We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Nearby Hotels
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
USD 118*
USD 90*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
USD 182*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moulin Hotel(Pitlochry)
USD 126*
USD 123*
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dundarach Hotel(Pitlochry)
USD 139*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 296*
USD 212*
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atholl Arms Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
USD 91*
USD 85*
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 301*
USD 283*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
USD 80*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rosemount Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
USD 102*
USD 99*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 253*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveller rating
1,508
65
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,508
65
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartin and andreaapple pancakesb bporridgethe main houseauld smiddycourtyard roomfirst classhigh standardwarm welcomeguest housebreakfast room isboutique hotellovely gardenowners and staffbreakfast was deliciouswithin easy walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
914 - 919 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in room 12 at Craigatin House and would definitely return. The rooms are excellent, breakfast was beautiful and the location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 12 is beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Hello Joyce T, Great to hear from you, thanks for staying at Craigatin House and for your kind comments here on Tripadvisor, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Martin & Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We really enjoyed our recent one night stay at Craigatin House. Stan and Andrea were wonderful hosts! The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was great. It was a bit cold to enjoy the garden but if the weather permits, allow time to sit and sip a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoyinglife53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Hi enjoyinglife53, Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent visit to Craigatin House & Courtyard all the way from Texas, it was lovely meeting you both and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our garden is indeed well used during the summer months, we even serve breakfast outside some days! Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Andrea & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

IWe stayed for one night at Craigtin House. We arrived at 2. 15. pm The car park is at the back of the house so we walked with our luggage round to the front. It was raining and very cold .

The notice on the door said ' BOOKING IN WILL COMMENCE AT 3 00. am . BUT YOU ARE WELCOME TO PARK YOUR CAR AND WALK ABOUT ..
........ It was Wet and cold We had driven for 4 hours. We retured to our car and waited for 45 mins.


Our room in the court yard was a nice large room. very modern and clean There were very heavy brown screen netting on the windows to stop anyone looking in...it made the room very dark,.so had the bedside light on all of the time.

The shower room was nice.. but the wet shower spilled water all over the floor There was no place to hold soap or shampoo bottle in the shower, so had to bend down to place them on shower tray .Somewhere to hold soap and shampoo would be welcome....try and balance a shampoo bottle on top of a shower unit



Beds were very nice got off to sleep ok ' But what to do with all the cushions and heavy bedspreads'....throw them on the floor A duvet would be enough ....

Then the guest upstairs came home.

'' SQUEEKY FLOORBOARDS.''.

It went on for an hour till they went to bed. Plus flushing toilets. Come morning the same thing. Loose floorboards. Toilet noises ..

Breakfast was OK but ' terrible sausages '.. and no Black Pudding. Tables very close together ..... I am Scottish and have never heard of Porridge with Whisky.....An English tourist thing i suppose .. I though the owner could have had on something better than ' Scruffy Jeans,' to serve Breakfast ' ..A young girl was also on hand.. she was. very nice and helpfull.

We only met the owner on booking in and leaving..
'
I wouild stay here again.....but not wth the 'Squeeky room' upstairs

PLEASE SEE TO THE FLOOR BOARDS

Room Tip: upstars room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alligin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Hi Torridongeorge, Thanks very much for your recent stay with us and for the four star Tripadvisor review, were pleased you found your stay to be very good, thank you. However It’s concerned us that you had so many other issues during your stay that you didn’t mention to us when you departed but we have addressed them individually as follows:

Sincere apologies for not being here when you arrived. Craigatin is a guesthouse, not a hotel with 24 hour staffing, most days when we have finished housekeeping duties we have a few hours early afternoon to visit the supermarket, go to the bank etc. We’re always back by 3pm though when check in commences. As you mentioned we are happy for guests to arrive earlier and leave their cars with us, which happen’s often. We regret you had to wait over 45 minutes for us in your car after your long 4 hour drive. We do highlight check in commences at 3pm in all booking confirmations, we’ll make it a bit more prominent in future.

Great to hear your initial impressions of your room was very good. Room 15 is a ground floor room in our courtyard so does not get direct sunlight and we agree it can be little darker than other rooms, sorry you had to have the bedside light on all the time.

Room 15 has a wet room shower, we do confirm this on our website description so guests know what to expect, there is no shower tray so the floor does indeed get wet. I’d agreed that wet rooms are not to everyone’s taste, all of our other 13 rooms have shower trays. Maybe that’s something worth considering if returning?

Sorry you also had an issue with the bedspreads. If you have a look at the pictures of all our rooms on our website you’ll see that most of our rooms have bedspreads with cushions. Underneath all our bedspreads is a duvet. We’re more than happy for guests to place the duvet and cushions on the floor or in the wardrobes when sleeping, some guests request we remove the bedspreads and cushions from the room also, which we are more than happy to do, please just let us know.

We’re obviously very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noisy guests returning late upstairs from you and thanks for your comments on the flooring, we’ll get that seen too.
We are obviously most concerned to hear you found breakfast OK with terrible sausages and no black puddings. We source most of our breakfast ingredient’s locally and for sausages use award winning Perth butcher Simon Howie. I’ll mention your comment to our Simon Howie representative when he next visits us.

We don’t have black puddings on our menu, our menu is highlighted on our website for those keen to see what we offer before booking. Our porridge is prepared plain with the Whisky, cream or sugar added to taste, so it is an option not to have the Scottish Whisky added, again maybe a point to consider for the next visit?

Finally, when we first took over Craigatin House, after 20 years of working in the corporate world, I did wear a suit and tie when serving our guests breakfast, but you know what, after a while I thought it was a little too formal as most of our guests are casually dressed being on holiday. Now being self employed I’m lucky enough to dress as I please and I have to admit I do wear jeans most days….guilty as charged! I do try my utmost to have at least a quick conversation with all of our guests, sometimes this is a challenge when 28 people come down to breakfast! We are indeed lightly staffed over the winter months and my wife Andrea and I prepare and serve the breakfast as well as the housekeeping with just two other staff.

Our main priority is serving you a hot breakfast quickly, so apologies for only having had the time to talk with you upon arrival and departure!

Torridongeorge, we’re obviously very concerned that you found so many things wrong with your stay. This is our family business and we like to think we work hard to ensure our guests total comfort when staying with us, we obviously failed in this during your short stay with us, so if you’d like to give us a call we’d be happy to give you a full refund.

Kind regards, Martin & Andrea – Craigatin House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had a fantastic time staying at Craigatin everything was perfect, Andrea & Martin have left nothing to chance. The accomodation is superb, & the breakfast delicious! Andrea & Martin are concientious host, looking after our every need. We were a party of 12 and we were all equally delighted with Craigatin House. If you want the best you can book Craigatin House with complete confidence. By the way Andrea & Martin have some lovely staff who also deserve a mention!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Hello jemxox, Very nice to hear from you! It was indeed a please to host your get away weekend with your friends, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed Craigatin, the breakfasts and our service. Our hard working staff were particularly pleased to get a special mention, so thanks for that. Thanks for the recommendation, we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes, Andrea & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My partner and just got back from a wonderful Sunday night stay at Craigatin House and can honestly say the place lives up to all the reviews and more. We were both feeling frazzled from work and wished a night away to recharge our batteries and celebrate our anniversary.

The Craigatin House website is an excellent starting point which allowed us to select Room 6 in the main house. We were not disappointed.

The owners Martin and Andrea were courteous and helpful and their attention to detail is excellent. From the beautiful interior design to the landscaping of the stunning garden. Our room also had a fabulous powerful shower, comfortable huge bed and nice toiletries. These little touches all make the difference.

Breakfast was delicious and served speedily and unobtrusively. Also the whisky porridge IS as fabulous as everyone says.

We hope to come back later in the year to Craigatin to appreciate Pitlochry in its' autumn glory. It really is a fabulous boutique B&B and great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Hi gill61uk, Great to meet you both last weekend and thanks very much for the five star review, made even more special coming from a "Senior Reviewer"! We're very pleased you chose Craigatin House to spend your anniversary weekend and to recharge you batteries, Pitlochry is indeed the perfect location for this! Autumn is a great time to return, the seasonal colours are absolutely fantastic from October onwards. We also have The Enchanted Forest, the illumination of Faskally woods, on from 5th October. Looking forward to seeing you return, maybe bringing those bikes with you? :-)) Kind regards, Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews