recieved such a low rating from yourself. I hope you can find the time to contact me,

Kind Regards,
Chris Crowley
021 4539000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked 2 rooms for a 3 night package for a family reunion at the ambasador hotel, the hotel staff were great,from the reception to the dining room, we ate there on 2 of the nights and have to say the food was 4 star, try the lamb steak, also the breakfast was plentifull with a great choice, its always good to have a menu to read from with choices such as kippers and porridge.
For the price we paid for the rooms we got a 4star hotel with old world charm that could not be beaten for value.

Room Tip: great views at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for posting sucha positive review of our hotel and facilities, and I am delighted you believe you recieved value for money. I will be sure to pass your comments to the reception and restaurant teams. Hopefully you will consider The Ambassador Hotel in Cork, for your next trip.

Thank you again,

Kind Regards,

Chris Crowley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I was very impressed by the outside of this hotel, very nice old style red bricked hotel. Once inside the old style continued. Staff in reception were very friendly and helpful and directed us to our room in a very efficient manor. Our room(the only down side) was situated in the new part of the hotel and was quite a walk, up a flight of stairs then walk to the end of the corridor in the old part of the hotel up another flight of stairs and another bit of a walk to our room at the end of the corridor. They do have lifts in the hotel but are really really slow. It was a nice and very clean room, with plenty of room. We went out in Cork that evening and decided after speaking to a manager on duty to walk into the city it took us about 20 mins to get to our restaurant. It was a nice walk and we felt perfectly safe. After our night out we returned to the hotel, the front door was locked, we were left in by a very friendly bar man who encouraged us to the bar for a night cap. We had a lovely chat with him.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent, we could choose what we wanted from the menu for the hot breakfast and it was freshly made, with some cereals, bread, fruit, cold meats and juices as a buffet for us aswell. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and we would probably return although we will probably ask for a room in the front of the hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel near the front are easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Analot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Montenotte
Clarion Collection The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork

Address: The Ambassador Hotel Military Hill | St Lukes, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cork
#10 Business Hotel in Cork
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price Range: $130 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive facade of this wonderful red brick Victorian building gives any visitor a sense of the rich history of the area and a clear example of 1870’s Irish architecture at its best. It is not surprising therefore to find that The Ambassador Hotel offers quality service, professionalism and the comfort of our guests are at the forefront of our minds at all times. Experience all that Cork has to offer from the luxury of one of the City’s best loved hotels where we feel certain you will want to return again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel And Health Club
Best Western Cork
Cork Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing