We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JulieFMalaga
Malaga, Spain

Beautiful place to stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2018via mobile
We were privileged to be the first guests to stay in the newly built separate bungalow situated just below the main house. The place has fantastic views over the Knuckles range with beautiful trees, birds, nature in the foreground. We awoke to the sound of birdsong every morning. The bungalow has its own pool for cooling off so you can be as private as you wish. Alternatively you can join other guests up on the terrace of the main house which overlooks the other pool. There are wonderful views everywhere.
Strathisla sits amongst tea & spice plantations and it is a must to take a walk around with JKo who will point out the various spices and fruits to you. You will also pass a few smiley locals along the way....everyone is very friendly.
Our accommodation was simply first class. A huge bright & airy living space with a kitchen area (should you need it) with a fridge for fresh milk, beer, cold drinks etc. Tea & coffee are complimentary.
The bathroom is super with a huge walk in shower of polished concert & ceramic tiles. Plenty of good quality towels & toiletries are provided.
The bedroom is complete with a four poster bed with mozzie nets & dual aspect views.
The very best reasons to stay here though are the staff and the food.
The team run by JKo (manager) & Priya (cook & JKo's wife) are just lovely people. So kind, thoughtful & smiley. They are a pleasure to be around. Priya's cooking skills are renowned......your dinners here will be delicious & you will find yourself comparing everything else you eat in Sri Lanka with her dishes.
Spoil yourself & stay here......you will love it.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter O, Owner at Strathisla Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Hi Julie and Terry
Many thanks for such an absoultely fabulous review; all the team here are overjoyed to hear such glowing words.

We've worked very hard recently to try to put ourselves into the mind of our guests and act on what we percieve to be their needs and when we read your kind words we feel as though we've achieved some success so thank you so much.

From everyone here at Strath we wish you happy and safe travels for the rest of your trip.

With warmest regards
Peter
ps- and please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
3.6 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our lunch
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.6 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
13.5 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
14.9 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
22.5 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
11.6 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Entrance
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
5.2 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Trip.com
30.9 km from Strathisla Guest House
View more hotels in Matale
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
77
6
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
6
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea estate colonial bungalow highlight of our trip paradise village setting tranquil driveway track nature clouds birds sights driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Great location for... Matale town center, tea estate visits, mini worlds end and temples.
We had a cooking lesson with Priya and "estate tour" with Jeyakumar - both really good experiences.
Jeyakumar and his wife, and the staff were brilliant. Peter and his wife also very welcoming.
Nice relaxing atmosphere with light music being played, the house has lots of character.
Look forward to our next stay with them!

To see photos from our trip go to Instagram...
#ohmygoodghosh

Room tip: any room upstairs in the main house is nice.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robevans1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

My partner and I booked a 12-day holiday in Sri Lanka, and Strathisla was one of the best place we stayed. We were there for only 3 nights, and it was so relaxing that we wished we had booked for longer. We didn't have quite as much time around the pool as I would have liked.
The guest house (an old tea plantation estate house) is located in a quiet rural area amongst absolutely amazing scenery - lush tropical forest, a spice garden, and the tea plantation. Our room, with its high ceiling, timber floor, and elegant furnishings, was a beautiful balance of modern amenity with colonial past.The food was exemplary, as was the service. All in all, it was exceptional value for money.
Thank you Peter, Mozelle, Jkumar, Priya, Muthi, and Prassad.

Room tip: Don't worry about the room - they're all good.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tonyandjo2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter O, Owner at Strathisla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Tony and Jo
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such lovely words about your stay with us.
It was certainly our sincerest pleasure in hosting you.
Thank you again for staying wwith us and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Warmest regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We have just returned from 3 1/2 weeks in Sri Lanka where we stayed in 9 places. Strathlisia was our favourite! A lovely old house set in the most extraordinary valley with views you dream of. It was like staying in a friends country pad thanks to the relaxed atmosphere Peter and Mozelle have created in their home. It was so comfortable and the perfect spot far from the madding crowd. We traveled with our 15 and 17 yr old who also loved it. My son and husband played cricket in the local village amongst the tea plantation and we were lucky enough to be there over the Thai Pongal Tamal festival. Jayku (the Manager) and Priya (his wife who was also the most exquisite chef) invited us to join them at the small temple down the road which was a very special experience. I must also mention Muthi and Prassad the other members of staff who also looked after us so well. When we woke early on our first morning we could not believe how stunning the misty valley looked and the abundant birdlife right before your eyes. Exotic plants, glorious birds and a beautiful pool filled the garden and the verandah was the perfect place to read a book and sip a g&t or cup of tea (which was also one of the best we encountered). It is about 20 Mins from Matale. The transfer is apx R2000 (it takes about 25 mins and a very windy road at the end!) from Matale. We had planned to go into Kandy for the day but fell in love with the house and did not want to move... My husband and son went on the Knuckles walk which they said was well worth the 6hrs - their guide Aravinda was apparently incredibly knowledgable and great company. The food was exceptional with at least 4 or 5 choices a night and I thought very reasonably priced. We really did not want to leave - our next stop was a very expensive safari park which was great but we all missed the relaxed atmosphere and exquisite location Strathlisia had to offer. If it is available BOOK IT as it will be a highlight in anyones itinerary (there was a one year old with his Grandma there at the same time who also had a lovely time!)
Beds are comfy with lovely cotton sheets and effective ceiling fans with cool, timber floors. We loved being in the 2 rooms upstairs as the views are wonderful but I am sure all the rooms are great. We are now back in Melbourne and I find myself frequently thinking of our happy stay there and I hope one day we will return. Thank you Peter and Mozelle.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Motswari66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Strathisla is a small, friendly and peaceful retreat that oozes relaxation and indulgence. We arrived late in the afternoon and were made to feel at home immediately with a fresh juice and friendly, accommodating staff. Our villa was a perfect size for our family of five (three young children) with two separate bedrooms and loads of room. We had our own private verandah however we spent little time there as the front of the bungalow had the most magificent verandah that looked onto the lush garden, pool and valley.
The grounds were well landscaped, and the 19th Century bungalow was magnificent, and tastefully decorated to really suit it's style and period. You really felt like you were stepping into a 19th century tea estate home, with high ceilings, cool, airy feel, perfect for a warm Sri Lankan tropical climate.
Strathisla is perfect for a relaxing getaway, as well as somewhere to base yourselves while you explore the tea country and the north east/west. We spent 3 weeks using Strathisla as a base, taking trips to Sigiriya, Habarana, Minneria National Park, Trincomalee, Kandy and other places.
It's perfect for children, as the pool, little walks to local villages and the accommodating staff make it easy. It's also perfect for a romantic getaway, as there are so many spaces to sit, read, relax, ponder and escape the daily grind. Many couples stayed and enjoyed what it had to offer just as we did.
We ate most of our meals at the guest house, as it was just so delicious, generous and amazingly good value for money compared to places like Kandy and other hotels. The staff catered well for our children's fussy eating habits. The curries were just divine, as were the fresh, generous breakfasts, and the cocktails made from fresh local produce.
JCo and Priya, the managers of Strathisla were so helpful and friendly. They arranged drivers for us, massages, yoga sessions, day hikes, spice tours, tuk tuk trips and mini adventures to local lunch spots and waterfalls.
If you are travelling to Sri Lanka you must visit Strathisla. Even though it's slightly off the main road, that adds to its charm. Its worth it, and was the highlight of our journey.
Thank you to all at Strathisla! We will come again when next in your fabulous country.

Room tip: All rooms are large, expansive and quiet. There are only 6 rooms in total so perfect.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antipodeans5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2018

my wife and i had a great stay at this old house. there are some great books available detailing the history and cultural differences between singalese and tamil from coffee trade to present-very informative. priva's vegetarian cooking was great as well as the yoga teacher. the massage guy did little more than rub some oil, and the civet cats living in the roof tended to be active around four in the morning. staff hospitality is outstanding. a very far drive from colombo-especially if it's raining.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travellingexpat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter O, Owner at Strathisla Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for your kind words about Strathisla and for your feedback, which we have taken on board. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Best wishes and safe travels - Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews