We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
122
12
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
12
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local area lake of menteith hotel gave us lots of information a great stay two nights full scottish enjoyed our stay one night stay national park phil hosts taxi scotland accommodations wedding countryside
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2015

If judging any establishment on Tripadvisor was simply judging the people that run it, then Malling West would be the premier B&B in Scotland. Morag and Phil are an absolute delight and if you’re prone to the odd bout of homesickness while on holiday, then visiting Malling West offers you the cure!!!! Morag and Phil, well, you just feel as if you've known them for years....and for me there can be no greater attraction than that.
If you put factor in the excellent accommodation and a breakfast that would feed a giant, also a garden reminiscent and befitting of Alice in Wonderland, (it truly is fairytale stuff), and that they are in the perfect location for touring central Scotland, then I would suggest you need look no further than Malling West.

Top notch people, with a top notch home, in a top notch location.....what more do you need????

Room Tip: Any room is good!!!
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronkerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolaig, Owner at Malling West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Thank you so much for your terrific review and kind comments! I am pleased to read that you felt very much at home during your stay with us.
It is very important to us! And reassuring to know that our guests leave with a positive impression of their stay! and are happy to take time to write a review.

Thanks again
Morag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

We've been in malling west for two nights. It was a wonderful experience since the house (old sheperd house completely refurbished by the owners) is located in a charming country landscape. The breakfast prepared by Morag is delightful and the taste of milk is simply amazing. Morag, Very nice and easy going, makes you feel at home and is very funny. We suggest everybody to have a stay in malling west
Lorenzo and Mariagrazia

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolaig, Owner at Malling West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Thank you so much for your very positive review and kind comments.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we enjoyed having you here.
If you do make it back again I will do my best to have a cow in the garden to make sure you have a never ending supply of "amazing milk"!
Thanks again
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Malling West. The owner, Morag was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area advising us on activities and the best places to eat in the area. The B&B itself, located in a quiet setting with stunning scenery, was very clean and comfortable and the full Scottish breakfast was amazing. We would both thoroughly recommend Malling West.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolaig, Owner at Malling West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2014

It's good to hear that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and you were able to experience three of the four seasons in one day! whilst out walking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2014

I stayed at Malling West with my sister, Mom and Dad on our first trip through the highlands. The property itself is lovely – several acres near Lake Menteith. The house is old, with three foot thick stone walls, so it has a lot of character. Morag and her husband have completely renovated and updated the building, adding space and their own personal touches.

Morag was very gracious and welcoming host. When we arrived she showed us to our rooms, which were well appointed and very comfortable. They had everything we needed – plush comforters, tea, coffee, Wi-Fi and en-suite bathrooms. Clean and cozy! While we settled in, she called ahead at the local restaurant/hotel that overlooks the lake to make a dinner reservation for us at sunset.

After a good night's sleep, we had a simple but plentiful breakfast. I highly recommend a stay at Malling West. We had an excellent experience, and the cost was very reasonable, especially for the high season in Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kacornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolaig, Owner at Malling West, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
It's good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit. It was nice to meet all of you.

Morag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We stayed at Malling West for 3 amazing nights, 25th, 26th and 27th Sept 14. Rooms were comfortable and cosy. Morag's recommendations for local attractions and Restaurants were to the tee. Great conversations were had, breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend and visit again. Her B&B

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Surinder P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lolaig, Owner at Malling West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and for your kind comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
It was great to meet you and your family, and like you, I enjoyed our chat. The outcome of the Ryder Cup must have made leaving here at that hour in the morning so worth while.
Thanks Again
Morag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews