We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Islay Stay”

Review of Lagavulin Hall

Lagavulin Hall from the carpark.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lagavulin Hall from the carpark.
The sea is just across the road. Surnaig Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Lagavulin Hall from the carpark.
The sea is just across the road.
Surnaig Bay.
Dining room from the Gallery.
It sometimes snows.
From a tree in the garden.
Dunyveg Castle and Surnaig Bay from the garden.
Lagavulin Hall.
Dining Room.
Looking up at the Gallery Living Room.
Memorial stone in the Kitchen.
A seat by the window.
Kitchen from the Gallery.
Lagavulin Hall and surroundings.
The Stills at Laphroaig.
9th Century Kildalton Cross.
The Mull of Oa.
Port Ellen Lighthouse on a windy day.
It is Scotland after all.
Upstairs Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
CanuckAbr...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Islay Stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lagavulin Hall was a fantastic choice for our stay. We enjoyed the grand living space and could see it offering excellent space for larger groups.
The kitchen and bathroom could use updating (and a second bathroom would be ideal if larger groups were using the space), but they were fine as they were.
We were walking distance to a few of the distilleries we wanted to visit - making it a perfect choice for us! They are currently extending the walking path from Port Ellen, so it will be nice to be able to stay off of the road if walking from Port Ellen or between distilleries. We managed to book cabs to get to/from the airport and to other distilleries, so having a car isn't necessary although it might make things easier if the walk to/from Port Ellen seems a little long.
Overall, we were very happy with Lagavulin Hall. The rooms were all clean and it offered quiet and relaxing stay.
Hope to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meganfwar...
1 review
“Perfect place to stay in Islay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Great stay had over New Year! Beautiful building with good facilities and cosy log fire. Easy to arrange and very close to three distilleries and Port Ellen.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJGlover
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed a week at Lagavulin Hall at the start of June 2013.It is a very unique building and must certainly be the most unusual place to stay in Islay. They have done an excellent conversion job on the Chapel.

It has a mezzanine which features a double bedroom, a living area with a TV and a log burner. On the ‘ground’ there are a further two double bedrooms, a huge dramatic dining area with a piano, a raised kitchen area leading to a shower room. The property was very clean and has full Wi-Fi. On the downside the property is directly next the road and has a minimally useable garden.

The property is 5 minutes’ walk from the Lagavulain distillery and 20 minutes’ walk to the Laphraiog distillery. Port Ellen and the island’s main ferry terminal is only five minutes’ drive away and I would certainly highly recommend the Islay Hotel in port Ellen for food and drinks…it was the best place we found on the whole island.

The property is opposite is Surnaig Bay which affords dramatic views of the Lagavulin distillery and the ruin of Dunyveg Castle. The walking and cycling in the area is excellent with many quiet beaches nearby on the Kildalton coast.

Islay is a wonderful place and we will certain return.

I would certainly recommend Lagavulin Hall as an excellent place/location to use as a base for exploring this fantastic island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and great location
Liked least: Close to road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henk B
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The spirit of Islay”
Reviewed 17 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Lagavulin Hall is a grand location from which to explore Islay. A church house, full of character, loving attention to detail, inspiring deep conversation over glasses of whisky. When you are lucky to arrive by plane on a clear day (as we were), you can see the chapel among the three magnificent white distilleries along the southern coast. I stayed for a week in october with my whisky companion, one distillery a day we visited, sometimes two. Autumn in the air, the geese arriving from Greenland, only a handful of people on the trail. Brilliant sunlight piercing the house early in the morning. No better place to sip your dram than sitting at the long table in the evening, the vault above leaking stories of lost times. The facilities of the house are good. There is plenty of everything and of fine quality. One can dry one’s coat over a solid old school radiator. The kitchen is well equipped to prepare suitable meals, the beds sleep great, the couches are soft and the bathroom is big enough.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davetuna
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unique rental close to Islay's best Distilleries”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

I enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay with my parents at Lagavulin Hall. The old converted chapel makes for a unique rental with plenty of space and old world character. Central heating is complemented with a real log / peat burning stove upstairs in the mezzanine living area. The smokey smell from the fire lingers and adds to the atmosphere. 3 mins walk from Lagavulin Distillery and maybe 20mins walk (?) from Ardbeg and Laphroaig, this is a great location.
Full amenities inc. fully equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer mean you can be self-sufficient for the duration of your trip. The free Wifi is great as it allows you to plan your stay and communicate with the outside world - useful as mobile phone coverage on some networks is sporadic.
Only 2 negative points that I can think of: 1) If the property were filled to capacity (2 x double rooms, 1 x twin & sofa bed) there would be a queue for the single combined shower/toilet room in the morning. 2) My mum felt it necessary to clean the fridge, kitchen surfaces, plates and cutlery before we could use them as they weren't 100% clean (Note: there is a dishwasher though). Apart from that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property. Friendly, helpful owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing