We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing - book it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Award winning accommodation Elegant and calming reception area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Award winning accommodation
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Loux87x
1 review
“Amazing - book it!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We just recently stayed at the White House on the 20th - 22nd of feb 2015 for my dads 70th birthday. There were 11 adults, 2 children and one infant. It was quite genuinely one of the best weekends we have ever had. Just like many others have said Margaret's welcome was so warm and caring you thought you'd known her for years. The house was spectacular with each room just as good as the next. Within a few hours of being there we felt like we were at home - undoubtedly due to the kindness and welcome from Margaret. She goes above and beyond for her guests, putting up party banners and balloons, setting a beautiful table, providing beer and champagne, giving us breakfast that would feed a small army, baking the most beautiful pavlova and chocs in each room...! She even gave my dad a present for his birthday - Truly amazing! We can't thank you enough Margaret and we can't wait to get back. We had such a special time for dads birthday and made great memories that we can cherish. If anyone is thinking of booking this house then do it, you will not regret it! Margaret, Thank you so much again, we will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

First visit to this house......it will certainly not be the last.....this is most probably the best self catering house I have ever stayed in. The comfort, ambience decor and exquisite attention to detail makes this one very special house. Well done to Margaret the owner.
Great walks on your doorstep, the hollybush inn but you really don't want to go out, the house is just so comfortable and welcoming.
Love it, love it, love it.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The furnishings and size of each room
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catgor200...
1 review
“Heavenly”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

From the minute I spoke to Margaret I knew it was going to be a special experience for my mums 60th birthday.

The house itself is absolutely stunning and immaculate. Margaret has decorated with style and care, every detail considered, from the robes and slippers to the hairdryers, toiletries and chocolates in each room. The house is luxurious but homely and there is a variety of living rooms to choose from, which we used for different purposes, from karaoke in the living/dining room to cocktails in the library and present opening in the fabulous central living space. The kitchen is gorgeous and fully stocked. The welcome from Margaret was so warm, we felt like old friends rather than paying guests.

The setting could not be more perfect, a short hop to Ayr, beautiful walks on the doorstep, a lovely pub/restaurant 10 mins walk away, and stunning views.

I will be recommending the house to everyone for all ages and all occasions.

Thank you so much Margaret, We really didn't want to leave and I'm looking forward to finding an excuse to visit again soon.

Thanks again for everything!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samollie8...
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star experience”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We visited with family to celebrate an 80th birthday. The owner Margaret met us on arrival and could not have been any nicer. She had decorated the house with 80th banners and balloons. Made an 80th pavlova and had placed roses in the birthday girl's room. There was beer / cava on ice and the ingredients for a full Scottish breakfast in the fridge. The house itself is beautiful. Luxury all the way. Decorated to the highest standard and spotlessly clean. The house is very handy for all the sights of Ayrshire. If you only book one self catering house this year, I would advise this one. We hope to go back soon. Thanks Margaret.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the accomodation and the customer service offered by the owner .
Liked least: Loved it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley S
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at The White House on several occasions now and the service just gets better. Going again in a couple of weeks and cannot wait. Perfect for gatherings of family or friends and Margaret could not be more helpful if she tried. Truly a wonderful place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing