We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, modern, comfortable accomodation tailor...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moorpark Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Edinburge...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, modern, comfortable accomodation tailor made for short stays.”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife, 2 kids (9 and 7), and I stayed here for 8 nights. We chose this accomodation on the strength of the website and reviews from previous guests. We were not disappointed. The accomodation has been thoughtfully designed with holiday-makers in mind - it is modern, clean, spacious and well furnished with quality throughout (the kingsize bed was particularly comfy!!) and the feeling that corners hadn't been cut or costs scrimped on, made for a really homely, comfortable stay.

The hosts could not do enough to help and were on hand with advice for days out and on any other queries we had.

The location makes it a bit of a drive down to Harris or Uig etc, but the islands are big and you have to base yourself somewhere. There is also plenty to see and do up and down that northwest coast of Lewis. We had a great stay and the quality of the accomodation and welcoming hosts were a major factor in that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossandSu...
Bury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our Hebridean holiday”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This accommodation was literally hard to fault. The attention to detail was superb - especially the black-out blinds - particularly beneficial in summer, given it never seemed to go dark; the underfloor heating; spacious bedroom with comfortable king size bed; as well as all you could ask for in the kitchen. There really didn't seem to be anything we were lacking.

Location-wise it didn't perhaps have the sea views, but was close enough to the main attractions in north Harris, and being a bit off the beaten track made it that bit quieter.

Would definitely return if we were to come back to the Isle of Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trave1Bu5
Denver, Co
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The rooms are large, well furnished, and comfortable. The location is convenient to Black House Museum, Callenish Stones and other sites in Western Lewis. There is a small market nearby. A fair library of books and movies is included. Hosts are very gracious. Generous towels (including face cloths not seen in every hotel) and robes are included.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size of the rooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thank you for your stay, and your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrgmmk
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moorpark cottages are set on the west side of Lewis in Barvas and a straightforward drive from Stornoway. We arrived on a sunny Friday afternoon and after inital confusion as to which cottage we were in, walked into a gorgeous living space and kitchen. Everything was SPOTLESS - well equipped kitchen and plenty of basics in the cupboards (tea, coffee etc). A couple of minutes later we were greeted by Marlene's daughter who explained everything to us.

My nephews were delighted with the presence of the PS3 and a working television! This may seem an odd thing to comment on but we have stayed in rental properties without working TVs in the past. It certainly passed the time on a rather rainy and miserable Saturday and we didn't miss Wimbledon!

The beds were very comfortable and there is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms. A very powerful shower and spacious bathroom. There are even bathrobes!

We were fortunate to be have glorious weather (except the rainy Saturday) while we were staying there and took advantage of the deck to enjoy the sunshine, views and some 'light refreshments'. ;-)

The wifi worked really well however mobile reception was patchy.

Make sure if you do visit that you stock up in Stornoway as Barvas isn't overrun with shopping and dining opportunities - there is a small shop on the road into the village however we didn't visit it.

I would recommend Moorpark Cottages to anyone and if truth be told I was a little reluctant to write this review as I hope they are not booked up the next time we visit Lewis! I would like to take this opportunity to thank Marlene and her family for a fantastic stay, in without question the best self catering accommodation we have had on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKU1410
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great cottage in a quiet location. Everything you need for a stay is available, from a fuly equiped kitchen, bathroom with towels and robes, to books, visitor guides and even a PS3 for that possible rainy night in.
Owners are very friendly and helpfull. We loved our stay. A nice beach is not far a way, and Stornoway, Butt of Lewis and other sights are easy to reach. Barvas does not offer pubs or restaurants. But the facilities in the cottage are excellent to make your own dinner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing