We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Maryborough Hotel (just average).” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Maryborough Hotel (just average).”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We looked forward to staying at the Hotel from the outset however, when we were trying to seek information with a view to booking the last (standard) inter-connecting room was given out and as a result we couldn't travel as we needed the interconnecting room. Due to this procedural error we were moved up to an executive inter-connecting room and we were happy with this and the fact that we were now going to stay. However on the day of travel we were informed that there was a wedding on and due to the noise it wasn't recommended that we stay overhead of the wedding below and that an (standard) interconnecting room was now available in a quieter part of the Hotel (this is what we initially sought). We stayed for the two nights and found all the Staff friendly and helpful. We ordered breakfast to the room two mornings and on both mornings (to be fair) it wasn't up to standard. The lift up and down to rooms was very sluggish. We had meals at the bar, breakfast in the rooms, and the main meal in the room on Saturday night. As part of our package (3) three adults had been paid for however they clearly only included two (2) and NOT three(3) I didn't mention to Staff at the time as I wasn't sure enough but when returned home today I checked the online booking and wasn't happy. All the family found the portions of food very small but the food was lovely so it was a pity that larger portions were not given. We found that the food and drinks were expensive enough and NOT value for money. The waiting for meals to was off-putting and decided ti was best to have our meals in the rooms. The (standard) interconnecting rooms were good no bother they met all requirements that you would expect. My wife and daughter had two SPA treatments and both said that Staff and treatments were "100 per cent" ...."Brilliant". The Hotel is close to Douglas Shopping Center and ATM's which cater for all Cash Cards (a few minutes down the road). Would we go back? Unfortunately ........NO.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magpie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra O, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Magpie35,

First of all thank you for taking the time to review the Maryborough Hotel & Spa, I am most disappointed to read that your stay was not to your overall satisfaction.

Your feedback in regards the service and breakfast has been passed on to the relevant department managers and will be dealt with in a serious manner.

We really do appreciate all feedback both positive and negative. If you would care to discuss your experience in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via e-mail debra@maryborough.ie

I look forward to hearing from you in due course. I would hope that you might consider returning to us and I really would love the opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail.

Warmest Regards

Debra O Sullivan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,078
    435
    177
    78
    35
See reviews for
381
789
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I had high expectations for my stay unfortunately it did not meet them. I purchased a spa package including one night stay and a 4 course meal in the restaurant. The restaurant was closed the night I stayed so I ate in the bar. From memory almost half the menu had supplement prices if you were staying with a package deal. This is not specified when booking a package and so technically the meal is only included if you choose from the choices with no supplement which is half the menu. My starter was Luke warm while my mains was "well done" to the point of being tough and hard. My vegetables side order was also Luke warm and slightly undercooked. If I compare my stay to a variety of 4 star hotels I have stayed in, I was disappointed. Value for money is not great in my opinion. I have stayed in better standard rooms for less. The food was almost average, not what you might expect for a 4 star hotel. Maybe the restaurant is better?! If it is different regarding value for money I wouldn't know as I booked my package believing I was eating in the restaurant not the bar. On the up side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Poorly signposted, without my sat nav I would have struggled to find it. I went there hoping to be impressed with the possibility of future corporate business stays, unfortunatIely it didn't do what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerExplorerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra O, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Dollybead,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very disappointed to read you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Firstly I would just like to apologise for the below par service you received in regards to your food and assure you this is not the level of service we pride ourselves on here at the Maryborough Hotel. Please be assured that all your feedback has been taken on board and I have already met with our Head Chef to discuss your comments and review our food quality.

With regards the supplements in Zings restaurant, in most hotels you will find that certain dishes have supplements attached, however we also offer dishes with no supplements so it does depend on what you have. Zings restaurant is now opened Tuesday through to Saturday.

I do hope you will return to the Maryborough hotel & Spa, if you would like to speak to me in more detail regards your stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly. We take it very seriously when any guest is disappointed leaving so I would be delighted to look after you personally on your next visit should you decide to return.

Warmest Regards,

Debra O Sullivan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed with family with two young children, from checking in till departure, staff were excellent, had difficulty with room which was efficiently looked after. Great location away from cith but close enough to most attractions .

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinkyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra O, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Dingerb,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel and also for choosing to stay with us at Maryborough Hotel & Spa.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again to Maryborough Hotel & Spa, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Debra O Sullivan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

although it was winer, it was a very comfortable stay, spacious rooms and friendly staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosalindaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra O, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear RosalindaBelgium,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel and also for choosing to stay with us at Maryborough Hotel & Spa.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again to Maryborough Hotel & Spa, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards

Debra O Sullivan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

A group of 5 went to Maryborough for the weekend 24th March.some of us were only staying one night but even after check out we could use the spa facilities and lounged around the hotel having dinner there prior to travelling back to Dublin. The hotel is fabulous with well maintained gardens which the bar/lobby open out onto. this gives the feeling of being out in the country side. Its definitly a destination that you can retreat to forgot about the outside word and feel pampered. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The rooms were fabulous, clean and spacious with lovely views of the gardens. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and attentive. You were made to feel valued. We 100% enjoyed our stay. The food was excellent also and speaking as a coeliac they had plenty of choices and the staff understood the dietary requirements without me having to explain to them which was a refreshing change to other places I have stayed/eaten in. Their smoothies at breakfast were definily a treat along with the home made cookies and coffee on sunday before we left. All in all if you are heading to cork for a romantic mini break, girls weekend etc this is the only place i will be staying in future.

I will definitly be staying here again as will all of our friends. It was definitly value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking garden have balcony's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noreen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra O, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Noreen O,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Thank you also for your lovely positive comments regards our hotel, cuisine and staff. It is always wonderful to receive such great feedback and is a great boost of morale for everyone. Thank you again.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Maryborough Hotel & Spa, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Debra O Sullivan
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,283 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Property: Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price range (per night): $200 - $268
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and Wotif.com so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing