We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place To Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Ranked #3 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scotat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place To Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We recently stayed for two nights in room 3 at Craigatin House and having read such positive reviews we were really looking forward to our stay.... it didn't disappoint!! We were greeted by Andrea on arrival and were immediately made very welcome and shown to our room. The room was spacious, modern, comfortable and the view of the hills was excellent. The staff were extremely polite and very attentive, nothing was too much trouble.

Everything about the Guest House was excellent from the room to the grounds and of course Martin & Andrea as hosts.

The weather we had during our stay served to make it a fantastic weekend, in fact all in all the only disappointment was having to leave!!

Hats off to Martin & Andrea for this gem of a Guest House!!

We would thoroughly recommend this Guest House to anyone and hope to return again very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hello Scotat, Great to hear from you on Tripadvisor. We're very pleased to hear we delivered upon your expectations of your recent stay at Craigatin House, also very proud to hear you'd have no hesitation in recommending us. You timed your Pitlochry trip to perfection with the weather, we've had the driest warmest March for 100 years. Hope you manage a return trip soon. Kind regards, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,430
    60
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
131
1,111
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed in room 12 at Craigatin House and would definitely return. The rooms are excellent, breakfast was beautiful and the location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 12 is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello Joyce T, Great to hear from you, thanks for staying at Craigatin House and for your kind comments here on Tripadvisor, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes, Martin & Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the woodlands, texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We really enjoyed our recent one night stay at Craigatin House. Stan and Andrea were wonderful hosts! The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was great. It was a bit cold to enjoy the garden but if the weather permits, allow time to sit and sip a glass of wine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoyinglife53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi enjoyinglife53, Thank you for your very kind comments regarding your recent visit to Craigatin House & Courtyard all the way from Texas, it was lovely meeting you both and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our garden is indeed well used during the summer months, we even serve breakfast outside some days! Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Andrea & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

IWe stayed for one night at Craigtin House. We arrived at 2. 15. pm The car park is at the back of the house so we walked with our luggage round to the front. It was raining and very cold .

The notice on the door said ' BOOKING IN WILL COMMENCE AT 3 00. am . BUT YOU ARE WELCOME TO PARK YOUR CAR AND WALK ABOUT ..
........ It was Wet and cold We had driven for 4 hours. We retured to our car and waited for 45 mins.


Our room in the court yard was a nice large room. very modern and clean There were very heavy brown screen netting on the windows to stop anyone looking in...it made the room very dark,.so had the bedside light on all of the time.

The shower room was nice.. but the wet shower spilled water all over the floor There was no place to hold soap or shampoo bottle in the shower, so had to bend down to place them on shower tray .Somewhere to hold soap and shampoo would be welcome....try and balance a shampoo bottle on top of a shower unit



Beds were very nice got off to sleep ok ' But what to do with all the cushions and heavy bedspreads'....throw them on the floor A duvet would be enough ....

Then the guest upstairs came home.

'' SQUEEKY FLOORBOARDS.''.

It went on for an hour till they went to bed. Plus flushing toilets. Come morning the same thing. Loose floorboards. Toilet noises ..

Breakfast was OK but ' terrible sausages '.. and no Black Pudding. Tables very close together ..... I am Scottish and have never heard of Porridge with Whisky.....An English tourist thing i suppose .. I though the owner could have had on something better than ' Scruffy Jeans,' to serve Breakfast ' ..A young girl was also on hand.. she was. very nice and helpfull.

We only met the owner on booking in and leaving..
'
I wouild stay here again.....but not wth the 'Squeeky room' upstairs

PLEASE SEE TO THE FLOOR BOARDS

Room Tip: upstars room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alligin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Hi Torridongeorge, Thanks very much for your recent stay with us and for the four star Tripadvisor review, were pleased you found your stay to be very good, thank you. However It’s concerned us that you had so many other issues during your stay that you didn’t mention to us when you departed but we have addressed them individually as follows:

Sincere apologies for not being here when you arrived. Craigatin is a guesthouse, not a hotel with 24 hour staffing, most days when we have finished housekeeping duties we have a few hours early afternoon to visit the supermarket, go to the bank etc. We’re always back by 3pm though when check in commences. As you mentioned we are happy for guests to arrive earlier and leave their cars with us, which happen’s often. We regret you had to wait over 45 minutes for us in your car after your long 4 hour drive. We do highlight check in commences at 3pm in all booking confirmations, we’ll make it a bit more prominent in future.

Great to hear your initial impressions of your room was very good. Room 15 is a ground floor room in our courtyard so does not get direct sunlight and we agree it can be little darker than other rooms, sorry you had to have the bedside light on all the time.

Room 15 has a wet room shower, we do confirm this on our website description so guests know what to expect, there is no shower tray so the floor does indeed get wet. I’d agreed that wet rooms are not to everyone’s taste, all of our other 13 rooms have shower trays. Maybe that’s something worth considering if returning?

Sorry you also had an issue with the bedspreads. If you have a look at the pictures of all our rooms on our website you’ll see that most of our rooms have bedspreads with cushions. Underneath all our bedspreads is a duvet. We’re more than happy for guests to place the duvet and cushions on the floor or in the wardrobes when sleeping, some guests request we remove the bedspreads and cushions from the room also, which we are more than happy to do, please just let us know.

We’re obviously very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noisy guests returning late upstairs from you and thanks for your comments on the flooring, we’ll get that seen too.
We are obviously most concerned to hear you found breakfast OK with terrible sausages and no black puddings. We source most of our breakfast ingredient’s locally and for sausages use award winning Perth butcher Simon Howie. I’ll mention your comment to our Simon Howie representative when he next visits us.

We don’t have black puddings on our menu, our menu is highlighted on our website for those keen to see what we offer before booking. Our porridge is prepared plain with the Whisky, cream or sugar added to taste, so it is an option not to have the Scottish Whisky added, again maybe a point to consider for the next visit?

Finally, when we first took over Craigatin House, after 20 years of working in the corporate world, I did wear a suit and tie when serving our guests breakfast, but you know what, after a while I thought it was a little too formal as most of our guests are casually dressed being on holiday. Now being self employed I’m lucky enough to dress as I please and I have to admit I do wear jeans most days….guilty as charged! I do try my utmost to have at least a quick conversation with all of our guests, sometimes this is a challenge when 28 people come down to breakfast! We are indeed lightly staffed over the winter months and my wife Andrea and I prepare and serve the breakfast as well as the housekeeping with just two other staff.

Our main priority is serving you a hot breakfast quickly, so apologies for only having had the time to talk with you upon arrival and departure!

Torridongeorge, we’re obviously very concerned that you found so many things wrong with your stay. This is our family business and we like to think we work hard to ensure our guests total comfort when staying with us, we obviously failed in this during your short stay with us, so if you’d like to give us a call we’d be happy to give you a full refund.

Kind regards, Martin & Andrea – Craigatin House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton-le-Fylde
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Had a fantastic time staying at Craigatin everything was perfect, Andrea & Martin have left nothing to chance. The accomodation is superb, & the breakfast delicious! Andrea & Martin are concientious host, looking after our every need. We were a party of 12 and we were all equally delighted with Craigatin House. If you want the best you can book Craigatin House with complete confidence. By the way Andrea & Martin have some lovely staff who also deserve a mention!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City loft, Owner at Craigatin House & Courtyard, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hello jemxox, Very nice to hear from you! It was indeed a please to host your get away weekend with your friends, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed Craigatin, the breakfasts and our service. Our hard working staff were particularly pleased to get a special mention, so thanks for that. Thanks for the recommendation, we hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes, Andrea & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.0 km away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
3.4 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.5 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.6 km away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigatin House & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigatin House & Courtyard

Property: Craigatin House & Courtyard
Address: 165 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price range (per night): $210 - $218
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigatin House & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden away in secluded wooded grounds in the Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry, Scotland. This beautiful early Victorian house has now been transformed into a boutique bed & breakfast, providing a unique blend of the traditional with the luxury of contemporary design. The individually designed spacious deluxe rooms all have comfortable six foot wide beds and are decorated with stylish fabrics and furnishings. All rooms have free Wi-Fi internet access, large LCD TVs, Freeview and DVD players. For special occasions, our luxury suite has all of the above with the addition of a private sitting room complete with ipod docking station, two large LCD TVs and DVD player. Breakfast is served in our brand new contemporary dining room, where you’ll also find our guest lounge, all centered around our large and welcoming log burning stove. Centrally located, private parking, a short walking distance from all Pitlochry restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Craigatin House & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigatin House And Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Courtyard Pitlochry
Pitlochry Courtyard
Craigatin House & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing