We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maranatha Country House
Nearby Hotels
USD 186*
USD 181*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blarney Hotel & Golf Resort(Blarney)(Great Value!)
USD 116*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 147*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 147*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriel House Hotel(Ballincollig)
USD 139*
USD 110*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commons Inn(Cork)(Great Value!)
USD 92*
USD 87*
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 148*
USD 130*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
244
25
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
25
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconesfour poster bedone nightround bedb bsun roomfairy talelush groundschildhood homecountry housebeautiful sunroomour favorite placeyogurtrooms are greatbed and breakfastrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This country house is magnificent and a destination on it's own. Actually, we felt that the Blarney castle was quite overrated and thought that this house is what made our side trip to Blarney worth it! It's a very unique opportunity to be able to enjoy a property like the Maranatha house for such a great value. The house itself is huge and the interior decoration is just spectacular with expensive antique furniture and heavy quality fabrics. Someone else here mentioned that they felt like royalty and it's definitely the feel we got staying in the very spacious and beautifully appointed honeymoon suite. The breakfast was served in a bright room facing the garden; it was a buffet style breakfast that included 3 types of cheese, fresh basked croissants, scones, and brown bread, several types of cereal, strawberries, hot items (bacon, sausage & scrambled eggs), toasts, tea & coffee. Bathroom was nice & clean with a bathtub and heated towel racks. We found this house as it was mentioned in Frommer's guidebook and we couldn't believe what a great value it was. If you're going to Cork County & Cork City, take our advise and stay here for at least one night (& book ahead if you can). We would have loved to stay longer but they were already booked up the rest of the week!
This is definitely one of the most special places we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sd18x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Maranatha Country House was such a welcome surprise for us during our recent trip to Ireland. Olwen and Douglas were terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome in their magnificent home. The grounds are very beautiful, and while the site is quite secluded from the din of traffic, it is easily accessible from the main road into Blarney.
Our room was magnificently furnished, with a beautiful canopy bed and wonderful period furniture. The en suite Jacuzzi was a great treat after a long day of travelling and hiking. The entire house is beautifully appointed with many interesting pieces. The ambience that our hosts have created really ads to the holiday experience.
Breakfast was superb, and had us set for the day. Doug and Olwen provide their guests with friendliness, kindness, a beautiful setting, comfortable rooms and a delicious feast at breakfast. Travellers to County Cork would be well advised to take advantage of their superb hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

What a beautiful home. The owners, Olwen and Douglas, couldn't have treated us
nicer. Rooms were magnificent. Food delicious and lots of it. A grand stay !!

Room Tip: Grab the honeymoon bedroom
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renobill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our stay at Maranatha Country House was one of fond memories. Their rooms were large, themed, and beautiful, and their property was fun to explore. Their breakfast was undeniably the largest selection we came across in Ireland. The owners were very kind and accommodating. We would recommend this B&B for anyone staying near Blarney. The entire experience from start to finish was a delight.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Maranatha house is quite extraordinary, I stayed for one night with my sister and were amazed by the beautiful features, high ceilings and gorgeous rooms. We were the only people staying the night and so snuck into each of the room and each was just as beautiful and unique as the next. Real love and attention has gone into decorating the house. The breakfast conservatory was also a little gem. We were not overly impressed by the service or the owners but altogether a lovely place. For first timers to Ireland, note this B&B is not in Blarney, but in the village Tower which is just outside.

Room Tip: The Rose room is a out of a fairytale
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pebbles7035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews