We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“an experinece to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linlithgow Canal Centre

Linlithgow Canal Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Linlithgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Linlithgow Canal Centre is run entirely by unpaid volunteers. Boat Trips, Canal Museum, Tea Room, Charters and Self-drive Boat Hire. A great day out for the family! Located close to Linlithgow railway station. 1:30 to 5pm. Open weekends from 30th March untill 29 September. Midweek 1 July to 23 August.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“an experinece to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

we thought it would be something different for my granson`s 7th birthday to spend the day on the canal. After visiting the Canal Centre we found the staff more than happy to help & could not do enough for us. Even tho the weather was typical Scottish summer weather ( rain with patches of drizzle) it turn out to be 1 of the best days out we have had. A member of staff took my husband out for a wee spin to show him how to use the control, we set off. The canal was full of wild life that we would not usual have noticed as the 4mph speed sounded slow but it was lovely just to cruise along letting life go by. The kids were not sure about it at first but soon were well into it. My granson even had a hand at the wheel (with grandads ever watching eye & guiding hand ) . The fishing rods even got brought out & it was a fight to get the kids (wee & big 1s) to finally get back onto dry land

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    6
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Peaceful, charming, delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

If you're in Linlithgow, definitely take the time to visit the Canal Centre and cruise along the canal. It's such a peaceful setting, a wee world of its own away from the hustle and bustle of the town. The canal is so calm, with wildlife, waterfowl and beautiful trees. The boats themselves are beautifully preserved - it's such a treat to be able to take a short trip up the canal in them, and to watch them gliding over the water - beautful reflections, too (great for photographers). Our 4 year old grandson accompanied us and loved the experience too. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Meri2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“an enchanting wee museum at the heart of the Scottish Union Canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

A unique canal museum (the only one in Scotland!) occupying an old canal-side building over-looking the picturesque Linlithgow Palace. Displaying a limited but very informative selection of canal memorabilia and photographs. Very friendly volunteer staff. Tasty snacks available in cafe next door. Tickets sold for tours on canal boats past local town or further to majestic Avon viaduct.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ABZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villelongue dels Monts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

A really enjoyable mini-cruise, all the staff I met at the Canal Basin were most helpful, it was the most relaxing time I spent on my visit to Scotland.

Helpful?
6 Thank MikethePipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Took my son here not so long ago and he loved it!! Only had time to go on the short jounery but will be back soon for the longer one. All staff were very friendly and make you feel very welcome, will be hiring my own boat soon I think! Some great pictures in the museum and finished the afternoon off with a lovely cup of tea in the tearoom. A hidden gem!

Helpful?
4 Thank AndyS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Linlithgow Canal Centre also viewed

Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to Linlithgow Canal Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing