We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jimnlinda...
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The retreat”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Absolutely brilliant. Everything of a high standard. Flowers and hamper much appreciated. Hope to be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin M
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This holiday let is of the highest standard. Along with her other property in Pitlochry the owner provides everything a family or group of friends could possibly need for a holiday in Scotland. The Retreat is in an ideal location for exploring nearby or further afield.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space for everyone to relax alone or in each other's company.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Thank you very much for such a positive review. Look forward to seeing you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickyjone...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Holiday Base”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were looking forward to getting to the retreat just from the lovely pictures we saw when booking but I can say with absolute confidence nothing will prepare you for the sight that greets you upon your arrival. A wonderful hamper filled with top notch goodies and fresh flowers were an added personal touch from the lovely owner, Muriel. The house literally has everything you could ever want in a home and all is of excellent quality, Muriel has spared no expense nor cut any corners. For those concerned about beds, I can categorically say this king size bed was the most comfortable bed I've slept in for a very long time and the same could be said of the other beds throughout the house also covered with beautiful high quality linen. Plenty of towels are included as well as kitchen towels and all the equipment you could ever need. The sitting room is particularly pleasant and I can imagine the real fire is just beautiful come the winter months. The kids loved the big garden and the air hockey table and the audio/tv equipment was outstanding. The owner, Muriel, is a lovely lady and her provision of accommodation detail is fantastic. Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday in your beautiful home! I almost didn't want to write this as it's telling far too many people what a complete gem we've discovered!! The Retreat is highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you appreciated everything in The Retreat. Thanks for sharing your experience for others to read and hopefully see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina S
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Retreat accommodation is something special.”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Superb home from home comfort, open fire for those cold evenings. Very well equipped, which really is nice and rare. Knowing I was a German Shepherd owner of Poppy, left cushions; place mats and oven gloves with poppy flower on them, along with 2 pot GSD ornaments. Such a lovely thought. Would love to stay again very soon

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2016
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It is great to hear you had a good stay and perhaps see you in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTRB2005
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Retreat - faultless”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the moment we were greeted by Muriel, the owner, we were totally bowled over by The Retreats wonderful location and the high standard of every element of the property, both indoors and outdoors. The welcome hamper was well stocked with treats and was indicative of the high standard of the property. It is in a peaceful setting close to Pitlochry and many visitor attractions in the surrounding areas. The Retreat provides a model that all self catering properties should aim to live up to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I am so pleased you had a lovely holiday at The Retreat. I do hope you manage back some day soon.
Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing