We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace, quiet...and red squirrels.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Secret Bothy

traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
contemporary interior, rejuvenated in 21st century fully equipped for fine dining at home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
contemporary interior, rejuvenated in 21st century
fully equipped for fine dining at home
wood burning stove with complimentary logs
each double bedroom has own TV and en suite
walk-in showers and underfloor heating
each double bedroom has hair dryer and bathrobes
spa bath, walk-in shower, toiletries, bathrobes, heated mirror
nespresso machine and complimentary coffee capsules
complimentary hamper on arrival
no need to bring the kitchen sink, all the essentials (and extras) are already here
rebuilt back of cottage overlooks productive walled garden
neighbouring Blair Castle, 10 minutes from Secret Bothy
local resident
nearby Carn Liath, the lowest of Beinn a'Ghlo's 3 summits
nearby Glen Banvie, an easy walk through woods and open moorland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
crustyjug...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, quiet...and red squirrels.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having rented holiday cottages for over 20 years, for us, this cottage raises standards to a whole new level. The luxurious cottage in its superbly tranquil setting, with the ability to watch red squirrels chasing through the trees as we had our breakfast, is another world. Yet it is very conveniently placed to visit the local attractions.
Our host, Loretta, gave us a most comprehensive introduction to the cottage and lots of information about things to do. Her advice regarding a Nessie hunting trip was quickly followed up and she also kindly printed off the necessary paperwork for our on line booking.
We were particularly impressed with the welcome pack we received and, yes, the bread is delicious. We too visited the Watermill, twice, making sure we had supplies to take home with us.
Without repeating all that has already been said in other reviews, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to Killiecrankie soon. The red squirrels will be here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micah L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had high expectations based on the excellent reviews, but the reality was so much better than I could have imagined.

First, the cottage is absolutely stunning. You'll drive onto a private road, pass a small, gorgeous waterfall, and enter Loretta and James' beautiful Victorian estate. The bothy overlooks a thriving garden and orchard, with an outside dining area right out the door. The two bedrooms are well appointed and extremely comfortable. Both have fabulous showers, and one room has an amazing bathtub with spa jets. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, including gorgeous slate place settings, lovely stemware, and good cookware. There's even compost! They also gave us a wonderful hamper with wine, biscuits, locally baked bread, olive oil, and much more. They specially bought entirely vegan treats to accommodate us (we didn't even ask, they're just that thoughtful!). The wood burning fireplace was wonderful and easy to use. The furnishings are absolutely gorgeous. The entry room has easy-to-use laundry facilities, which came in very handy. Throughout the bothy, everything is extremely stylish, well appointed, and easy to use. It's nicer than most posh hotels, and more private, too.

Second, Loretta and James went above and beyond to make us feel welcome at every turn. They let us pick fresh herbs from their garden. James made us a jar of fresh rhubarb compote for our arrival. Loretta called her favorite restaurant and got us special dietary accommodations and a reservation. They helped us plan day trips in the area, and were just incredibly kind, warm, and helpful. Their sweet dog, Red, is also a charmer.

All of this in the middle of the most beautiful place on earth? My friend and I couldn't believe our luck. The trip was so easy and so wonderful. I can't recommend the Secret Bothy highly enough. You'll love it here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
Wow! What can I say? I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Secret Bothy and hope that we can welcome you back one day. Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion G
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely cottage with great facilities. Owners very welcoming and informative about the local area. Welcome hamper was tremendous and encouraged us to go to visit the Watermill bakery and tearoom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Secret Bothy and would be delighted to welcome you back - so that you can visit the local bakery again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay.”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The positive experience started well before we arrived as the booking process and responsiveness of the owners was excellent. We were provided with quite a bit of detail about the property and the area, as well as additional options for accommodating our infant daughter (cot/high chair/dietary constraints).

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly and were shown the property in detail. It was clear that the owners were proud of it and made it very clear that they were there for any support required. Options for shopping, dining, sightseeing were many and they offered to engage any vendors as appropriate.

In terms of the property, it is a small cottage which actually is an extension of the owners home. It is immaculately presented, and is situated on some lovely family home grounds. There are some excellent trails within easy walking distance, including the Kiliecrankie visitor centre (home to soldiers leap and Killiecrankie pass trails). There is a hotel 5 minutes walk up the road where we had a very nice lunch. Pitlochry was a 5-7 minute drive away and very convenient for replenishing supplies. Blair Castle and House of Bruar also very easy / quick drives away.

We would highly recommend this property for a small family or friends to explore the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for such a great review. We hope to welcome you back to Killiecrankie soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspector...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Property”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Found this property on line and gave it a go. If is a great wee house well appointed throughout with everything you could want for a self catering holiday. It's been well designed to make use of the space and feels much bigger than it looks from the outside. A warm welcome on arrival together with a hamper of goodies and a basket of logs makes staying here special.

Will certainly be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Killiecrankie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing