We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting

This spice garden has a large collection of plants that produce some or other spice and that all... read more

Reviewed 25 June 2018
Klaus G
,
Pretoria, South Africa
Not so much a spice garden as a tourist drop-in place.

No spices are grown here for commercial purposes so what you see are samples and examples of what... read more

Reviewed 14 May 2018
Kirkcaldylad
,
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Read all 39 reviews
  
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
3
9
6
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
9
6
8
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We were a large group of 31 tourist which almost everyone bough something , The tour was nice and the products looks promising , also there was "a free" massage option but tip is mandatory , when We got to th shop the attitude changed and selling method was aggressive and stressing ,since it was my first time in such a shop I bought few products like the natural viagra , Red oil .hair remover , spices , and paid and overpriced 240$ , which is very very steep price , when I got home and tried the products I was surprised that they werent correlated quality with the the steep pricing

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank SHLOMI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

A guide shows and tells about each of the 25+ different spice's as you walk around the garden.
The guide leads you to a small stall to demonstrate some of the spice's and herbal remedies such as hair removal and the like.
Once through you are led to the building where you can buy to you hearts content.
Overall very educational about learning about the different plants and uses regardless if you buy or not.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Mars1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

I always try to maintain an objective view with any tour stop. I understand the need to promote local business but not while flagrantly exploiting tourists. This a disgustingly, over priced spice garden which should be shut down. It is an embarrassment to the Sri Lankan tourist industry. I think if more visitors heed the reviews and refuse to purchase items and not be wavered by the hard sale then the owners will change--perhaps.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank sheyb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Our driver took us there unsolicited. We thought it was for lunch. Boy were we wrong.

We spent half an hour getting potions rubbed into us and at the end of the tour we were sat in a hut with a number of bottles and asked if we'd like to purchase anything. Of course, no prices marked. They weren't happy when we said we didn't want to buy anything.

Avoid.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We were looking forward to this visit, but unfortunately It was high pressure sales from the start.We were told of the medicinal properties of the spices rather than the culinary.After the tour we were taken to a place where all the medicines were on view, and they told us of all the things they would cure.The hair removal cream was one of them, they said this would remove facial hair and as they had tested it on my arm and it had looked to have done a good job a couple of us bought some. Our friend tried it on his face and ended up going to hospital.The products are very high priced and it is easy to fall gullible to the hard sell

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews