We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hideway near Blarney Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maranatha Country House
Ranked #2 of 25 Blarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hideway near Blarney Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Staying at Maranatha was definitely a highlight of our holiday and we hope to come back. It was by far the nicest, most comfortable establishment we had. The room was beautifully decorated, the bed plush and comfortable. The Breakfast Room is a feast for the eyes. It is a solarium filled with flowers and finery and has a view of the rolling green lawn and gazebo and of flower-laden trees. The Breakfast was sumptuous and nicely presented. Olwen is a gracious hostess who immediately makes you feel that you are so welcomed to her home. I would highly recommend the Maranatha House to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilaritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
118
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This country house is magnificent and a destination on it's own. Actually, we felt that the Blarney castle was quite overrated and thought that this house is what made our side trip to Blarney worth it! It's a very unique opportunity to be able to enjoy a property like the Maranatha house for such a great value. The house itself is huge and the interior decoration is just spectacular with expensive antique furniture and heavy quality fabrics. Someone else here mentioned that they felt like royalty and it's definitely the feel we got staying in the very spacious and beautifully appointed honeymoon suite. The breakfast was served in a bright room facing the garden; it was a buffet style breakfast that included 3 types of cheese, fresh basked croissants, scones, and brown bread, several types of cereal, strawberries, hot items (bacon, sausage & scrambled eggs), toasts, tea & coffee. Bathroom was nice & clean with a bathtub and heated towel racks. We found this house as it was mentioned in Frommer's guidebook and we couldn't believe what a great value it was. If you're going to Cork County & Cork City, take our advise and stay here for at least one night (& book ahead if you can). We would have loved to stay longer but they were already booked up the rest of the week!
This is definitely one of the most special places we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sd18x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Maranatha Country House was such a welcome surprise for us during our recent trip to Ireland. Olwen and Douglas were terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome in their magnificent home. The grounds are very beautiful, and while the site is quite secluded from the din of traffic, it is easily accessible from the main road into Blarney.
Our room was magnificently furnished, with a beautiful canopy bed and wonderful period furniture. The en suite Jacuzzi was a great treat after a long day of travelling and hiking. The entire house is beautifully appointed with many interesting pieces. The ambience that our hosts have created really ads to the holiday experience.
Breakfast was superb, and had us set for the day. Doug and Olwen provide their guests with friendliness, kindness, a beautiful setting, comfortable rooms and a delicious feast at breakfast. Travellers to County Cork would be well advised to take advantage of their superb hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normhorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

What a beautiful home. The owners, Olwen and Douglas, couldn't have treated us
nicer. Rooms were magnificent. Food delicious and lots of it. A grand stay !!

Room Tip: Grab the honeymoon bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renobill09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Our stay at Maranatha Country House was one of fond memories. Their rooms were large, themed, and beautiful, and their property was fun to explore. Their breakfast was undeniably the largest selection we came across in Ireland. The owners were very kind and accommodating. We would recommend this B&B for anyone staying near Blarney. The entire experience from start to finish was a delight.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Blarney Castle Hotel
#1 of 7 in Blarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maranatha Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maranatha Country House

Property: Maranatha Country House
Address: Marantha Country House Saint Ann's Hill | Tower, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Blarney
Price range (per night): $111 - $171
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stroll through the beautiful private gardens and woodlands surrounding this lovely Victorian mansion. Spacious romantic bedrooms. Beautiful historic antiques throughout. Ideally located for day trips to both east and west Cork and Kerry. Rates for bed and breakfast from €35 to €60 per person sharing per night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maranatha Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maranatha Country Hotel
Hotel Maranatha Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing