We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Where amazing views, begin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area. The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Where amazing views, begin.
Elegant and calming reception area.
The Study, somewhere to relax or plan your day?
The lounge, somewhere to chill out, and catch up on Tv.
The kitchen.
The downstair powder room.
The Landing.
The hallway.
The Culzean Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Culzean En Suite.
The Rozelle Suite.
The Rozelle, En Suite.
The Aaron suite.
The Alloway
Fascinating Views
Footsteps from your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lesley S
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The pictures of this house do not do it justice. We were a party of 11, ages ranging from 4 to 93 and every one of us had a fantastic time. Margaret is one of the most loveliest people who I have ever dealt with. The house itself is just stunning, we were made to feel so welcome and are already discussing dates to return. Will most definitely be back time and time again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MinnieM_1...
Scptland
1 review
“Fantastic House with Fabulous Host”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from the most amazing weekend with family to celebrate a special birthday. The house was absolutely amazing with so much space, furnished beautifully and cleanliness to the highest standard .
The warm welcome from Margaret and the extras of cheese board and breakfast pack was surprise enough but Margaret returned with a lovely birthday pavlova which was awesome.
I would highly recommend this house to anyone better than any five star hotel. We most definitely will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the house and the wonderful hospitality
Liked least: It was all fantastic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house and hospitality to match”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed at the house with a group of friends for a weekend at the races. The pictures do not do the house justice, it truly is amazing. Every room is very spacious and beautifully decorated. What made the stay special and memorable was the hospitality, Margaret was absolutely fantastic. I hope to stay at the house again very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Margaret's hospitality
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMc90
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excellent!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We booked this house for a family get-away for my husbands 50th Birthday. There was 13 of us in total including children.

On arrival we were greeted by the lovely owner Margaret who warmly welcomed us to her fabulous home.

I have rated this property a 5* and it most certainly is!! The bedrooms are all large and simply amazing! We stayed for 3 nights and ate in every night, the kitchen is huge and there was more than enough plates, glasses etc for everyone.

We would highly recommend this property to others and hope to return in the future.

The personal touches of the owner for our celebrations were much appreciated also.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjaaGlasg...
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic House and Host!!!!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The White House for a long weekend to celebrate my 50th birthday. The host Margaret went above and beyond all expectations, she supplied us with a breakfast pack, had a cake made for me and gave me a birthday gift. The house itself is stunning and the photos do not do it justice. We arrived on the Friday evening and were met by Margaret, who gave us a tour of the house which was all lit up, warm and cosy. She left us her number so if we needed anything we were just to phone her, not many owners do that. The rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated, there was bathrobes in each room and a hairdryer! The views outside were absolutely gorgeous and the Hollybush Inn was 5-10 minutes walk away, what more could you want? I certainly would book this house again and will recommend it to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing