We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
srbssl
Brussels, Belgium

A piece of paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Sept 2016
We stayed at Strathisla at the beginning of our 3 week vacation in Sri Lanka and we absolutely loved it. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip: the house is fantastic, the garden exquisite, the pool beautifully integrated, the veranda perfect for relaxing. Jkumar and Priya are wonderful hosts and Priya's food was the very best we had in Sri Lanka. If you are thinking of staying more than one night in Kandy, don't :-) Just book the other night(s) here. It's off the beaten path, but not far from Kandy and Matale. We cannot recommend Strathisla highly enough!
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, Owner at Strathisla Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 15 Sept 2016
Dear Srbssl
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for your very kind words.
I wish you happy and safe travels wherever they may be.
From all the team at Strathisla Bungalow,
Best regards and "Come again!"
Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$39
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$30
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
5.0 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$18
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.4 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our lunch
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.6 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
13.5 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
14.9 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
11.6 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
22.5 km from Strathisla Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Matale
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
77
6
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
6
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea estate colonial bungalow highlight of our trip paradise village setting tranquil driveway track nature clouds birds sights driver
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We had the privilege to stay at Strathisla for three nights, while on holiday in Sri Lanka.
Mr Kumar & his wife are incredible hosts and went out of their way to make this a memorable stay.
No need to visit a spice farm as so many spices grow on the farm and Mr Kumar took us for a hike through the plantations on his land.
It's really easy to do day trips to Sigiriya and Dambulla and close enough to Kandy. In fact, I would highly recommend to skip Kandy and rather spend a night or two here.
The rooms are spacious, there is a crisp blue swimming pool to cool off after a day's excursion and no better setting to enjoy a g&t on the verandah.
The food was for sure some of the best meals we had during our two week trip and I will never forget their hospitality.
Can't wait to return - soon!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Clarisse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 6 September 2016

Hi Clarissa
Great to hear you had such a wonderful stay at Strathisla.
It's always gratifying to hear such positive feedback from guests after experiencing everything that Strath has to offer.
I wish you happy and safe travels in the future
Best regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Away from the beaten tourist tracks you will find this place surrounded by beautiful nature in a village surrounding. The host is very nice and the food cooked delicious. Breakfast is opulent. The rooms are large with nice view. The nights are cool and no AC is required. The 3 km walk guided by the host will show you many native spices growing in natural surroundings. Highly recommended to do this short tour. Not suitable for those who face walking difficulties. Value for money

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CHFEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Arriving by chance at this beautiful Boutique Ancestral Home, we were welcomed warmly by Mr Kumar and his wife for a splendid, reasonably-priced and delicious traditional Sri-Lankan Lunch, in what is possibly the loveliest Country House Hotel I've seen in all of Sri Lanka, having travelled extensively over the island for many years. It is the ancestral home of the family who run it.
Located in a beautiful valley close to the National Spice Gardens of Sri Lanka, Strathisla Tea Estate is a fine old manor house sympathetically restored, with magnificent views and very fine gardens extending to 25 acres. Everything is grown on the estate, and the furnishings inside are antique traditional, with high ceilings and noble old wooden floors. It's a place I did not want to leave, even though Mr Kumar was complaining the wild monkeys were nibbling his nutmegs!
Highly recommended...Should be 5-Stars, not 4.5.
And I will go again and again, and wish I could stay there forever.

Room tip: All rooms have great views of the valleys and jungle.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 2 July 2016

Dear Mr (Mrs) Kalinski
Many thanks for your glowing review.
Strathisla is indeed a peaceful and delicious little slice of paradise and we love it when our guests can appreciate its beauty as you did.
It was our absolute pleasure in hosting you and we look forward to another time when you can stay with us a little longer so we can show you around the area more.
Happy travels to you and all your family.
Best regards from all the team at Strathisla Bungalow.
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Beautiful , homely, comfortable, clean and unique is how I would describe this guest house situated in the midst of a tea plantation. It’s rooms and living areas are spacious, the views are magnificent and the relaxed and serene atmosphere is very welcoming.

The couple who run the guest house are as super efficient, knowledgeable and consider the needs of the guest as their number 1 priority.

And the food - honestly is to die for. I have not eaten more delicious food anywhere else on the island, than at Strathisla. The food is very tasty, wholesome, has variety and great value for money.

I fully recommend a stay at Strathisla for anyone wanting a truly great holiday and unique experience.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank noelbeekmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Perfect location and a great garden area that is beautiful. The owners were very nice and helpful. We loved their dogs also.The rooms were big but there was no ceiling fan as advertised in our room. The beds were fine. The toilet and shower area had so many ants on the toilet bowl and sink so that is unacceptable. As for the pool it could not be used as it was dirty and had not been cleaned. The satellite tv was not available and the internet was very slow. We got charged 10usd for two people for frozen french fries in which was way overcooked and frozen fish sticks which was not good at all. The Sri Lankan dinner which was good but they charged us 10usd per person which is wrong because I live here in Sri Lanka so they may have spent 1500 lkr for the entire meal so we feel that because two of us were foreigners they charged an outrageous tourist price which both foreigners woke up very sick with upset stomach this morning and I have been going to the bathroom all day and have to eat very light things. Just some advice is don't overcharge foreigners because they will not come back when we know you have a Sri Lankan price and a foreigner price which is unfair and bad for business.The breakfast was decent. Overall a great place for peace and relaxation but stick to Sri Lankan food or come with a car where you can go eat somewhere else.

Room tip: free wifi in the sitting area but still not good but definitely book upstairs..
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 139jimmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 2 July 2016

Hi Jimmy
Thank you for all the positive aspects of your review.
It is unfortunate indeed that your experience of our food was not more positive, especially as so many of our past guests have praised our cuisine as the highlight of their stay.
I do think, perhaps in fairness to other potential future guests that there are some points of your review which need some clarification.
First of all, the unseasonable heavy rains in Sri Lanka (including during your stay) have made reception of both TV and Wifi very weak and that is not something we can control, especially as we do live in a very mountainous region.
It has also made the upkeep of the pool very difficult (and to some degree pointless as no one is swimming ) as we use natural spring water in the pool with minimal amounts of chlorine. I can assure you that as soon as the rains cease, our pool will once again be filled with sparkling clear spring water and look just as prisitne as in the photos above.
Secondly, we do not and never have had two different rates for foreigners and locals.
In any case, I understand that as there were three adults in your group, the order you specially requested of fish fingers and chips (which were not frozen) made the rate of that meal just $3.33 per person.
As for our meal rates, they are clearly outlined on all our booking websites and as our meals always consist of multiple dishes of meat, fish, rice, vegetables and accompaniments, I think this offers excellent value for money. We also provide our guests with unlimited, complimentary tea and coffee throughout their stay, which is not always the case at other hotels.
Nonetheless, we always value our guests' feedback and wish you and your family all the best.

Best regards, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews