We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A luxurious and tranquil getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eagle Bay Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
paulwilso...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A luxurious and tranquil getaway”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
7
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage last week (September 2015) and had a most wonderful experience.
The cottage was superb and of an extremely high standard - a luxurious, tranquil, and comfortable place to get away to.
We were very impressed by all the little extras.
The views were incredible.
This was the best place we have ever retreated to.
The island is a beautiful place.
We had a great holiday, and a great experience.

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the luxury, and the views
Liked least: we liked every aspect of our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean W
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Special”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Eagle Bay Cottage is a beautiful & special place to share with someone special. We spent a week in August, it was luxurious, peaceful and relaxing with the most amazing night skies over the sea loch. Beautiful views from wherever you where in the cottage including the lovely large bath big enough for 2. We thought wow when we first saw it on the web site but the reality was even better. A lovely warm welcome from David with lots of goodies on arrival. Just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, peaceful cottage with amazing night sky
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
591 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“A dream house in a dream location”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This is an absolutely beautiful house, fairly new but fabulously located and provisioned with designer bathroom, sauna, designer kitchen with Neff white goods, Le Crueset pans, Sophie Conran cutlery, etc and facing the every-changing view of the Harris mountains.
The weather is the only unreliable feature for this property and location, but even if it is inclement, just sitting and relaxing in the beautiful surroundings, enjoying a glass of wine or champagne with smoked whisky-flavoured salmon, this place offers peace and solitude away from the bustle and pressures although the internet access keeps you up to date.
Didn't need to use the bicycles available or the fishing rods and centrally located for touring Lewis or nipping over to Harris.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather in Outer Hebrides
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieAber...
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation in magnificent location!”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from an amazing week staying at Eagle Bay Cottage. The house is stunningly designed with the highest quality furnishings, equipment, linen and toiletries - not to mention the wonderful welcome pack including a bottle of champagne! The owners were also extremely welcoming, helpful and available at any time during the week.

Eagle Bay Cottage is perfectly located in the beautiful Lochs area not too far from Stornoway or any of the main places of interest - of which there are many across Lewis and Harris - such a fascinating place!

The name also lives up to its reputation with the highlight of our stay on the last day watching golden eagles soaring overhead nearby and otters playing on the rocks just outside - delightful!

One of the best holidays ever and would genuinely love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality throughout - including design of house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadlet
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I could not imagine better!”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My wife and I were blown away by the Eagle Bay Cottages. This may be the most beautiful place we have stayed in our lives. The view was superb! The cottage romantic and fabulously clean. Soaking tub with a view of the water. Listening to the wind howl at night as the wood stove burned. Kathleen and David were wonderful hosts - leaving us a detailed book of hikes and tours and restaurants, as well as a welcoming basket with smoked salmon, croissants, marmalade, tea, coffee, five types of fruit and a wonderful bouquet of white roses. On a scale of one to ten, it is a twelve. We hope to come back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing